Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Cockroaches and many things don't work

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Beautiful room, great view of ocean
Cons: Get rid of the roaches and repair the stuff that doesn't work. Staff have perfected their blank stare, "I'm sorry but I don't know" response.
Location: Lots of things to do nearby and an excellent snorkeling site within walking distance
Don't get me wrong. The room is beautiful, as is the view. But when we arrived there was another Expedia customer at the front desk complaining about his view and the cockroaches. I'm not an overly critical person. I own a restaurant and am very aware how some customers like to complain about grains of sand. This is not the case here. The whirlpool tub didn't work. The Wi-Fi didn't work (Staff were never able to fix this. We finally got online by hacking into the Wi-Fi for another room). Components of the shower did not work. When I asked about the tub I was told that none of them worked. I said, "That would have been good info when I checked in." No response. I said, "I don't think I should have to pay full price for a room in which so many things that do not work." I was told that the owner owned ten condos as investments and that the Villa staff couldn't fix the things that were wrong in his rooms and that only he could reduce the price. I asked for his number but lives in Korea and the staff were unwilling to allow me to talk to him. The video system is very complicated and you have to hit the buttons numerous times to get it to work. When I complained about the cockroaches I was told it is a tropical island and these things are to be expected. But I have traveled a lot in Hawaii and even stayed in old sugar plantation cottages and have NEVER experienced cockroaches to this extent. Beautiful place but needs work. $25 daily resort fee and $160 cleaning fee
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Jan 24, 2016
I called the 800 number a week ahead to make sure my parents condo was close to ours. They said the would make note of it. The property management said they had no note of that and could not accommodate our request. My parents condo was not within walking distance which displeased us very much. We like to share meals and spend family time. We did not find the staff to put out any effort in trying to help us with our situation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

A couple of issues , otherwise perfect

Posted Dec 23, 2015
I love the location. I can deal with the windy conditions. But one of the bathrooms had lots of ants and beach sand, the dryer did not work well and the extra blanket was dirty . Leave these aside , the place is beautiful
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Kapalua Villas Front Desk , Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. However we are very sorry to learn of the housekeeping issues in your Villa! We do hope to see you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice with Beautiful Setting

Posted Nov 7, 2015
Pros: Great resort!
Cons: Fix the toilet so it flushes right the first time.
The Bay Villas were nice and spaceous! All loacated on a great resort, but all the facilities are on different tabs. Be prepared to pull out your credit card at the different parts of the resort, as they don't all have the same controller. If you really want some excellant local food, right next to the resort is Napoli Plaza, where Mama's Rotisseire Chicken and Ribs is located. This is relatively inexpensive and trully great food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Abhishek

Golf Villas!!

Posted Oct 29, 2015 on Hotels
Beautiful view and great place. I will definitely stay here again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 25, 2015
The villa was beautiful but the bed was very uncomfortable as were the pillows!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. I am sorry, however that the bed was uncomfortable for you. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Julio from Goiania

Quartos excelentes. Serviço nem tanto

Posted Oct 21, 2015 on Hotels
Hotel muito bom mas os serviços são ruins. Não tem academia e serviço de praia, por exemplo
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 1, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha We certainly understand your disappointment regarding the loss of guest access to Spa Montage. Like other changes Kapalua has undergone this is the result of ownership and management change as well as directives from senior leadership. This change officially took place on September 1, 2014 and notices went out to all existing reservations on June 1, 2014. I apologize if you did not receive this notification. We greatly appreciate your ongoing passion for Kapalua and I can assure you that in spite of all the transition that has taken place, the destination remains one of the loveliest on earth. Mahalo
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Look elsewhere

Posted Oct 7, 2015
Pros: The concierge John, the restaurant at the Plantation course, great food, and the ABC general store.
Cons: We stay in a unit that was in need of some upgrading.
Location: Was out of the way, but had access to snorkeling (quite a hike) and golf (pricey) and several assorted types of eating establishments.
Room was unbielvably hot. Toilet didn't work half the time. Had to call maintinence. Don't get me started on the shin bashing foot high bed!!! Out of the way, not close to much. Requested late check out at the desk and was told there would be a note so we could stay until 1pm. Then we were called at 10:45am and told we had 15 minutes to get out! Royally teed off as was the guy checking out next to us who had the same problem.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review. We are sorry that your stay was not up to your expectations; we do hope that you do stay with us again in the future Mahalo
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ocean view was spectacular!

Posted Sep 23, 2015
Facilities and grounds all maintained very well. We had a lovely stay. Plan to go again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

マウイで休日

Posted Sep 22, 2015 on Hotels
施設内は快適でゆっくりくつろげました。
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 30, 2015 by Dale, Hotel Management
Aloha Thank you for your review and staying with us at the Kapalua Villas. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your vacation here in paradise. We look forward to hosting you again here on Maui in the future! Mahalo