Ratings based on 3,312 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel and pool area. Great beach!

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Loved the trip, the hotel was fabulous. There was plenty of activities near the hotel. The restaurants along the beach were very good. Would highly recommend it. Best pool area of those hotels along this portion of the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado Springs, CO

Ocean view room

Posted Mar 24, 2017
Beautiful resort, will return again and again! Pink flamingos in the lobby, many pools, beautiful beach!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Grounds, Small Room

Posted Mar 23, 2017
We enjoyed the beautiful grounds you really can't beat it with five pools (one adult pool) and all the waterfalls. We had an oceanfront room that had a great view but it was very small and basic no extras. What we found odd and inconvenient was there is no separation where the sink is it's a half wall and floating mirror that looks onto the room so it's a challenge if one of you wants to sleep in and the other is trying to get ready quietly...We didn't find the staff to be overly friendly or go out of their way but they weren't rude, just doing their jobs so if you don't mind that then it's a good place for kids. Ours are all grown so we would have preferred a quieter place. The pools were packed, even the adult pool. Food was very pricey but it's that way everywhere in Hi.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from so cal

VERY disappointed with our room, Beach Tower 281

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: On a nice beach
Cons: Pool was WAY too crowded, never was able to use it. Update the old bathtubs
Location: If looking for a calmer beach for the kids and to snorkel, go to Napili beach. Nikki's pizza in Whalers Village was pretty good and not too pricey.
I booked the mountain view room, because personally I love looking at all the lush green landscape. I love being able to open the sliding door to the lanai & let the fresh air in, especially when we are sleeping. But when we got there at 10pm for check in, the girl at the desk says we're going to give you a room upgrade. So upon getting to our "upgraded" room, I notice right from the start that our bathroom is equipped with the old dingy tub, not the modern green tiled shower that is in the remodeled ocean tower rooms (with the mountain view). Then I go out to the lanai, & although we had a partial ocean view, there was a huge ledge that people could easily walk across & gain access to the lanais. And right below was a small parking lot where people smoked weed & let their car alarms go off for minutes on end. So we couldn't sleep with the window open & had to run the a/c (which my baby has had a constant runny nose ever since & I blame it from that). So the next morning I go to the front desk & ask to switch rooms. The lady assures me there are no rooms available, we have an upgrade already, & not to worry about the ledge, nobody will get on. So the following morning I wake up to beer cans all over on the ledge. I go to the front desk & voice my concern, & once again I am told there are no rooms available. I ask on the 3rd morning, & I am still denied a room change. To make it worse, we used the courtesy room on our last evening & it was nicer & had the green tiled shower!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Glendale, NY

Nice hotel on beach.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Hotel lobby and grounds were nice directly on beach but rooms had no special hawaiian touches. Could have been any room in any location. Resort was very crowded during our stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

Great hotel on the beach with nice pool

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Beautiful hotel centrally located to many activities. Beds were incredible and rooms were very spacious. Friendly staff and nice beach front for swimming.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Love this hotel.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Cons: Please put a larger turn knob on bathroom doors and make sure they move easily on tracks.
Location: The island is beautiful. We loved the whale watching. Gemini is the best!
This is the second time that we have stayed at the Westin. We love it. There is only only one minor complaint and that is that the room is small with not much counter space. The bathroom door stides and does not stay closed on it's own. I got stuck in there at 2:00am. My best advise is to use a trash can to help it stay closed and don't turn tiny bar that's hard to grab and lock it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from maui hawaii

Posted Mar 18, 2017
Hotel grounds are beautiful and well kept. Staff is amazing and loved being able to text any needs and getting a very quick response - the spa was very pricey but the service was excellent -only compliant is that the hotel has full size beds not queen with family of 4 ( two teenagers ) was not comfortable sleeping 2 to a bed - the hotel did give a free roll away to help out - this hotel has a great beach and pool area - highly recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Patio view recommended!

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We were initially assigned to an "Ocean View" room on the 6th floor of the smaller building. However, this building was perpendicular to the beach and our room faced north, so we couldn't see the magnificent sunsets and our major view was of the neighboring Whaler's Village, a shopping center. A large percentage of the time, a lot of noise from trucks and air conditioning disturbed us and forced us to keep the sliding door to the balcony closed. Although the room was comfortable and clean, the furniture where the refrigerator was had cracks (termite?). Fortunately, the front desk personnel was very accommodating (thanks, in particular, to Lolohea). We were switched to a room with an Ocean and Patio view in the main building. It was fantastic (marvelous sunsets, enjoyable patioscape). The hotel with its recreation room, pools, slide and the lovely patio with flamingos, black swan, macaws, cacatua, koi fishes, etc is very beautiful. Cocktails are expensive. Buffet at the bistro costs about $30: good but fattening. If you're looking at preserving your cash and waist line, eat lighter at the Collonade Café/Starbucks. If you like snorkeling, bring your own equipment; it'll be a lot cheaper than renting it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tulsa

Incredible

Posted Mar 14, 2017
Pros: So beautiful and convenient to shopping, beaches and transportation.
Cons: Need chairs for sitting in the room
Location: Next door to incredible shopping.
Walking into the lobby with its waterfalls and pelicans was truly an experience!