Ratings based on 1,693 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 29, 2016
Beautiful hotel in a beautiful beach with amazing sunsets. Snorkeling from shore you can see turtles and even baby mantas. Perfect for the whole family.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great place, great beach, too bad closing.

Posted Jun 28, 2016
Great place, friendly people. Last month of being open to public. Selling as overpriced condos for the rich. If you want a great condo in Maui and have lots of money, check it out.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

We loved Makena Beach and Golf Resort

Posted Jun 27, 2016
Pros: Everything.
My family and I stayed at Makena Beach and Golf Resort from June 14th through June 21st and absolutely loved it there. Unfortunately we found out during our stay that they are closing at the end of June so that expensive condo's can be built. This is a real shame because we definitely would have made Makena Resort our go to resort when we return. My heart goes out to all the staff who are losing their jobs as they were all awesome and did a fabulous job while we were there, so I would like to extend a huge mahalo to all the staff.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort right in turtle beach.

Posted Jun 23, 2016
We are so sad that they're closing. The staff are always pleasant to deal with. This resort has complimentry valet and lots of access to facilities on the beach.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Loved staying at this hotel! The staff where amazing and super friendly especially Gail and Andy they both made our stay much more enjoyable!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Great beach, fantastic staff!

Posted Jun 19, 2016
Wonderful stay as always! We will miss this place. Special thanks the Jay, Lucky, Evelyn, Ron, and John.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Expectations not met

Posted Jun 18, 2016
Pros: The coffee shop with cute Starbucks coffee and treats most of the day the Valet staff was friendly
There was a lot of confusion when we checked into our hotel my sister and her two daughters were in one room, I was traveling by myself but we want to stay in close proximity to each other for whatever reason that was not possible based on our room classification even though the hotel had plenty of rooms available because of our room classifications they could not put us close to each other. When we arrived we were told by several staff members that the hotel was converting into condominiums in the next two weeks so we had some staff members who hat short-timer's attitude, some had AI don't care attitude and some were very pleasant. For what we paid it wasn't worth the money and I can't recommend because the hotel is converting into Condominiums in July
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Salt Lake City

Third time at this Resort

Posted Jun 16, 2016
This is a four star resort in every aspect. We've always loved coming to Makena and we absolutely Hate to see it close.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2016
Top notch service - friendly, accommodating, makes you feel part of family. Very sad to hear hotel is being converted to condominium.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Quiet, secluded, right on the beach

Posted Jun 13, 2016
We enjoyed our stay at Makena Beach and Resort. The staff were nice, helpful and they seem to enjoy what they were doing. We enjoyed the free cabanas, free parking and the other amenities.