Ratings based on 37 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nevada

wailukiu guest house

Posted Jun 7, 2015
Pros: The salt water pool
Cons: The mattress was a little too soft for us.
Location: Lots to do within walking distance.
Maureen and Doug have made the stay at Wailuku Guest House like home. They are very accommodating and friendly. I would stay there again. Thanks for the hospitality!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Convenient location

Posted Nov 19, 2014
Pros: location and room amenities were great.
This guest house is overall ok. My two complaints were that the bed was hard as a rock, which is really unacceptable. A quality mattress or at least a memory foam top would solve this problem. Second issue is that the hallway entry to the upper rooms, as well as, the doors to the rooms are very loud when closed. People coming in late at night were talking loud in the hallway more than once and then slammed both doors. They also left the hall light on which I am not sure if there was a light switch by their door or if they even knew to turn it back off. Old doors let lots of light in as they are not really plumb in the door jam. I get there is charm in old doors and locks, but it is just not pleasant to be on the receiving end of that "charm" The management has some control over these issues. I hall light that goes off after no motion detected and quieter doors would go a long way to improve the experience. And of course... the mattress.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Basic and very comfortable

Posted Nov 18, 2014 on Hotels
We had a very comfortable stay at Wailuku guest house. We booked it last minute. We were just looking for a reasonable place to crash as we were going to be out the whole day. The host Maureen was very welcoming. The treats she left for us every day, the chairs, snorkels, surf boards she provided were a pleasant surprise. They have a pool, BBQ and an aviary as well. We had really bad weather one day and were glad we could stay in and not be bored.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Wausau, WI

Price For One Small Bedroom Was Right.

Posted Nov 12, 2014
Pros: Nice central location on Maui. Good service from owner Maureen. Nice pool to use. Great for price paid.
Location: Central to all of Maui things to do. Road to Hana, Aquarium, many beaches, Zip lines, airport, and Western Maui.
I did not check closely and thought there was more than a bedroom and bathroom with access to the pool. Otherwise it was great.
4 out of 5
by Deanna from Washington

Affordable rooms, centrally located

Posted Sep 24, 2014 on Hotels
My husband and I spent 10 nights in the Plantation Room for a fun/romantic vacation. Maureen was excellent, always helpful and very informative. She provides beach towels and bags, snorkel gear, beach toys and an excellent guidebook. The pool was great with a nice deck for relaxing in the evenings. The location was perfect for us - Wailuku is a cute little town off the beaten path with great options for restaurants (check out Saeng's Thai food and Cafe O'Lei). Easy access to the Hana and Haleakala Highways, 10 minutes from Iao Valley and about 15-30 minutes from excellent beaches in west and south Maui. Our only complaint was that the room was quite small, which was fine at first, but after 10 nights it did begin to feel cramped (hence the 3 for comfort). If you need more space, check out her other rooms. The price was great - we saved so much by staying here which made our vacation fund go a lot further! If you like to avoid the mainstream resorts or are just looking for a comfortable, quiet spot, this is the place for you.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SF, CA

Good For The Price

Posted Sep 10, 2014
This was one of the cheapest rooms we found in Maui and we were pleased with the quality of the room for the price. If you're staying on the ground floor - beware of keeping your door open for too long! We had a salamander run into our room and camp out with us for our vacation. Lastly, Wailuku is a drive from most tourist destinations in Maui so expect an average 30-50 minute drive to get to destinations on your itinerary.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

A quiet surprise in Wailuku

Posted Jun 25, 2014
True Hawaiian hospitality at its finest, the Wailuku Guesthouse is its own slice of comfort and relaxation in paradise. Killer views, proximity to several modes of transportation, and a neighborhood location definitely lends itself to a unique experience that you just can't get at a fancy hotel. I won't stay anywhere else on maui. Thanks Maureen!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Walk to Town

Posted Jun 12, 2014 on Hotels
Blocks from downtown. Great pool. Fridge, micro and a few dishes were nice. Room is small for two.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Michael & Elois from Shreveport. La

Nice hotel, close to everything.

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Proximity to everything. Thanks Maureen, you were a great host.
Cons: Maybe airconditioning in that one room.
Location: The mall was just down the street. A lot of fast food resturants in the area. and not far at all from the beach & the airport was only 10 mins away.
We arrived @ the airport and it took about 10 mins to find the hotel. easy and convenient. Maureen was great. Stayed on the phone and guided us to the accomodations.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 26, 2014 on Hotels
I was really happy with the room and hospitality. Very cozy place to stay will definitely come back again.