Ratings based on 736 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.4 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis

Bad reviews had me worried

Posted Aug 19, 2015
I don't usually write reviews but in this case I felt the need to. I was extremely worried about my hotel choice after more and more bad reviews were posted but all I can say is that the people that posted the reviews must have had really crappy days when they wrote them. We stayed 8 days, our room was on the garden side. Never once heard the luau or the people in the adjoining rooms. Yes we did have to pay for parking but it was minimal. Parking was never an issue, always had a spot close to the hotel. Took the trolley to whalers village to do some shopping and have dinner which I would suggest just to save time on parking and the charge. Also took the trolley (which is free) to the Sheraton to do some snorkeling which I would highly recommend. The maid service was perfect and I might add per a previous review - there were no hairs on our towels. This is not the Hyatt regency but what it is, is a nice hotel feet from the beach. Air conditioning was not an issue and it ran 90-95 the whole time we were there. Slept comfortably every single night after we enjoyed the sunsets. I will most definitely stay at this hotel again when I return!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Older building

Posted Aug 19, 2015
Price is okay, but it's an older building that is showing it's age.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Don"t stay there !!!!!

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The location was very nice, just as expected. We were able to watch a lauau from the balcony of our room.
Cons: A complete structural and mechanical is needed. upgrade is needed.
Location: The location has plenty of restaurants, shops, and tourist activities.
Don't let the beautiful location and surrounding area fool you. This hotel is way past its lifespan. It is in dire need of an upgrade. It appears that the bottom floor of this three story hotel has been closed off and is an eye sore. It has no elevators. When we returned to our room after an all day tour we found part of the bathroom ceiling on the floor with water dripping from the opening in the ceiling. A maintenance man was send immediately an repaired the ceiling. The air conditioner controls dd not work properly.. Half of the drawers in bathroom would not open. Sliding wooden doors were noisy and sticking. Could not open refrigerator door all the way because it was only a few inches from the bed. Plumbing fixtures were very hard to operate and not clean. On our second full day of our stay when we returned to our room again the bathroom ceiling and water was laying on the floor. What a fiasco !!! When we checked out the next day I complained and noted that the room was substandard at any priced anywhere and asked if i could be compensated in any way. The desk clerk informed me that because it was booked thru expedia they could not do anything about it.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Simple room in great location at a great price.

Posted Jul 21, 2015
Pros: We enjoyed the beach and the restaurant on the beach. The room was quiet even though the luau is held every night at this location.
Cons: The luau can affect how close one's parking space is to the Inn. I wonder if some spaces could be designated for hotel guests.
Location: There is great snorkeling nearby. A car is required for most of the sites.
We ate two evening meals at the restaurant. The food was good, but the menu is limited. I am gluten free, and some items on the menu were marked gluten free. However, when I inquired about the oatmeal which was marked gluten free and whether the oats were gluten free, I was told they were not. The nightly entertainment added to the ambiance. We used the trolley which connects the Inn to other hotels, shopping facilities, and restaurants. It was very convenient and free of charge. We enjoyed swimming on the beach and visiting nearby snorkeling sites. We also attended a slack key guitar event at a nearby hotel. We have stayed here before and really like the location.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to the beach, great view on ocean side.

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: the view
Cons: update the facility
Location: location is great, but evening traffic from south to north is slow, so time your trips accordingly
Rooms are outdated, mold in bathrooms. Bed was really comfortable and view was amazing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right at the beach, loved it!

Posted Jun 27, 2015
First of all, it's really hard to find this hotel. It's located at the royal Lahaina resort which is beautiful, next to the Luau sign. I don't know why some of the reviews are bad because we loved it here! It felt like paradise. Its located at the best beach in Maui! The water is clear and blue. It's so calm and relaxing, it was not crowded and it's perfect for couples since there was no kids running around. Only couples and everyone was friendly. The hotel room we got had the Ocean View. It is an old hotel but who cares! People are so picky it's not like your going to be in the hotel the whole time! Everything is walking distance here. The beach, the Luau, the shops and restaurants, there's even free hula shows near by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jun 26, 2015
Pros: Location, pool hours, beach!
Cons: Update the rooms, food and beverage service at the pool!
Location: Swim, snorkel
Good place to stay on maui close to many beaches. Rooms are average but didn't spend time in them. Internet in room was non existent. Exercise classes were very good. Food was average.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2015
It's directly at one of the most beautiful beaches of maui. The hotel itself is really old and need to be renovated! In our bathroom the ceiling felt down. We got a new room, so the reaction to the problem was really good and fast, but they should urgently renovate!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

MAUI hotel

Posted Jun 21, 2015
Pros: It was what you would want for a comfortable hotel without any hassles.
Cons: Everything was good.
Location: Close to everything. Maui isn't that big.
Good location, good hotel. Would stay there again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SLC, UT

Not great

Posted Jun 20, 2015
Pros: by the beach
Cons: less bugs in rooms
This is the third time I'm entering my experience. The only thing that could have gotten it rejected is me naming a particular bug we found too many of in the room, and several over an inch big...