Ratings based on 1,371 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Great choice for families with small children.

Posted Feb 11, 2016
Location: Perfect location. Close to everything.
This resort is perfect for families with young children. There is a wading pool, lazy river-type pool, water-slide plus the main pool. The resort is beautiful with lots of room around the pools plus a beautiful beach steps away. The beach is rocky just in front of the resort but you don't have to walk very far south along the beach before there are more sandy areas. (Just to clarify, the sand on the beach is beautiful everywhere it is just when you enter the water that you encounter the rocks).
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Perfect Family Resort

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Pros: Very spacious rooms (great having a full kitchen), lots of pools and never felt very crowded.
This is a great resort for families! We stayed as four adults and a toddler in a two bedroom condo. The room was very spacious with a big balcony as well. The kitchen was well equipped and everythign was in good condition. Having an in-room washer and dryer was so helpful when traveling with a toddler. We requested a room in the Konea tower to be farther away from the Westin construction next door and the main family pool. The resort itself is very big with four pools (including an adult only one) and it was always easy to get pool loungers together. There were lots of families around and they have some great kids pool areas including a waterslide, fountains and a shallow wading area. There is only one restaurant at the resort - Duke's, which has really good food but is slightly more expensive than similar options at the Westin (about 5-10 min walk down the beach path). There is also a little market/coffee bar that has wonderful coffee and some very overpriced groceries. You are better off walking to the Times supermarket in the strip mall across the road (5 minute walk from the resort) for groceries. The beach is nice and sandy but has some coral in the water directly in front of the hotel. There is a nicer area just next door in front of the Westin construction. The mornings were very calm and great for swimming. The winds and waves picked up in the afternoons but still good for swimming and boogie boards.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to beach. Clean. Friendly.

Posted Feb 9, 2016
Loved every minute of my stay. Would come here again. Clean. Friendly staff. Great hot tubs and pools. Close to everything. Comfy beds. Great kitchen. Awesome washer / dryer. Home away from home.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney

Great hotel

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Great hotel, loved that the room had a full kitchen, dishwasher, washing machine and dryer. Hotel ammenities were outstanding, ample free guest parking, BBQ facilities, great pools and onsite fool and beverage facilities were great. Throw in a beautiful location and good staff and you have a great hotel, highly recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Upgraded to partial ocean view

Posted Feb 5, 2016
Lovely stay at Honua Kai, was the first time renting out a condo style room with full kitchen area, etc - was so convenient being able to make smoothies, cook food and store items in fridge/freezer. We were also upgraded to a 2br stay and loved the extra room, will definitely book again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Beautiful place.

Posted Feb 4, 2016
Pros: Clean and new.
Cons: A stair climber in the fitness room.
A very nice place. Great for families and couples.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Perfect for some, but not for everyone

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Probably the perfect place for a family to go - full kitchen allows you to buy groceries and cook in your room, washer/dryer are great for longer stay
Cons: Not the ideal place for couples that want to relax for a week in a resort that provides everything. Seemed more like we were staying in a condo.
Location: 808 Tepanyaki was amazing. Best food of the trip. Leoda's kitchen, Ululani's Shaved Ice, and Lahaina Ice Cream Parlor were also favorites.
One thing we were really disappointed with: We wanted to book a whale watching trip and were directed to the building that gives out beach towels and sells excursions. We knew the place closed at 5:00 so we ran down at 4:45 to book a whale watching tour for the next morning. When we arrived, the window had already been closed. The door was still open so I went in and asked a staff member about booking a tour. She said "Sorry, we close at 5:00." I pointed out that it was only 4:50, but she said "Yeah, we close at 5:00." Again, I said it wasn't 5:00 yet, and if we didn't book now we couldn't do the excursion in the morning. She then said "well we already closed the drawer." No apologies, no offer to reopen the drawer, no recommendation of where else to book a tour. Considering how much we paid for this place, I was literally shocked at the lack of customer care.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from canada

Beach wasn't great,very rocky

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Modern and clean, underground parking was very convenient.
Cons: More than one restaurant and a larger swimming pool that adults and teens could swim in.
Location: Close to grocery store and a few restaurants, there were more restaurants only a 10 minute drive away. Beaches here were too rocky.
The hotel and staff were great. The beach had many rocky areas and the currents were too strong for young kids to be left alone -at all! The swimming pools were all geared to kids which is great for families and not if your an adult looking for a swim.The resort fee of $29.99 per day was steep compared to other hotels in area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Houston, Texas

Easy access to Front Street and to Kapalua.

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Additional restaurant choices would be nice, but it is not a deterrent.
Location: Beautiful. Easy access to shops, etc.
Very pleased with everything about the hotel. The optional free valet or self parking was huge along with the free wifi. Lots of places were charging for these amenities. I would definitely book at this location again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new jersy

Beautiful location and spacicious rooms

Posted Jan 29, 2016
Pros: Rooms and location
The facility is on the beach with a beautiful pool. It had a relaxed and comfortable feel. The staff was very nice and the room were incredible - large living room, bathroom and kitchen, with all new high end appliances. The location is great too- close to Lahaina.