Ratings based on 2,303 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from t

Very old and outdated

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Pros- right on the beach, nice staff Cons- old, smelly rooms and uncomfortable beds
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from glendale, california

Aston Kaanapali Shores

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: Conveniently located and very clean, nice pool and friendly people too!
Cons: card keys don't always work or if it does takes about 5 swipes
Location: Times grocery across the street, a little drive and your near the Whaler's village and the cannery mall.
This is our second time at this place. Love the area very convenient, right across the street is a grocery store Times, so you could easily buy what you need and you have a kitchen so if you like you can cook. There is also an ABC store nearby which is where you should get your souvenirs since its quality at a cheaper price. As for the hotel they have a newly renovated pool which is always a hit for kids like mine, the beach front is a little rough with rocks so really need your aqua shoes. But you can easily walk a little bit to the next hotel and theirs have less rock. As for service it's excellent people are very friendly and really shares their Hawaiian spirit.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland

Okay condo/hotel but forget the beach

Posted Jul 15, 2016
Pros: The main pool is very nice. I liked having a kitchenette to have breakfast items in the morning.
Cons: The resort fee should just be included in the price. Fees to use things like the pool and Internet are part of your stay.
Location: There's a strip mall with some eating places, shops and beach/snorkel rentals across the street. There's also a grocery store.
This is a combo hotel and condo property. A discounted price is still expensive and then you have to add the resort fee and parking costs which makes it too much for what you get. My room was okay and clean. I think the biggest disappointment was the beach was not really usable. It's not what is represented in photos. There's nowhere to sit on the beach and there are too many rocks to enjoy it. I spend lots of time trying to find other beaches by driving all over the island. I had enough and switched hotels. I got a lot more for my money and a nice beach elsewhere.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from central ca

Nice hotel, no beach

Posted Jul 14, 2016
Great hotel but far from everything. Get a rental car because you will have to drive to everything
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Fantastic family tesort

Posted Jul 13, 2016
The staff were friendly, pool facilities fantastic and the apartment exactly what we needed
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great kids pool

Posted Jul 8, 2016
Common areas of the property were very nice. The children's pool was great! It had a waterfall, water spouts, even a 9 inch deep toddler area. I was a little disappointed with the room, it was outdated compared to the rest of the property and a little cramped.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cal

Nice hotel but cannot swim on its beach

Posted Jul 5, 2016
Overall very pleasant stay. Pools were not crowded. Rooms were clean and spacious. Offered suggestions for activities. nice restaurants nearby. 30'minutes from Kahului airport
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Experience was great . Staffing was excellent and helpful. Location was perfect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 2, 2016
Pros: Always a friendly staff and good food and relaxing areas by pool or lawn to chill out after work Great sunset views
Cons: Provide you with two towels instead of one per card
The only negative was there was a perfume smell in the room like a carpet fresh or fabreeze was strong and needed to air the room out luckily there was a breeze blowing thru to clear it up.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Decent condo. Above average location.

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Cons: On-site restaurant could use a make-over.
Location: Good location with good proximity to Kaanapali Beach. Good proximity to local coffee shops & grocery stores.
Kitchen was minimally acceptable - lacked many expected pans, tools, coffee filters, etc. Advertised as being beach-front, which is technically true, but the beach is so skinny and the waves so strong that no one could use the space. The condo restaurant was marginal with chain-quality food and spotty service. Very good kids pool and attentive front desk staff. Parking costs seemed very expensive even on an island where everything is more expensive.