Ratings based on 493 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Maui Banyan

Posted Dec 26, 2016
Pros: Close to beach
Cons: Nothing, all good.
Location: Aquarium, Haleakala volcano, Latina, Big Beach, Little Beach.
Been there theee times. Will always go back as it has everything we need and very comfortable. Great access to the best beach in Kihei. Lots of great eating places close by.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Disappointing value for money

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Cons: Customer service, friendly aloha service one would expect while travelling in Hawaii, better signage.
I arrived late, after having notified hotel staff that I would be doing so. While the front desk clerk was friendly enough, there were two security guards there who did not many any offer to help me with my bags, although I had already mentioned that it was disappointing to have to park on the third level of their three-storey car parkade and lug my suitcases down the stairs. There is poor signage generally, as there is no dedicated spot to park while checking in; the only place to park other than the parkade is a loading/no parking zone. The room was clean enough but not exactly the standard one would expect at this price point; it looked out to a sidewalk on the back side of the building. I was charged their requisite $20 fee, which is supposed to include free wi-fi in addition to the use of the room safe and the coffee maker; however, the wi-fi was only available to me for a few minutes before its cut-off for the day, and I didn't need the safe. This fee should be hidden in the price of the property, as it only irks guests to be charged for something they didn't need or can't use. I have stayed in many other hotels in Maui, and would certainly choose any of them before returning to the Maui Banyan in the future. Again on checking out there was no offer to help with bags.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mexico

Nice hotel near to beach.

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Pros: It was a very nice pool.
Cons: No comments.
Location: It is very close to the beach with a beautiful view.
It was an excellent expierence, because is a nice place, near to the beach, near to several markets, with a nice pool.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lanai Citu Hawaii

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Because I'm a frequent guest, they've upgraded me to a one bedroom. But was a beautiful room. The only thing is the bedroom was too hot and the fan was not strong enough . Other than that it was wonderful and I hope they will upgrade me to a room like that again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

close to resturants and beach

Posted Jul 27, 2016
Decent hotel for the price we paid. Right across the stretchers Kamaol'e Beach ll and walking distance to many resturants. If you need any necessities you may have forgotten, there's a general store nearby. They also offer hospitality rooms free of charge if you need one after the beach or after an activity you scheduled and have already checked out. This allows you about an hour to shower and get ready.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
This is a time-share condo -- not a hotel. The staff and facility don't provide the type of services one would expect from a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, great value

Posted Jul 1, 2016
The hotel is located across the street from a beautiful beach, Kama'ole 2, less than 5 minute walk. Hotel is part of condo complex. Staff was wonderful! Very friendly and accommodating. There were many amenities that were not listed on Expedia. The room was spacious, clean, and comfortable. An ideal spot for a laid back Hawaiin vacation. Close to shops, restaurants, and great sunbathing, snorkel, surfing (beginner) beaches.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 30, 2016
The setting was nice in the t building. My daughter and myself stayed for 5 nights the a/c worked great there was lots of space, clean, (no bugs even outside) nice BBQ and pool Outdoor landscaping was very well kept. I liked my stay only wish there was a restaurant or breakfast bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable room

Posted Jun 22, 2016
Pros: Well maintained, nice staff, clean rooms.
Location: Close by beaches, and restaurants.
We upgraded to a suite, the rooms are in good condition and clean. A pleasant place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from MN

Great Location for beach & food

Posted Jun 12, 2016
Pros: See above
Cons: Have an ice machine. Many of the units are condos, but for those that are like a regular hotel this would have been appreciated.
Location: See above
We didn't know what to expect when we checked in and were pleasantly surprised by this hotel. It is a super easy walk across to the beach & there are warning lights you can activate to help stop traffic as needed as you cross. We enjoyed being very close to several good restaurants. We enjoyed 808 Bistro for breakfast twice and a nice dinner. Fred's Mexican was also very good & we enjoyed some good appetizers as a dinner at Moose McGillacuddey's. The pool was nice and never crowded when we went & has a decent hot tub too. Kihei was a good location to be in on Maui. It is easy to drive from here up to Haleakala and the Road to Hana. We enjoyed snorkeling as several locations south of the hotel as well as a decent snorkel right at the beach across the road - go to the right. Parking was convenient and the staff was super friendly. The activities desk lady was wonderful and not trying to sell you a time share! Our room had nice wood floors, a large shower, a large mini fridge which we found very useful, a safe, and a small but usable Lanai.