Ratings based on 666 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from seattle

Low key and quiet, convenient

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Fun to feed the koi. Easy access to everything, allowed us to do separate activities occasionally. Nice pool. Great beach.
Location: Visit the live music and restaurants at the other resorts nearby without having to drive. Check out Shoreline snorkel for a great excursion.
Near everything but quiet. Beautiful room, good view, great restaurants in every direction. Parking was convenient.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton, AB

Great beachfront location, room and amenities

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable, clean and up-to-date hotel in an ideal location with lots of amenities and good customer service.
Cons: Would prefer the tennis courts were lit and open at night. Free snorkel gear at the hotel would also be great!
Location: Right on a calm stretch of Kaanapali Beach near other high-end hotels. Snorkelling at Black Rock very close. Short drive to town of Lahaina.
We had a clean, bright, spacious room on the 10th floor with two big sliding patio doors that stretched across the room with an ocean view. Because there are so few bugs in Hawaii we left the doors open whenever we were at our hotel. It was very calming hearing the ocean waves and letting the Hawaii sun flood in. Right on a calm stretch of Kaanapali beach near Black Rock area (great for snorkelling). Kitchen was convenient for cooking affordable dinners (head to Costco if you want to cook). Provided basic cookware. King-size bed was clean and very comfortable. Towel service was extremely convenient. We were always guaranteed a clean towel no matter how messy/muddy the day. Overall grounds were up to date and well-maintained. Beautiful koi point. Nice pool area w/ wifi and barbecues. Underground parking extremely convenient. Free tennis also a pleasant feature. House keeping did a good job but put our washed dishes which were drying on the counter in the dishwasher which didn't seem to work properly (maybe just the setting they put it on?) so our dishes weren't clean the next day. Highly recommended accommodation!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Great hotel location at beach and other facilities

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Location.
Cons: Nothing that comes to mind.
Location: Swim, surf, walk, shopping.
Enjoyed walk along the beach and drive to nearby beaches. Location,
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montana

great location but wish they had a restaurant

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: The staff The location daily maid service
Cons: Need options for room service Need nice store so folks can buy stuff instead of going to ABC. You might consider partnering with Joeys restaurant.
Location: Nice snorkeling around Black Rock Nearby hotels to check out Nearby shopping next door at whalers village...a plus !
I loved our little studio and we had a nice view of the garden court and ocean but I sure wish the unit 213 was updated. It was our 10 yr anniversary and they didn't upgrade us to a new premium room. But all in all we were happy. The staff is so nice. I loved the location but wish they had a small restaurant or bar or even if they had a deal with the food court at Whalers Village to deliver food for those of us that want to be spoiled on vacation, that would be nice. You might even consider a social hour where you set up a buffet for breakfast or happy hour in the lounge areas and charge a small fee. You have a great location but it's too tempting to go to the other hotels in the future because of the amenities they have. the grounds are clean and I loved feeding the fish in the morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Francisco, CA

Nice - Great Perks!

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Tennis courts, grounds, beach/location
Cons: Update to renovate the bathroom
Location: Right next to the Whaler shopping area which was convenient ! No restaurant on site, but the mall/nearby restaurants were perfectly accessible.
We stayed in the Westin for two nights and then stayed in the Whaler for 2, and ended up liking this hotel more than the Westin! This room was surprisingly recently updated - nice carpet and very nice kitchen. The bathroom was a little dated, but not bad. Although the room was garden view we were also able to see both the ocean and the mountains which was great. The things that were great surprisingly due to the lower stars and lower price than the Westin were: 1) Free tennis courts - in great shape and really nice racquets! 2) Better beach - wider and closer to black rock 3) More quiet (fewer guests the Westin was pretty crowded) - pool was definitely much less nice than the Westin though, however it was nice to be able to hear the waves, at the Westin the waterfalls drown out the sound of the waves 4) Free parking :) and free beach chairs Overall we were very happy with our stay here and will definitely come back again! Also they gave us 1 pm late check out which was a nice perk.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Marina del Rey, California

Whaler Condominiums: Tired and Needs Renovation

Posted Jan 3, 2016
Pros: Location in Kaanapali Beach.
Cons: Overall property and rooms in particular need to be updated, renovated and modernized
Location: Beach, beach, beach
Upon check-in, we were given accommodation that was not what we requested or paid for - an ocean-view room. From the initial room we were provided, the view was of treetops and a parking structure; there was very little, if any ocean view. After several calls to the manager and Expedia, we were moved to a different room, which had an ocean view. However, the room was in need of refurbishment, including paint, repairs, updating. We do not believe this room represented the type of accommodation we saw on the Expedia website or should have been offered by Expedia for a property such as the Whaler Condominium in Maui, Hawaii. We expected that Expedia should have done more to remedy our dissatisfaction with the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from 埼玉県

便利なコンドミニアム

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Pros: 便利さ
Cons: 特に無し
Location: 商業施設に隣接していて、何おするにも便利。
設備は申し分無し。ビーチに対して縦方向に建物が建っているためどの部屋もパーシャルオーシャンビューである。家族四人では充分な広さ。
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good location

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Beautiful location. Room and water view balcony were nice. Nice to have a kitchen in the room for breakfast or beach snack prep. Pool was basic. Many of the other guests were retirement age.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Excellent rooms and service. Right at the beach. Black rock is a good place to snorkel with kids.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washinton State

Nice hotel, great location

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: we could see the ocean from our garden view room, cleanliness, really nice upgrades, great location, friendly helpful staff, easy parking
Cons: The bed could have been a tad softer, but was fine. I slept well.
Location: lots of shopping, ocean swimming, dining out
The room has been nicely upgraded, very inviting. New carpet, tiled floors, new white cabinets - they were beautiful, very good quality. The staff was warm and friendly, the one time we needed assistance with the TV, the staff was there within 5 minutes. Housekeepers were so nice too. The best was having a beautiful view from our Garden View room. Easy booking at the front office for trips and tours. We will stay again and I will asking for the same room.