Ratings based on 1,042 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Soldotna, AK

Location is good....room cleanliness...not so much

Posted Aug 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Room cleanliness & Expedia staff knowledge.
We had a nice trip to the island, however the resort was a bit of a mess. The rooms aren't clean and they show their wear terribly. I took some pictures but even they don't show the reality of dirt. When I brought it to the staff and managers attention they were rude and not at all apologetic. They were mad that I waited until the end of our vacation to bring it to their attention. I didn't want to ruin my vacation telling them they need to clean. I made sure that the areas of the room that we used were ok like the bed, toilet, sinks and shower. Some of the rooms are owned by others so their rooms were a bit cleaner. The ones the hotel is responsible for were lacking! The resort fee is ridiculous based on what is there. The coffee stand was overpriced and more like a vending machine quality. Go across the highway to Slappy Cakes for a great breakfast and experience. There is a small pool area. Dukes, a short walk away, was great. One of their employees, Jamie, is part of the Luau show at another resort and she was sooooo friendly. She remember all 4 of our names 2 days later when we went to the Luau. Don't expect much information from the Expedia desk. They are very coached and when you ask pointed questions about the tours they don't have much info. We booked a Pearl Harbor day (flight, tour, transportation) and we really had to search out the information and some of the stuff she told us was very wrong. I would book those tours direct in the future
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chile

the best, everything: location, hotel staff, clean

Posted Aug 15, 2016
Pros: the room, the location
Cons: we paid too much for the tours, we realized after that outside they are cheaper, a lot more cheaper :(
Location:
its so nice, the room, the kitchen, everything is so perfect, the location, we love snorkling, and the beach that is in front is nice for that, if you want a beach for swimming you need to walk a little bit but still so nice everything. the staff is very kind. they help you with everything. Even thou we pay all the tours there but they were so expensive, outside they are more cheap, a lot more!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

great family hotel.

Posted Aug 11, 2016
Pros: very friendly staff, accommodating and knowledgeable. great concierge for reservations, directions and local info
Cons: suites were slightly dated but very comfortable, hotel is not signed with the word aston, just mahana. we drove past it looking for the word "aston"
Location: food, shops, and super market in walking distance
nice to have suite where the whole family fit without having to go from one suite to another. gorgeous views right on the beach. full kitchen was a delight for days we had early morning happenings.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Over all ok

Posted Aug 9, 2016
Pros: Perfect ocean front view Wi-Fi
Cons: get rid of cockroaches
Location: 5 minutes drive from Lahaina, shopping, parasailing, restaurants, and ets , great Luau show in 2 minutes at Royal Lahaina Hotel
Hotel is not new, but seems ok, doesn't have that old building smell at all. Facilities looks renewed,nice pool and grill. Room is clean, except kitchen, there were cockroaches. Hated it, could not leave anything on a counter, definitely not a pleasant thing you want to see on your vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Malibu, ca

Loved our room!

Posted Aug 8, 2016
We arrived exhausted and Rick, the night manager made us very comfortable.he was personal and friendly. Evidently our room was an upgrade..We LOVED it. Third floor..right over the water..beautiful photos of the ocean all around and an incredible kitchen with granite countertop facing out to the room and the view was fantastic. ..the only complaint was the construction going on in a couple of days..other than that..the room was incredible.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

Fantastic Views

Posted Aug 8, 2016
Pros: The rooms are very nice and great views.
Cons: It's great as it is
Location: Beaches and snorkelling is right out the door. There is a market and strip mall within walking distance. About a 10 minute drive to Lahaina.
A nice hotel, not a lot of facilities but the rooms are very nice and the view is spectacular. The beach directly in front of the hotel is not great but there is nice beach nearby.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Great place with stunning beach! The room had spectacular view.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 4, 2016
Good condo! Staff was very helpful! Great ocean front view!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Aston Mahana

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: The front desk staff and concierge were very kind and very helpful.
My family and I had a wonderful time at the Aston Mahana. We were given an end unit condo. It had 2 bedrooms,a sofa bed and 2 bathrooms. Definitely a plus when there are more then 4 in a family. Our condo had a full kitchen stocked with pots and pans, plates, bowls, utensils and glasses. We were able to cooked many of our meals. We purchased food at the grocery store across the street. But if you have a Costco membership, there is a Costco located very close to the airport. The view from our balcony was breathtaking. Were able to see the islands of Lanai and Molokai and a beautiful sunset everyday. We saw some turtles in the water and some fish swimming by. All from our balcony! (The water is sooo clear.) The location is great. We were steps away from the beach. However, there are coral very close to the shore. I recommend walking to the left, once you are on the beach, towards the next resort where there aren't any coral near the shore. Towels are available for guests to use at the pool and the beach. You could rent snorkel gear and boogie boards at vendors near by or ask the concierge about rental and delivery of gear. Paddle boards could be delivered to you as well. BBQ grills available if you want to use them. I saw a few guests using the grills while we were there. I would stay here again the next time we go to
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danville, Ca

Get an ocean view room.

Posted Aug 1, 2016
The staff was accommodating. We had a pull out bed that wasn't comfortable for our kids, so they immediately gave us an option of two different rooms (both better options). We chose to move from the 3rd to the 10th floor because of the incredible ocean views. There are newer condos, but our ocean view room was magical. -aloha & mahalo