Ratings based on 988 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from fremont

Excellent view of the beach

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Could hear the waves from the all the time . Beautiful way to wake up and see the ocean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Nice Getaway in Room 605, Run from room 103!

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Pros: Our room. Big. Nice. Having a kitchen. Had everything that we needed.
Cons: Everything about room 103. The mattress in 605, replace, too soft and sinks, almost fell off the edge more than once. Housekeeping, clean room is nice
Overall nice time while we were here. The staff were very nice, and accommodating. We started off with a bang by being upgraded into a very nice room. Room 605, very spacious, clean, and has everything you need in it. Great view. Can't say thank you enough. (Mattress too soft!) Second stay here, and it was sad to see that the beach by this hotel had been effected since my last visit. The beach area has gotten smaller and you'll have to walk a bit or drive over closer to the Hyatt to get a more decent patch of sand. Water is too rough & rocky out front. Wish the pool was warmer since sun doesn't hit it very long. Parking. Elevators. Beach towels. House keeping is a hit or miss, some days we got full service other days we questioned whether someone came by. If you get room 103, immediately ask for a different room. We decided to do a late check out (by actually paying for another night) as our flight was red eye. We were moved from our nice room to room 103 (apparently that is all they had for us). The room was horrible, and had we gotten that room from the get go we would have demanded a different room. The room was small and it felt it, the furniture was older, the room felt dirty and the room had a mildew smell. In fact, the curtains were covered in mold. I don't know if they use this room on a regular basis, I almost feel like it's not or the worse room there. Didn't like being on the first floor with people walking by, no privacy. It's right by the elevator
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from michigan

great view from 9th floor

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: the view was great.
Cons: Bed was way to soft.
Location: great sidewalks south of hotel. Not much walking north. Nice little plaza across the street with little restaurants and grocery store.
You must walk 5 minutes on the beach before entering to find a good spot without rocks. Last day we had to call 911 from our room when we saw two paddle boarders being blown out to sea. The wind was to strong coming off the shore to paddle back in. Everyone was rescued safely. Be smart when in the water. Overall I thought it was a very safe place in and out of the water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from alaska

Right on the beach

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Loved this hotel. We got an ocean view room, and it did not disappoint. From our balcony we could watch the turtles play in the coral every morning. The only disappointing thing about our room was the bed... It was way to soft. They did an awesome job of cleaning as well. They did the dishes, and made sure we had all enough soap, shampoo laundry detergent etc. Other than the bed, this hotel was excellent.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

excellent location and great condo!

Posted Nov 26, 2015
Pros: Location overall, the beach access, clean rooms, well furnished.
Cons: No negative comments
Location: As noted above, perfect for visiting Lahaina or North to Kapalua. Golf courses are nearby.
We stayed for eight ( 8 ) nights at the Mahana in mid-November. The hotel ( condo ) is literally on the beach at the North end of Kaanapali Beach. We were on the 2nd Floor ( every unit has a balcony that faces the ocean ). You can walk out of the pool area and onto the beach. The Hotel is perfectly situated to go South to Lahaina or North to Kapalua - if you are driving, and there is ample free parking. There is no restaurant at the Hotel, but there are several good restaurants ( Dukes, the Westin ) a short walk away along a nice pathway. The room facilities are excellent - kitchenette, washer / dryer, A/C ( of course ), dining table, TV. Staff is very helpful, there is an activity concierge in the lobby ( which we did not use ). Everything was very convenient and no issues with any services or amenities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Hotel With Nice View and Great Location

Posted Nov 18, 2015
We stayed there for 5 nights. The room they assigned us for the first night had really dated and weird decor. Me and my husband didn't feel comfortable in the room and requested a switch of the unit. Unfortunately there wasn't anything available. We went back to the front desk the next morning and they put us in a different room. Overall, this Hotel is a good hotel with great location (there is a strip mall with fast food restaurants and a supermarket within 5-10 minute walking distances and the beach is just right in front of the hotel). The trick to a pleasant stay in this hotel is to make sure you get a room that makes you feel comfortable. I will suggest people check the room before they accept it. The conditions of the units are not consisent. Some of them are old and creepy (i.e 303) and some of them are very new and modern (i.e. 703). The staffs are helpful in accommodating the guests' needs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mississippi

Very comfortable, great views.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Nice clean, comfortable room with a nice view. Kitchen and amenities were good. The only negative was no restaurant or lounge on site.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Petaluma ca

Excellent hotel and so close to ocean.

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Cons: Swimming pool could have been warmer and hot tub to hot.
Location: Walking the board walk and ocean front. Grocery store across the street and Dukes for happy hour.
We had a fabulous 17 days at the Mahana. Our studio was on the 4th floor and we had a fabulous view of the sunsets and ocean waves. We enjoyed hearing the ocean at night time. Our bed was very comfortable and the house keeping kept our studio so clean. The location is great. Walking the board walk and ocean front every day was great. The staff was extremely helpful and so friendly. We will definitely be back to this beautiful condo. Charlena was extremely helpful and had a great personality at the front desk. Having little extra things like laundry facilities in your condo, free movie rental every day and free parking was great. Can't wait to go back and stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Nice hotel in a quiet location right on the beach

Posted Nov 10, 2015
The Aston Mahana is a comfortable hotel that's tucked away on the busy Kanapali beach. All the rooms are ocean facing and the staff was friendly and warm. Karen at the check-in was super helpful. The hotel is conveniently located with groceries and gas nearby. I found that the gas in this neighborhood was cheapest on the island!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix

Posted Nov 1, 2015
Cons: Bed comfort - mattress was too firm. A 2 inch mattress topper would make a world of difference. Sofa bed was too lumpy to sleep on.
Location: Room view and location were awesome!
Overall the Mahana was a pleasant stay. Can't beat the location and the view from the room. The bed was a bit firm and the pull out couch was unsleepable (horribly lumpy). Other than that, we were happy with our experience.