Ratings based on 647 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

nice property , good view ,

Posted Feb 24, 2017
Pros: The location is great. It is very clean and taken great care of. Gardening is spotless. View is great.
Cons: key pad locks , new cods, failing system Once the whole system failed and they needed to put in a service call Pool area more shade
Location: Interesting area. Trips to the north on the island, Hiking, swimming (good beaches Napili, Kapalua) all walking distance. Great Restaurants , Ritz
Overall we had a pleasant experience. However there is room for improvement. The unit we stayed had paper like window covers with made a lot of noise if you wanted to sleep with an open door. The windows are poor quality, This is a windy location and experiencing several storms while we stay there its hard to sleep. The problems with the key pad (entering the unit) where plenty. Either the code didn't work or it had been changed. Once we cam from a day hiking from the vulcano did our shopping and came tired and with plenty of groceries back only to find out that we were locked out of our unit. Calling the front desk we were asked to get in tough with our booking agent !!! After I ASAP drove to the front desk , demanding to talk to the manager, things were taken car at once. Otherwise the service is great. After a storm , city windows, no problem. they will be cleaned the same day. Call for supplies and they will be there in the hour at your door. Very disappointing was that when we booked through expedia we were told we could use the SPA at the Montage. After requesting this service, we were told it was taken away. So overtime you use the SPA its 55 $ US ALOHA Als was taken away the shuttle to the Aboretum. We are hikers and were locking forward to do the hike up there. NOP, we don't do this anymore (but it is still advertised in there services !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Beautiful and quiet location

Posted Feb 20, 2017
Lots of space for 4. Very quiet area and <10 min walk to the ocean. The roads are a bit tricky the first time at night in the rain. Unit numbering a bit tricky too, so ask for an explanation. Only down side: small stock of coffee provided so you'll have to shop for the specific filters to make your own.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 15, 2017
Great experience. Hotel staff were friendly to let us check in first although the hotel never received our reservation due to a miscommunication between Expedia and the hotel. The view was awesome, rooms were spacious and nicely furnished. Also thanks to the nice Honolua store on the property, we were able to pick up lots of necessities.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from OC, CA

Nice and peaceful. Great view of the ocean.

Posted Dec 18, 2016
I a peaceful place. It's not for you if you like the resort lifestyle.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Nice view but some upgrades needed

Posted Dec 1, 2016
We stayed at a gold ocean view room, so the view was amazing. The interia needs some upgrade, including the appliances, furnitures, and others. After we called the customer service, they made some adjustment to our room rates as the room is not gold standard, which is good. We also found three wombs when we stayed, so definitely need some spray before the guest check in. Overall, nice villas but need some upgrades.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Ontario

Gold Oceanfront has great views of the ocean/beach

Posted Nov 28, 2016
Pros: Size of unit, cleanliness and views.
Cons: Gold units were refurbished several years ago now and some of the hard and soft furnishings could use an update.
Location: Good location for beaches (especially Kapalua Bay which is great for snorkelling) and the (on resort) Honolua Store is good for provisions and meals.
Had a wonderful experience at the Bay Villas. Oceanfront Gold units are well stocked and comfortable with stunning views.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beaches and wind

Posted Nov 23, 2016 on Hotels
Best vacation ever. The hotel room was amazing. Only down side is that we where higher up and the wind is insane. We had to close windows at night. But it was not cold and only by the villas. We when you go to the beach it disappears. Absolutely enjoyed this place still. Will do it again and I am going back next year to the same place. Phenomenal!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Plainfield, IL

Nice but.............

Posted Nov 23, 2016
Pros: The grounds, restaurants, and area were great.
Cons: Unit cleanliness
Location: We enjoyed Maui's great beaches and also did the road to Hana one day and on another did the sunrise/bike down Haleakala tour.
This was our first visit to Maui and our son recommended Kapalua Villas based on his stay several years ago for his honeymoon. The villas, views, and grounds were beautiful. We arrived in the evening and upon entering our villa my husband entered the kitchen area and immediately sent me to check out the bedroom. What he didn't tell me was that when he turned on the light he noticed movement on the countertop. He never told me what he saw but I suspected they were roaches which he confirmed to me the day we checked out as he did not want me to be freaked out all week. He'd get up every day before me to make coffee but really to make sure the kitchen was OK for me to enter. He confirmed that he killed several every day without me knowing. We did let the staff know when we checked out that the unit needed to be sprayed and there were dead ones to clean up by several windows that had expired on their own. Therefore I cannot give the glowing review I had hoped to give.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Beautiful area and great service but the room cleanliness really needs to be worked on. The amount of roaches in the kitchen and bathroom were unacceptable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

The best place in Kapalua

Posted Oct 29, 2016 on Hotels
It was a wonderful experience and very relaxing atmosphere. One problem was as you walked in through the front door smell odor of cigarette smoke even though non-smoking room. A second issue was the musty or mildew of the sofa in living room. Hawaii is very humid and very difficult to keep area very dry and moist free. Furniture needs to be comfortable but does not absorb moisture.