Ratings based on 1,081 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Staff Feedback

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Facilities, grounds, lobby staff and cleaning staff. Ko restaurant waitress was outstanding.
Cons: Staffing attitudes at upper pool bar
The staff at the front desk, restaurants in main building as well as cleaning staff were all friendly and accommodating. I did not have the same experience with the staff at the pool bar and grille (upper pool). All seemed rude and a bit put off that I was even there to be waited on. This attitude particularly from the bartenders. Actually heard them talking in open rudely about guest (and my group) multiple times during our hanging at the pool bar. Finally just stopped going there during the last couple of days of our stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful hotel,grounds and beach.

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Cons: Cost of food was exceptionally expensive ,
Staff was very helpful in upgrading us to a room with a lovely view,
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Michael and thank you for your five-star review! We are very happy you had a nice stay and found the resort beautiful and the service helpful. Thank you for your feedback regarding the food pricing, it will be shared. We look forward to welcoming you the next time you visit Maui. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Geelong Australia

Luxury hotel right on the beach

Posted Nov 19, 2016
The Fairmont Kea Lani is one of the nicest hotels we've had the pleasure of staying. Well located in Wailea Maui rights on the beach. Rooms are spacious, well appointed & clean & tidy. Staff are very friendly & helpful. Will definitely be back to stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha, Barry, and thank you for your fantastic review! I'm truly honored that you found the Fairmont Kea Lani to be one of the “nicest place you ever stayed!" It’s wonderful to learn that you enjoyed the spaciousness of your suite and everything that makes our resort so special, including the friendly service from our staff. We look forward to welcoming you back again very soon. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel FBI

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Very nice hotel. But be ready for invasive questions as the busy staff attempts to 'connect' on a personal level Where are you coming from, what are you here for, how long will you be with us, what are going to do while your here, have you been here before? There are other ways to connect and help a traveler feel welcome after a long day of travel without invading personal space. Unfortunately this is all too common in todays hospitality businesses. Long gone are the days of warm welcoming easy going discretion. And I'm not that old!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. I’m pleased to learn that you enjoyed your experience at our resort. However, I apologize that you felt our staff's service approach to get to know you felt invasive and not genuinely warm. This is not our intention as our goal is to offer a memorable and welcoming experience for all. I do hope you will consider joining us again in the future. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah Director of Operations
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

We will be back - Lovely Holiday at a Nice Hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016
Pros: Spacious rooms, attentive staff, beautiful pools and beaches, hospitality suite for use after check out was awesome as we had a red eye flight. BRAVO!`
Cons: There was an awful smell off our lanai and so we could not open the patio doors.
Location: At the end of the Wailea strip... Nice area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 21, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for sharing your review. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and so many of our resort amenities and services, including the size of our suites and beautiful pool areas. I apologize that you were unable to enjoy the breeze from the lanai. Your feedback is important and will be reviewed and addressed with the appropriate department. Mahalo and we hope to have an opportunity to welcome you back in the future. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah Director of Operations
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Diego, CA

Beautiful resort - wonderful vacation!

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Location: Beaches, Lahaina on a glass bottom boat, went to Maui Ocean Center aquarium, the Surfing Goat Dairy, Twin Falls, and Road to Hana.
The hotel has beautiful accommodations, rooms are spacious, clean and very comfortable. The activities at the hotel are wonderful, with wonderful views, our kids fed the koi almost every morning, we took ukulele lessons, enjoyed the nightly torch lighting ceremony. The pools were wonderful, we loved strolling through the gardens and enjoying the views and the artwork. I loved the mango black iced tea and kids loved getting their own water throughout the site. Food at cafe and restaurants was great. We had a wonderful and relaxing vacation and the resort was very accommodating, comfortable and relaxing!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Natalie! Thank you for sharing your experience with us. I'm delighted you had such a relaxing vacation and that your family enjoyed the comforts of the spacious suite, the daily activities and the beauty of the resort’s tropical landscaping. We look forward to welcoming you back the next time you visit Maui. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

Wonderful!!!!!!!!

Posted Oct 29, 2016
Pros: Everything was perfect. I will give 5 stars. The beach was perfect, the restaurants were very, very nice, the room was splendid.
Cons: We liked everything. We have nothing to complain. We loved everything. I will recommend this hotel to all our friends.
Location: Very close was Kihei, Wailea shopping centre, lots of restaurants, golf courses. The beach was perfect.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Bianca and thank you for your fantastic review of your recent vacation. It's terrific that you had such a memorable experience and found everything perfect with your stay - your compliments and recommendations are greatly appreciated. We look forward to your next visit. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah (Director of Operations)
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great service, great location, great hotel

Posted Oct 28, 2016
Pros: Service, service, service. Great views. Quiet and large rooms. Beautiful beach. Pool area was big enough for kids to have a great time.
Cons: The prices at the hotel restaurants are ridiculous, even for Hawaii. $8 for 12 oz tap beers. $22 for a dry burger.
Location: Shopping close by, walk to beach and paths, 5 minute drive to Big Beach at Makena State Park. Also did the Road to Hana which wasn't far away.
So at first the hotel room we got through Expedia was disappointing. It was a "Mountain View" room, and had a view of the mountain, but also a view of the parking lot and most notably, the huge outdoor central air fans that made constant noise. In my opinion, it was one of the worst few rooms in the place. However, I requested a room change and upgraded (for minimal additional fee) to a Garden View Suite. From that point on, everything was fabulous. Hotel staff, everyone from bell service to housekeeping to the pool staff to the front desk, was excellent. Definitely a "culture," of great customer service. Hotel is beautiful with a nice (not huge but big enough) pool area, and easy access to the beach. Rooms are really big compared to others in the area. Hotel restaurants are too expensive and not that good, although I never ate at Nicks' Fish Market, which looked pretty good. I heard one employee and several other guests that had been to the area multiple times comment that if you want a nice relaxing Hawaii trip, stay at the Fairmont. If you want Disney World for the kids, stay at Grand Wailea. Attended a luau at Grand Wailea, and I agree. (Side note: avoid the Luau at Grand Wailea. Most of it was pretty boring, with bad food).
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Don and thank you for taking the time to share your review. I am so pleased to hear that you found the resort to be great and enjoyed our staff's service outstanding and friendly. I do apologize that you were disappointed with your initial suite but extremely happy to learn that the issue was resolved to your satisfaction and the rest of your stay was memorable and relaxing. We truly appreciate all of your feedback and hope to see you again in the future! Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Philly, PA

Beautiful resort

Posted Oct 21, 2016
Spacious comfortable suite. Friendly staff. Lovely grounds. Big pools. Just a wonderful stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Charlie! Thank you for your wonderful review. We're so pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and found the resort and your vacation so wonderful! Your compliments are greatly appreciated. Hope to see you soon. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Oct 16, 2016
Very beautiful place. We had a great time as a family. The breakfast buffet is amazing. The hotel also have a store when you can buy some grocery for reasonable prices.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 18, 2016 by Fairmont Kea Lani, Hotel Management
Aloha Samar! It's so wonderful to learn that the hotel was a perfect fit for your family vacation. I'm especially pleased that you enjoyed the beauty of the resort, breakfast buffet and Caffe Ciao Deli. Please come visit us again soon. Warmest aloha, Younes Atallah