Ratings based on 1,592 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Hawaii

Nice Hotel

Posted Feb 13, 2016
The Makena Beach and Golf Resort is a nice hotel to sneak away and get some peace and quiet. The landscape is amazing but what makes this hotel is the staff. The staff are the nicest people who are efficient, friendly, courteous and knowledgeable about their hotel. Thank you Makena staff!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Super stay

Posted Feb 8, 2016
Cons: Have a more reasonably priced dinner buffet.
We had a very good rate for this hotel so it was the only way we could stay in Wailea. The location is so much quieter than Kihei. We had the buffet breakfast included. It was good value with everything I could think of. The porridge was A+ and I had it with toasted coconut . Everyone in the hotel was friendly and courteous. The dinner menu was so expensive and even worse with Canadian dollar. The chef had created excellent flavours but the portions were small like any other fine dining Given lunch was just coffee we were starving . We went into Kihei most nights and found a Mexian restaurant with huge portions . A second restaurant had great food and reasonable cost; it was packed every night (both restaurants across from Kameolei 2 beach. Will return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great staff, great location.

Posted Feb 2, 2016
Cons: HOT TUB!! needs to be improved big time!!
Loved this hotel. Staff was great, free valet was great. The pool was more for soaking then swimming and the hot tub was an out of date beach comber. But... don't let the pool keep you out of this hotel. It was quiet and friendly, location was great and the Kai Kanani sailing charters (which is a must do) leave from the PERFECT BEACH. I would stay here again:) We also checked in very late and had not had anything to eat, the staff opened up the store for us. We were extremely happy about that!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

Nice hotel with great amenities

Posted Feb 2, 2016
The staff was awesome. Extremely friendly and welcoming. Service was outstanding. I appreciated the guidance at the concierge to select the best trips and activities to book.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Tranquil Resort in south Maui

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: often has very good prices considering the prices you might pay in Maui. Don't kid yourself, a full service resort is much nicer than renting.
Cons: the reception doesn't really know much about the activities on the resort. I know this is mainly a concierge thing, but the concierge is often busy
Location: hotel has extensively ocean equipment rentals, competitively priced. pool, bike, yoga, just go for a drive. Do it all you are in Maui!!!
Wonderful Resort that has lots of complimentary activities that you should not skip, such as free rental bikes (make sure to ask for some water and a lock). They also have beachside yoga and temporary tattoos. I appreciate the effort in providing these activities, in case you're lounging around the resort and not sure what to do.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, BC

A week in heaven

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Everything about this place is superb. We were upgraded to a king room with a view at no charge. The rooms were spacious and elegant. The location is on one of the best beaches in Maui. The staff are friendly and helpful and always in a good mood. The restaurants are efficient and meals were superb. I would definitely return here. If you are looking for a five star experience at a 3 star price spend some time here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Nice location, near great beaches

Posted Jan 27, 2016
Hotel is older and in need of some updates to rooms, but proximity to nice beach with snorkelling without leaving hotel is great. Staff very accommodating and rentals easy to set up. Also near Big Beach. Surroundings are high end resorts so everything is picturesque and well groomed. If you are looking to explore Maui from here, expect quite a bit of time in the car. Would stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Posted Jan 27, 2016
First room had a strong musty odor and the internet was not working. It took a few days for the hotel to correct the problems. We were willing to stay in the same room leaving the lanai doors open all night if the internet was fixed. We had to finally change rooms because after 3 people checking the internet connection it still wouldn't work. The second room was cleaner and had a working internet connection.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Alberta

Quiet on the beach

Posted Jan 21, 2016
Pros: Using bikes , mini golf, shuffleboard, beach ,all right there and concierge desk to help with any directions or bookings for off property activities
Cons: Meal costs quite high. Only 1 area open aft 5:30. It was full on Friday so we had to leave the property for supper in Kihie.
Location: Quiet resort away from town or other hotels. Lots of beaches close. Bike , walking/jogging trails nearby. Golf course close. Free daily activities.
The resort has all the amenities you need and lots of complimentary activities as well. No resort fee with free parking and Wi-Fi as well is nice. On the beach and ocean view away from busy areas of Maui yet they provide shuttle to shops in Wailea if you have no car. Grounds and property are perfectly maintained.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Small pool but nice beach

Posted Jan 20, 2016
Not as worn as some reviews nice beach. Nice building.