Ratings based on 241 Verified Reviews

4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Uncomfortable bed, semitransparent curtains

Posted Jun 22, 2017
Pros: Nice staff at the main Destination Residences office. It's in Hawai'i.
Cons: Put in a proper mattress, real curtains, low-heat light bulbs in the bathroom. Housekeeping should replenish TP, soap, etc consistently.
Location: Location is great, but if you are on the side of the Village close to the road, it's a 10 minute walk to the beach.
The reservation was easy, and the Destination Residences staff at the reservation lines and concierge service were nice (we were helped by Pierre, who was professional, and we booked a show through Debbie, who was very nice). The condo itself was OK only, with some up-to-date elements (kitchen) and others a bit dated (bathroom), and it matched what we booked in terms of being a garden view studio. It was actually more spacious than we had thought. But what surprised us very negatively was mainly two things: 1) the bed was very uncomfortable, it felt a bit like a bouncy castle; a very soft mattress with a memory foam pillowtop thrown on; it made for very poor sleeping; 2) the bed was next to the big sliding doors to the balcony and when we went to close the curtains at night, for privacy, we realized there were only the semitransparent sheers, allowing anyone to look through: so, lights off, and expect to wake up at 5:30am, with sunrise. Wall AC unit was very loud. Another thing that was pretty "unique" was that the bathroom lights were so hot we had to turn them off (as said above, the AC was a wall unit). Generally speaking, my impression is that if some basic money was put into solving these things, it would be OK studio that would match what should be expected. I won't return, and Destination Residences should require higher standards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 8, 2017
We really enjoyed staying at this condo! Swimming pools and easy access to the beach are great.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from san diego

Will never book with expedia.com again!

Posted May 25, 2017
I have used Expedia a few times before and was completely satisfied. NEVER AGAIN. The condo we were given when we arrived to Maui was beyond unacceptable. I could go on and on about why but it's a waste of time. All I have to say is don't trust a booking unless you know exactly what unit your getting. And even then, the pictures are deceiving. ALOHA
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from O

Nice and cozy, like having your own place.

Posted May 21, 2017
We went here for honeymoon, it was like having your own apartment but with housekeeping. We love the area, close to beach with multiple pools on property. Landscape was amazing, such beautiful flowers and plants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Great view

Posted May 17, 2017
Pros: View, location and especially the room service.
Cons: Road nois, but don't see that happening with the tourist traffic.
Location: Pool and especially all the great beaches within just a couple of miles. The beach in front of the resort was great as well.
The view of the ocean and grounds was great. Grounds staff and security were also very friendly and helpful. Would have given the overall rating a 5, but th road noise at times was bothersome.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Posted Apr 28, 2017
This was the perfect apartment for our stay. Our place was very golden girls tropical retro, but perfect for what we needed. My in laws got a 2 bed 2 bath apt which was more modern so you can really tell you are renting a privately owned residence and it will be different each time. The apartment had everything we needed and more. I think we set a lower bar for the trip based on price, but for Maui this exceeded every hope and expectation. We would def stay here again in the future or one of the other properties. This was close to everything in Wailea and Kihei, easy drive everywhere on the island. We had breakfast on the lanai every morning with birds and the sounds of the ocean to serenade us. This was my 10th trip to Maui and first time staying here. Def one of the better experiences. We will likely stay here again next time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great secluded resort with beach view

Posted Apr 15, 2017
Loved the seclusion and comfort of our villa. It was extremely clean and we had maid service everyday which was great. The views were all amazing and it was great to have our own walk our patio. Several pools on the property but the main one had a pavilion with grills, refrigerators and stoves! Also had an amazing view of the beach with private access from pool.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

Wailea Ekahi Unit 40F

Posted Apr 1, 2017
We stayed in unit 40F at Wailea Ekahi in March 2017. The property is managed and rented through Destination Residences. We have stayed in several locations in Maui over the past 20 years and are quite familiar with the area, accommodations, and prices. Our accommodation in Unit 40F at Wailea Ekahi was truly the worst we have encountered. The unit should not be in the rental pool. Unfortunately with the high rental demands on this island, the owner and management team are getting away with providing a rental unit that has not been kept up. Shortly after arriving, we called Destination Residences to express our concerns. They were dismissive. We purchased a package which included flight and accommodation on Expedia.com. When you purchase a package you have no way of knowing which rental unit you will be getting. The inside of the unit: The fridge was obviously a throw away and put into this unit because they could get away with it. Picture attached. The outside door is covered with mold. Disgusting. The inside does not keep temperatures properly and gathers considerable amount of water which makes the food all wet. Old, outdated, and dirty living room furniture, and old and dirty carpet throughout the unit. ONE bathroom with a toilet that does not flush well. May not be suitable for families. We were a family of 4. Extremely unpredictable internet connection. If you have to do any kind of work you can't rely on the internet connection. When it is connected, it is ver
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ekahi Village Unit 12E

Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels
Great location!!! we had unit 12E. It has the best unobstructed view of the ocean. Shortest walking distance to the beach and the main pool. Also the quiet pool is close by. The only thing could be improved by replacing the mattress. It's not the best mattress to rest. And we value highly a decent rest during our vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2017
Bed sloped,thin curtains,stiff pillows.ocean view from far end of property, well kept grounds, main pool at other end of the property.try to get closer when applying for room.