Ratings based on 945 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Great place for the whole family

Posted Jun 30, 2017
Cons: With all the birds a lot of the deck chairs had bird poop on them and didn't look to be cleaned often enough.
Location: The location was convenient to a lot of places. The beach was the best on the island.
Our family had a great time there. The rooms were very comfortable and clean. The hotel staff was extremely helpful and pleasant. Will definitely go back with more people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

The hotel of 'No'

Posted Jun 5, 2017
Pros: Claudia, one of the servers, was cheerful and helpful. The grills were clean and functioning - I really appreciated that as well.
Cons: Staff attitude. Encourage and empower your staff to say yes as often as possible. I won't be coming back to this property.
Location: Perfect beach. Perfect weather. Amazing snorkeling right off of the beach. Restaurants: Mala, Aloha Mixed Plate, Pizza Paradiso (take out).
We stayed at Westin in Princeville for a week the prior two Summers and quickly realized that we'd been spoiled there. At Westin ORV Maui, the word 'no' rolls of their tongues like water. If I asked for a salad with olive oil on the side instead of dressing and they said 'we don't have that' (? seriously?). If I wanted to order something for the kids that we saw on another menu at the adjacent pool, I couldn't order it. Two days in a row, they put cheese put on a salad for someone who is allergic to it (when it's not listed as an ingredient on the menu and they were specifically told 'no cheese'). That kind of thing. Everywhere we went, we found an obstacle and little effort to accommodate. The staff also appeared jaded; 'sorry' with a smile. On the resort: Westin ORV in Maui was a metropolis with many huge buildings, three pools. The room was fairly well-equipped. However, the wall in the living area made a very loud knocking sound at least once every 2 minutes, which woke the kids up (and us) all night long because we thought someone was knocking at the door. It was horrible. When I reported it, I hit another roadblock: Sorry, we're at 90+% occupancy and we can't keep you near your mother, who is disabled. It's like any big company - if it's too big, the individual ceases to matter as much. It now appreciate Westin Princeville more than I did before, where our experience felt intimate, personalized and the staff was cheerfully and graciously accommodating.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel/room

Posted May 8, 2017
Pros: Nice layout. Easy to get to beach. Nice local transport service supplied by hotel.
Location: Short ride to nearby city of Lahaina which was interesting. Nearby was Black Rock Beach which was interesting.
We liked our room with basic kitchen to include stove, refrigerator and utensils. Easy to get to beach. Overall very satisfied with our accommodations.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
As long as you do not expect Ocean front or smoking on property
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from redlands, ca

Busy hotel, nice beach, but expensive

Posted Apr 20, 2017
Pros: Near the snorkeling beach
Cons: Make sure people don't save 10 chairs!
Location: Snorkeling, nice swimming pool, good food
We've been going to this Westin several times in the last 10 years. When it was new it was wonderful. This time we went even early in the morning you couldn't even have a chair near the pool. I don't quite understand why it's so busy because it is crazy expensive. However the brunch was nice and snorkeling right near the beach is very good.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great option for families

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
My favorite resort so far on Maui. Very family friendly, great service, great pools for the kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Wonderful family vacation

Posted Apr 9, 2017
Cons: The attitude of some of the staff was not as stellar as we have experienced in previous trips to the two Westins in Kaanapali.
Location: Snorkeling, Whaler's Village, great pools,
The Westin Villas were perfect for our family vacation. Three different pools, easy beach access, BBQ's, wonderful aesthetics, clean and comfortable rooms, small kitchen so we didn't have to eat out every time, close parking options, etc, etc, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville CA

Our 3rd stay. We love everything about it.

Posted Apr 7, 2017
Pros: Everything
Cons: I can't imagine how they make it better.
Location: Golf, tennis, whale watching, snorkeling, surfing, swimming.
Great pools and hot tubs including one each for adults only. Very good restaurants and we especially like the BBQ grills. Much better than the one I have at home and they are immaculately cleaned every morning. Stop by Costco near the airport for all sorts of things to grill. The Ocean Resort Villas are definitely our favorite vacation spot.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 28, 2017
We received a complimentary upgrade from a studio to a one bedroom condo unit on the main floor. It was accessible to the pool which was so great for my kids. I could sit in the patio while watching them play in the kids pool. The place was really nice and walking distance to the mall.
4 out of 5
by VIJAY

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 20, 2017 on Hotels