Ratings based on 5 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5.0 out of 5
100% of guests recommend
5.0 Room cleanliness
5.0 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Newbury Park, United States of America

Very nice Boutique Hotel

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Pros: Peaceful, quiet, pretty grounds, nice staff, hot breakfast.
Cons: Old air conditioning wall units need upgrading. Iv'e been to Motel 6 with quieter units. The above ground spa needs better maintenance. Dirty water.
This is a very nice Boutique Hotel right in the middle of Kihei. You're only 10 to 15 minutes from the airport which is convenient. Close to lots of places to shop and eat. The Hotel used to cater to LGBTQ, but now is mixed as the ownership has changed. There is an intimate feel about this hotel as it is not very large. The grounds are lovely, and the staff are most helpful. There is a hot breakfast served every morning. No extra charges for parking and WIFI which was nice. Oh, and they have grab and go food available for purchase in the lobby. Pricing is a little on the high side in my opinion for the quality of room you are getting. We had a standard room (315) which was ok. The air conditioning was a rather small loud old wall unit. I saw that the other buildings on the grounds had upgraded air conditioning units, so maybe they will all be changed out over time. You can probably get more room on the island for your money, but you will lose the intimate feel and quiet atmosphere. The adults only policy makes the hotel a most peaceful and quiet place to relax. Don't park your car under any trees. The birds will paint your rental car white with conviction.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2016 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha Mark, Thank you very much for the review. You are correct that the AC in your building is old style window units. We are working on a plan to upgrade them to more modern units as we undertake a remodel of those rooms as well. We hope to make all the showers larger, smooth the walls with plaster and change out window coverings and all the furniture. That will take some time and likely happen after high season in the spring of next year. We also are working plans to replace the hot tub with a larger commercial type in ground type that will accommodate more people and have a better filtration system. Hope to see you again soon at Kohea Kai. Mahalo for staying with us, Michael
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Kohea Kai 4 Eva

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Pros: Staff, accommodations, space, hot tub, pool.
Cons: Only heaven can top this folks.
Location: Don't get caught without dinner! Places close around 8-9pm. Sushi saves and was blocks away, open till 10pm.
If you need convincing you're obviously ready for a vacation because Kehea Kai was one of the best experiences I've ever had. Absolutely rich with Hawaiian spirit, the staff was generous and only wanted to make us happy. Go go go!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha Jayson, Mahalo for your kind words. We really are happy you had a good time during your Maui getaway. We look forward to your return sometime soon, Warmest Aloha and Mahalo, Michael
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Temecula, CA

Aloha!

Posted Nov 15, 2016
Pros: Everything!
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Everything but rental car is a must!
Room was adorable, staff amazing, rooftop deck with magnificent views of sunset, our own private lanai and the hotel accommodated our every need from sunscreen to snorkeling gear! We were directed to Local hangouts and had a blast. Situated across from the beach and in driving distance to fabulous private coves and the Lava beaches. This resort was beautiful, cozy and the people we met feel like family! No resort fees and so reasonably priced for a true gem of a property! Can't wait to return!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha Teri, We are so excited you enjoyed our stay with us. Sounds like you made the rounds of the beautiful island of Maui. Our location is one of the many things that makes Kohea Kai so wonderful. It is easy driving distance to most all destinations island wide. Warmest Aloha. We hope to see you again soon on Maui., Mahalo, Michael
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV US

Excellent! Very comfortable stay!

Posted Nov 8, 2016
Pros: Very comfortable bed! I'm not a memory foam bed fan, & fortunately, this resort has not gone that route. The bed was the perfect combination of softness w/ firm support. The breakfast was substantial w/ eggs, bacon, sausage & fruit, & excellent coffee. they have snorkel equipment available for use & beach chairs, as well as the beach towels they provided. The staff was excellent & went above & beyond!! The hotel has snacks available 24 hrs/day. The refrigerator in the room was very useful.
Cons: can't come up w/ anything This ridiculous review software will not let me submit this review w/o typing more stuff in this field!!! I have no complaints about this resort property...
Location: The beach is across the street. Great restaurants nearby.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha Douglas, Mahalo for your kind words. We work hard to make sure we provide our guest with all they need. Our beds are all Sealy Posture-pedic pillow top Cal King beds. They are really comfortable. Things to follow in the coming year will be a redo of most all our bathrooms with hopes we can make the showers larger in most rooms. Hope to see you again on maui very soon. Warmest Aloha, Michael
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place and amazing staff

Posted Nov 7, 2016
Location: The location was great and not too far away from the activities in Lahiana. This resort was located near malls, grocery stores, beaches, snorkeling.
This resort has a wonderful staff. They are very friendly and are always there to answer questions, tell you the best places to visit no matter what your interests are. I really enjoyed the privacy that this resort provided. Since it was my first stay on Maui, I would book this resort again if I return. The continental breakfast was great and saved guests from having to cook their own breakfast and they could just go eat and then start their day.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 20, 2016 by Michael, Hotel Management
Aloha Robin, Our new morning breakfast service is a big hit for our guests. So glad you enjoyed it during your stay. Our location is one of the keys to helping people get around the island more quickly. Stay tuned for new changes coming over the next year. We look forward to your return. Warmest Aloha and Mahalo, Michael