Ratings based on 980 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Georgia

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Loved everything about our stay. Suites were roomy, location to beach was great, all restaurants on site were fabulous, kids loved the pool/slide. My husband and I also loved the swim up pool bar. The hotel also has the option for you to book a photography session for 45 mins at no cost. You just pay for what photos you want. ( would recommend Brandon who was fabulous).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

closed the beach, fantastic view, kindly step

Posted Feb 3, 2016
very good, kindly step microwave free bottled water DVD unlimitid towel
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

The dark tunnels leading to guest rooms

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: We had 1 very standout pool side waitress who was so lovely on the 3rd day.
Cons: Lack of canoes and services, better relations with "3rd party" bookings.
Location: Maui is gorgeous, and the Four Seasons next door is amazing, we kept popping over there, for food and a very nice staff. Wish I would have spent the
The dark tunnels leading to guest rooms if you are on level 1 or below are in need of replacement, they have that human skin and foot odor trapped into them. The rooms were Fairmont rooms with plenty of space, but again very in need of updates, the first one being a refrigerator, which they rolled into the room, and replaced along with everything in it that had gone bad and by replaced I mean placed back into a working refrigerator. Sinks were cracked but I really didn't want to see a couple of sinks rolling down those dark tunnels. Along with the very loud toilet and air conditioning unit you could here all night the replacement room they offered was on level 1which still felt underground and smelled but as well was the very last room at the end of the tunnel so far from everything Since I booked this hotel with expedia, they never wanted to help with any extra information, such as if you sign up with fairmont rewards you could at least save a percentage on spa treatments and other little perks while your there and instead kept telling me and my other guest since we booked through a third party they really couldn't help us, we would have to call whatever third party we booked with to get any information. One of the guests I was traveling with (lets call her Mrs. Flipflop) had to cancel last minute, so myself and my new guest were referred to as Mrs. Flipflop for the whole stay, and if we wanted them to call us by our real names we needed to call our 3rd party.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 4, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for taking the time to share your review. I sincerely apologize that your recent experience was so disappointing. Please be assured that the channel a guest books through has absolutely no impact on his/her room assignment or level of service at our resort. I truly regret that your expectations were not met and I’m sorry for the frustration you experienced. Your feedback is very important to us and will be shared with the key departments. I hope you will visit us again so we can provide the luxury experience you deserve and the high quality of service we are known for. Mahalo and best wishes, Younes Atallah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful hotel and setting.

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Pros: Great facilities and staff. Big hotel, but not as big as Grand Wailea.
Cons: Dining experience closer to the water.
Location: Lots of tours available. Snorkeling right in front of resort. Whale watching from the beach as well, or rent a paddle board or kayak to get closer.
Arrived late and were nicely surprised by a room upgrade. However, the room was by a noisy ice machine, but a quick call to the front desk and that was fixed right away. The facilities are great and location is fabulous. Was a bit surprised the Fairmont doesn't have a dining experience that properly catches the ocean views, but Ferraros at the Four Seasons is only a short walk away. Resort fee includes parking, and there are lots of free things to do. Snorkeling is better by the Four Seasons (left side of beach), but it is good to walk to Four Seasons beach and snorkel back to the Fairmont beach. Definitely would return. Pricy, but worth it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Terrific Hotel with Wonderful Amenities & Staff

Posted Jan 19, 2016
It was a great start to our stay when we were immediately greeted by warm and welcoming staff with leis and signature drinks. Our room was terrific with a grand bathroom and bedroom, and wonderful lounging living room area. We mentioned to the staff that we were hoping to have a better view from our lanai, and we were whisked away to a room facing the ocean right above Nick's Fish Market. It was absolutely world class. The pools are wonderful. My wife and I lounged at the adult pool, and spent a lot of time at the beach too. The concierge desk was outstanding, and offered great tips for golf, restaurants and the road to Hana...Pua even gave us a cooler and a guided CD for our trip. I'd highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 26, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, Hotel Management
Aloha Sean, and thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience at Fairmont Kea Lani. It's wonderful to hear how much you enjoyed the view from your suite and your vacation with us. Mahalo for your kind compliments regarding our concierge services and recommending the resort . Your compliments will be shared with our staff, especially the concierge team. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah (Director of Operations)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Cons: The water pressure in the sinks and shower. While I understand the desire to be conservation minded, the faucets and shower head are downright stingy.
Beautiful hotel in prime Wialea location, far from the relative congestion of Kaanapali. Pool is heated and beach is clean, secluded but easily accessible from the hotel property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 29, 2015
I would definitely stay here again. Every member of the staff is a well-trained professional and they pamper the guests. I especially liked that towels were plentiful and that sunscreen and waters were always at the pool and special treats were brought around to the lounges. Can't wait to go back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 7, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your experience with us. I am delighted you enjoyed the resort’s poolside amenities and that you felt pampered by our entire staff. Mahalo for recommending us. It will be our pleasure to welcome you back again soon. Best wishes, Younes Atallah
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Regular visits

Posted Dec 28, 2015
Beautiful - spacious living spaces - grounds are immaculately kept - staff courteous, professional and informed! My only concern is that after staying 7 nights, paying over $600 nightly - 30 minute grace or late check out is the max allowed. At 12:30 house cleaning knocked on the door and I told her I was using the bathroom and would be right out. I proceeded to return to the bathroom to finish up and the phone starts ringing - why?
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for being such loyal return guests. It's fantastic that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite, the beauty of the resort and that you were especially pleased with the friendly and professional service from our staff. I apologize that you felt rushed while trying to depart your suite. We do our best to honor late check-out requests whenever possible, however, when the hotel is busy, the time between check-out and check-in is needed to thoroughly clean and prepare suites for incoming guests. I am very sorry to learn that this negatively impacted your experience. Your constructive feedback will be shared with the key departments to improve our follow up in this area. We value your comments and hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back again in the future. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Quick stay

Posted Dec 27, 2015
Pros: Atmosphere. Rooms. Grounds. Staff.
Cons: Had to make 3 calls for a shuttle from Shops at Wailea and waited :40 minutes. Our room didn't have an iron and it too :45 min for us to get one.
Location: Resort stuff: beach/pools, spas, shopping, golf
My wife and I got married on the island and booked a room for our wedding night. The rest of our stay has been with friends who live on the north side of Maui. This was a recommendation from those friends. What a beautiful hotel. I love that the rooms are all suites. We had a beautiful ocean view room. The room was spacious and had a great balcony. The bathroom was also huge and luxurious. Checkout was at noon but we stayed and enjoyed the resort for the rest of the day. We layer by the pool and set up down on the beach. The staff set up a nice spot for us by putting up an umbrella and setting up our chairs. They were very courteous and seemed genuinely interested in doing anything we needed to be comfortable. After enjoying our day, we were given use of a suite later to shower and clean up. We'd love to stay here on our next visit for a few more days.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

really nice!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
A lot of thought went into all the extra touches. Very comfortable, and very friendly hotel staff. The only very annoying thing was people being allowed to " save" chairs by the pool by setting their towel there. Adult pool remained fairly empty , but surrounded by empty " saved" lounge chairs..... Excellent food at all their restaurants!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 11, 2015 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Maui, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your terrific review, Ruth. I am extremely happy to learn that your stay was so comfortable and you truly enjoyed everything that makes our resort so special, especially the friendliness from our staff. We sincerely appreciated your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah (Director of Operations)