Ratings based on 789 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.3 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from az

Posted Jan 26, 2016
I stayed in a cottage on the property of the royal lahania, it was recently remodeled and very nice. It is right on the beach and there is shops and restaurants (think mall) about a mile away. Black rock , a great place to snorkel is about 1/4 mile away . The only complaint is that the CHARGE $10 a day to park on the grounds! This is total BS!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 22, 2016
We arrived early and the front desk was able to put us in a room fairly quickly. The room needed an update badly. The rugs were stained and worn. Wifi although supposed to be available wouldn't connect. The grounds were really nice and well kept. The restaurant food was decent quality and reasonably priced. We would not stay here or recommend until some reno's were completed. The staff were awesome.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indy

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Great cottage style room just a few fwet from the ocean. Very pleasant
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Run down and shabby

Posted Jan 15, 2016
Room is in terrible condition, rotting ceiling and shower, broken refrigerator etc. Luau every night outside room, so noisy. View was good.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great View but Rundown Room

Posted Jan 15, 2016
It's a fifty year old hotel; no elevator. The room was clean but the hot water knob didn't work properly. I was afraid of getting scalded. The shower box was tiny. I'm five foot seven, 130 lbs and it felt small. But we had a direct view of the beach, which was fifty feet away.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beachfront

Posted Jan 6, 2016
Pros: Beachfront
Cons: Housekeeping service.
Housekeeping was disappointing. They just failed to show up one day. Request to replace a lightbulb on day one was never fulfilled.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from LA

Posted Dec 24, 2015
My mom and I got a room with ocean view and balcony on the third floor and it was a great experience.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Moscow, ID

Didn't sleep well

Posted Dec 15, 2015
Pros: Good location and the staff was friendly.
Cons: Better insulation between rooms.
Location: Scuba diving.
This hotel is one of the more affordable resorts and is ok. However, the walls are paper thin. The first two nights we were next to a family that had two kids. The dad was yelling at his kids until midnight. We could hear everything. It felt like we were in the same room with them. I complained to the hotel staff after two nights and they moved us to a cottage. It was definitely an upgrade in room quality, but there was a family with a baby next door to us and it was the exact same experience that we had in the other room. The baby was crying off and on through the night and the parents tried to console it. We could hear everything perfectly. If you are looking for a restful vacation, I don't recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from CA

Upgraded to Royal Lahaina Resort Cottage!

Posted Dec 3, 2015
We are so glad that the hotel staff upgraded us from Kaanapali Ocean Inn to Royal Lahaina. However, the cottage we stayed in needed a renovation so badly! It looks okay from the outside, but the inside are falling apart. Mirror sliding doors are very hard to open, and one of them is about to fall off (dangerous). The carpet has a long rip in the middle of our bedroom. The outside furniture are too low in quality and rost everywhere. No bathtub, but an old moldy and shower, with broken fixtures and a few broken tiles. I am so glad I did not pay for the price of Royal Lahaina Resort's cottage, because it really need a renovation to match the price and quality!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from CA

Not good

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
We stayed here for one night after a week at the Westin villas, because we couldn't fly out immediately after our stay there. So, we booked one night here, as it was close and got a good price on Expedia. I guess you get what you pay for. While the location is spectacular (probably the best stretch of Kaanapali Beach) this hotel is not in keeping with its surroundings. It may have been a good hotel in its day, but it isn't now. The room was smelly, bed uncomfortable and very noisy. To top it off, there were small roaches in the bathroom. Perhaps we were spoiled after our week at the Westin, but still I do not expect to see roaches, or hear everything from two rooms over.