Ratings based on 3,411 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great location, dated and poorly maintained hotel

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Pros: Location! The staff was friendly, also.
Cons: Pretty much everything else. This resort needs some updating and should retool its activities so families with little ones are better served.
Location: The location is the best in Maui, in my opinion.
The location of the Westin is perfect, with easy access to the beach and Whaler's Village. The hotel itself, however, is dated. The lobby and pool area are beautiful, but the rooms are shabby for the price. The AC didn't work well, the toilet leaked, and our lights/power flickered regularly during our entire stay. We also fought ants and saw roaches in the room. Also, if you have any charges billed to your room from the outside activities vendors/umbrella rental stand, check your bill carefully. We were incorrectly billed for a service, though eventually the hotel resolved it for us. Also, this hotel isn't as kid friendly as some others in Maui, despite being billed online as ideal for families. That is only true if you have older children. If you have tiny ones, the pool is largely a bust, for it's full of rowdy teens most of the time and doesn't have a kiddie pool, splash pad, or even many steps. The rest of the hotel's activities for children are more like daycare than vacation fun. This is a decent hotel for singles, couples, or families with teens, but it's not ideal for families with littles.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glendora, CA

Old and worn

Posted Jul 19, 2017
Needs major overhaul. Rooms old with carpet coming up and old furnishing. Lamps in hallways crushed and battered. We stayed in the suite. For the price a night I would recommend staying in another resort. Pool is nice and staff is great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

great location - very easy to get anywhere

Posted Jul 9, 2017
Pros: location and lay out
Cons: needs and on site laundry
Location: very close and easy to hop on a shuttle into town
loved the hotel. wasn't overly happy with dining choices...very limited and quite expensive
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Upon arrival we were met with a great staff of professional friendly valets and everything got better from there. The reservation staff were very professional, friendly and willing to go overly capable of making your check in a great experience. I'd recommend this hotel to anyone who was looking for a worthwhile island experience.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Great hotel

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Great experience with the staff. We had to change rooms to go from a king to a double and the staff took care of everything; we got a text to confirm our bags were ready and then a text that everything had been moved for us. Very convenient! The only thing we would have liked is a shallow end at the pool for little ones - it's 4 feet at its shallowest and are used to have 2-3 feet available. Other than that, great resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 4, 2017
This is the top-flight resort experience you would expect from this hotel at this price. It is the best of the best in a prime location.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ca

Posted Jul 2, 2017
It's a big beautiful hotel, but just not enough control over it! Our last three days had to call front desk over noise! The pool is beautiful however since it was on the beach everyone and anyone could come and take the spot of a paying guest! Many times are items were stuck on a chair far from the pool were because we needed to be were our daughter was swimming!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Paradise on the Beach

Posted Jun 23, 2017
Pros: Friendly and quick service, good food, very comfortable room. Good recommendations for activities at neighboring hotels, such as the grotto bar.
Cons: More than one hot tub, which could be solved by sharing pool facilities with neighboring hotels (as was previously done).
Location: Great location - next to several other high quality hotels and fun activities. Right next door to a nice shopping/restaurant area.
We stayed at this hotel for a week on our Honeymoon. I had requested a room with a beautiful view of the mountains, and they gave us exactly what we wanted, with an added bottle of champagne to help us celebrate! We ate at the restaurant by the pool, as well as the one by the ocean. Both had excellent food and quick service. The only disappointment was the amount of noise at night - there were many kids and they were up late yelling and screaming around the hallway on two different nights. One night we could not sleep and had to call security. They came up and talked to the kids, but as soon as they left the noise resumed.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel close to beach

Posted Jun 22, 2017
The hospitality of Westin, Maui was not great. There was no welcome feeling and most hotel staff were not very courteous. Some were really good though. Service near the pools were not great. Room cleanup service was not great either. We had to ask for water bottles to be delivered multiple times. Buffet food remained exactly the same for all 7 days of our stay. Overall not a value for money. Westin at other locations such as Bali, Indonesia was amazing, The one at Maui did not come any where close.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Great hotel on the fabulous Kaanapali Beach

Posted Jun 15, 2017
Pros: Location, plus five star resort!
Location: Everything! Kaanapali and Lahaina have it all. Also, Gemini snorkel cruise to Honolua Bay was fun & easy/peasy!
Booked a last minute trip and the Westin had availabilities. Stayed in a garden view for four nights and then switched to a larger room in the Beach Tower for four nights. Rooms great, facility great, weather awesome!!