Ratings based on 1,056 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Unhappy staff

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: The view, the beach access.
Cons: Concierge, Wait staff, maid service.
Location: Shopping, Walking on the beach, pool and beach access.
I felt that nobody ever wanted to help you. They were more concerned with moving glasses, cleaning things than helping someone sitting right in front of them for over 15-20 min sometimes longer with the exception of Llyod and Emily at the main restaurant. I also thought the walk to the room was very very long. We asked for a premium room and we did get a nice view. The dishes were always left for days outside our room. We never got fresh robes. Nothing was ever wiped down. The concierge messed up our daily trips, pick up times, etc. That was frustrating as we had to deal with it on our own the day of. I felt like for the price we should have had a better experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Beautiful Hotel & Grounds in Great Location

Posted Nov 26, 2016
Pros: The grounds, the pool area and the food were all great.
Cons: The bathrooms need to be upgraded. Maybe many of the rooms have been upgraded already but ours could have used an upgrade.
Location: Hotel is right on the beach and staff will help you with lounge chairs or anything else on the beach as well. We didn't leave the property.
The hotel is a beautiful place with excellent staff and customer service. Everyone was very helpful and were happy to give you advice on things to see on the island or around the area. The pool area is great and kept the kids entertained.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Week stay at the grand wailea!!

Posted Nov 24, 2016
Pros: Grounds, food
Cons: Take away the fee's
The grounds are amazing. Depending on what room you have they are all at least above average. Read a lot about how the pool was very crowded, however I found that it was more the beach than the pools. If you are able to drive to a beach we recommend Po'olenalena beach just south of the resort. Much less crowded and snorkeling is amazing on the south by the rocks. (lots of turtles) Even though the resort is the biggest on the island, it certainly didn't feel this way. At times it almost felt as though we were the only ones there. Don't get me wrong, there are busy times, however its not overwhelming. After 8pm you can have almost always find one of the pools to yourself, which we found pretty cool. All the food in the resort was amazing but just as any resort overpriced. We ate a couple nights at the resort, but made sure to leave and find other options to keep the price down. Highly recommend monkey pod or pita paradise which is close by. I found an app which I highly recommend and only cost about $8. Its called Maui Revealed. Much worth the $8!!! Hope I could help, have fun!!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tacoma, United States of America

Great location and accessibility to beach & shops.

Posted Nov 22, 2016
Pros: Location and accessibility to the hotel pools as well as the ocean beaches. Lots of space; never overly congested in any of the areas.
Cons: Some maintenance and cosmetic improvements. Other option for parking other than a $30.00 a day (+ taxes) valet parking option.
Location: Lots of shopping options, paddleboard, kayaking, paved walkways between the beaches and other hotels. Short driving distance from Kihei.
My wife and I wanted a relaxing getaway and were completely satisfied with the location of the hotel and it's surroundings. The adult pool was nice since it was quiet and away from a lot of the hustle and bustle. The hotel is showing some significant signs of wear and tear and could use some renovation in areas. It was really great to be able to walk down to the beach from the hotel and have a wonderful beach to lay out on as well as well maintained areas. Prices of the hotel restaurants and pool area were pretty steep if not a bit extreme for the value. Hotel room was spacious and well equipped with beautiful balconies overlooking the gardens and out to the ocean. Nice to have a small refrigerator in the room along with a coffee maker!! Overall the experience was wonderful. It would be nice to have self-parking or a cheaper means than $30.00+tax a day for valet parking. It is a bit extreme on top of a $30.00 a day resort fee.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great pool area, clean rooms, extremely expensive

Posted Nov 1, 2016
Location: Rent a car and find places to eat outside of the resort. Highly recommend going to the shops down the street for any purchasing needs.
The rooms were extremely nice, clean and comfortable, no major complaints there. The pool area appears to be the best out of all of the other resorts we went to go see and reviewed online. The only suggestion for the pool would be for the hotel to repair some of the broken tiles that are falling off on the side of the pool. Personally, I feel like broken pool tiles (and this hotel had a lot) makes the pool look old and dirty. Other than those small tiles, the pool area was generally clean and extremely large with many options for where to sit. There were MANY cabana's that were marked reserved but remained empty the whole day which may have just been due to the season we went. My only large complaint was how incredibly overpriced even the most simple of foods were. We purchased a bag of chips and it was almost four times as expensive as if you were to just simply walk out of the hotel and purchase it at the shops right down the street (~3 minute walk). The breakfast options were incredibly overpriced as well, more so than I've ever seen at any resort, it felt like I was being robbed. I would highly recommend that you try eating all three meals out of the resort if you want to save money. Dinner was probably the only meal that came to a semi-normal amount that you'd expect from an upscale restaurant back home.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from palo alto

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Pros: beach, pool and friendly service
great place for a family vacation. Outstanding service from all from the front desk, to the folks at the pool, and especially the guys at the beach who did a great job getting us set up. Kids loved the pool and slides. Location perfect, easy walk to Wailea restraunts and shopping.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Honeymoon Getaway

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Pros: The staff at this hotel was wonderful. It was so nice to be greeted so warmly by everyone who worked there! While the pool and beach facilities fill up quickly (go down early in the morning to reserve your spots), the views from every part of the resort were spectacular. It really is paradise. The hotel is beautiful to walk through, you can spend hours walking around and still find new places to explore. The rooms are gorgeous and extremely relaxing and we loved that there was a cute outdoor mall right next door for groceries and souvenirs!
Cons: When we originally booked our room we had paid for a King Deluxe Ocean View. When we checked in they put us on the 7th floor in a corner room. We could barely even see a hint of ocean from our balcony - the palm trees blocked everything. That was incredibly disappointing - we asked if this was indeed a Deluxe and they confirmed it was? Yet when advertised it said unobstructed ocean views. We asked to change rooms, which they did for us the next day and were moved to the 8th floor with an incredible view of the ocean. I write this because the first room they gave us was barely even an ocean view (nevermind deluxe) - and that really bothered us for the money we paid, especially after we saw what the next room they moved us to looked like! So make sure when you're getting the deluxe that you actually have the great view!!
Location: It's very easy to get around from the resort, and even nicer that there was off site restaurants and stores within a 10-15 min walk
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Perfect Stay

Posted Oct 30, 2016
Clean new room. Our first stay there and they upgrading our room to a partial ocean view. We loved it here.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel, but

Posted Oct 26, 2016
Older hotel, not worth the expense. A lot of beaches nearby, but you definitely need a car and the hotel only has valet parking at $30 plus tips per day. The room was spacious, but dated. Only replaced the bathroom amenities once in four days, which is ridiculous when you're paying over $500 a night!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel but does not match the price

Posted Oct 23, 2016
Pros: Nice service and friendly staff. Building is pretty.
Cons: Poor area is smaller than expected. Restaurants and in room service are too pricy for the quality.