Ratings based on 2,269 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location

Posted Feb 22, 2017
We really enjoyed our stay. Location couldn't be better, staff could not be friendlier, and we had a great room. We loved the Hawaiian entertainment each evening. We thought the pool could be larger and updated, and we felt the food quality could have been better. Overall we would definitely come back to the same room--202! Thanks for helping to make our 50th anniversary trip absolutely fantastic!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Posted Feb 21, 2017
Pros: The location on the Ka'anapali strip and the spaciousness of the grounds.
Cons: The hotel needs to provide secure wifi or the option to purchase same for in-room use.
Location: There is plenty to do when and if you get tired of hanging out at the beach. Whalers Village is close and Lahaina is about 10 minutes away.
Lovely hotel, full of "old Hawaii" character but with modern amenities (except for secure wifi).
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Great for Senoirs

Posted Feb 18, 2017
Resort is really old. Every other one around it is newer. Not for a family with young kids. Staff is friendly and the room is clean. It's just really old.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Whitehorse Yukon Canada

Hawaiian hotel

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Pros: as above
Location: as above
mid range hotel ..nothing pretentious..right on the beach and close to all amenities Lovely garden environment ,lots of interesting flora and busy with birdlife very comfortable and clean front end staff welcoming ,friendly ,very efficient and helpful room servicing excellent ..varied entertainment... music and hula good value and a nice place to enjoy Hawaii.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from London, ON

Beds extremely uncomfortable. Needs to be updated

Posted Feb 14, 2017
Pros: The Staff
Cons: Beds need to be upgraded.
Beds were extremely uncomfortable. Obviously have not been replaced in years. Ocean View was limited because of distance from the ocean. The staff were wonderful. Dining prices were more expensive than other hotel restaurants for lower quality.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A more authentic Hawaiian experience

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Hotel is older and a bit worn. However, they present it quite well. Very central - close to Whaler Village for shopping and restaurants. Free Trolley stop right out front to take you to most other parts of Kaanapali. Hotel grounds feel more like a park than hotel - well treed for a great mix of sun and shade. Pool is a bit small for the complex. Tiki Bar and Tiki Terrace were both good - drinks were not overpriced and food was fine. Hallways and rooms were clean, albeit a bit dated. Staff were friendly. Suggest you request a higher floor (4 to 6) for a view of the grounds and the ocean. We stayed in room 480 which has a great view of the Black Rock - it was excellent. Patio is quite large and great for reading and relaxing. All in all, it was a very enjoyable stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful!!

Posted Feb 6, 2017
I had read some negative reviews about the condition of the property before my stay but I was pleasantly surprised to have found nothing like that. Everything was clean and up to date, freshly painted and very nice.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Madison Wis

Posted Feb 5, 2017
Always a genuine experience with no pomp or fluff. Great staff and grounds! I wish the main restaurant was cheaper and they get a bigger pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 30, 2017
I had a beach front room, it was spectacular! I was in Maui to spearfish and this was a great place to be. central to all places I was going to be traveling. I would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to Maui
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from BC

Outdated and overpriced.

Posted Jan 29, 2017
We moved rooms 3 x within the first 24 hours of checking into the hotel. Hotel needs a major overhaul. Cleanliness is lacking. No amenities other than the pool. Very disappointing for what the hotel is charging per night. The only positive is the location of the hotel. Late check out not even an option as per manager's direction despite being advised earlier in our stay that we could check out at 1pm as opposed to 11am.