Ratings based on 1,263 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Upland, CA

Open air hotel.

Posted Aug 29, 2015
The Resort provided many ammenities for us as guest. To name a few: there was a gym,laundry room, post office service, gift shop, late check out, and complimentary room for showering after late check out. One part of my stay that I really enjoyed was the breakfast buffet due to its many options and nice view. I didn't enjoy the small mosquitos that can get into the room through the lanai but they warn you about that since it is a typical island, plus there is a screen door and sliding glass for leading to the lanai. Overall it's a nice resort due to it's nice landscaping, views of the ocean and Haleakala Mt., the nice beach which was never crowded and it's quiet location being away from all the other resorts. I recommend staying here. And just as side note, this resort it's not closing down, contrary to other reports but will be undergoing renovations sometime after 2017.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from SF

Hotel falling apart

Posted Aug 28, 2015
Pros: no resort fee, location, free parking
Cons: has to be renewed asap
The hotel is 35 years old and never got a serious upgrade in years. - WIFI NEVER WORKED FOR THE 4 DAYS WE WERE STAYING - EVERYTHING IS SUPER OLD (one restaurant closed, the other one is old and sad) - MAIN ACUZZI IS A HOME-DEPOT MODEL FOR 6 PPL. Too bad, because the location is nice and the staff is very friendly. Unfrotunately the owner seems to be cheap on everything. Even the gas lamp they turn on, only half of those to save on costs. Given the bad connections, price is too expensive: It should have been ok for $199/night. Not more.
Comment from EPC
Sep 3, 2015 by Makena Resort, EPC
Aloha. The resort was built in 1986, making the property 29 years old and we did a refurbishment in 2012. We are sorry to hear that our resort was not a good fit for you. We are also sorry to hear about your issues with our wifi, unfortunately our service provider was experiencing several issues throughout your stay, which we have worked to resolved. We thank you for taking the time to review our resort.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A

Great Hotel, Great Service, Clean

Posted Aug 27, 2015
Staff is very friendly, they do an awesome job with room cleanliness, very hospitable.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from from NY

Just wonderful !!!

Posted Aug 26, 2015
So pleasant to be there and very quiet! Beach very close ! We took Breakfasts - yammy! Staff just wonderful !! Really recommended !
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The hotel is in a great location

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Pros: Location and staff!
Cons: It would be great if the owners decided to keep this as a resort and provide the needed upgrades for the future enjoyment of the property.
Location: Snorkeling, swimming, and sunning right on the location area beaches are key. There is a high end shopping center nearby.
We enjoyed 9 days at this resort. The staff were amazing and accommodating. The location is in a quiet and lovely part of Maui. The beaches are great for snorkeling right on the resort. Just south is a good boogie board and huge, sandy beach. The hotel is pretty. However, the facilities are becoming worned, and it sounds like the resort will transition to condominiums in the next year and a half. So, enjoy it while it is still there.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from palermo

Vacanza da sogno

Posted Aug 23, 2015
Eccellente in una natura eccellente . Complesso immerso in una natura curatissima ed eclatante , piante di coloratissime pomelie gigantesche
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location!

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Great location, staff, facilities, breakfast... Sea turtles on the Hotel beach !!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted Aug 22, 2015
Great place. The staff is so nice and helpful. The beach is amazing! The grounds are beautiful. Pool area is ok but we knew that going there and the beach is the reason we went to Hawaii. Would absolutely reccomend if you're looking for a laid back, relaxing place on the beach but away from other large hotels.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WA

Posted Aug 21, 2015
It was very comfortable staying here. The services and activities were very good!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from oakland, ca

Posted Aug 18, 2015
Pros: Free parking
Cons: having wi-fi
Location: luau at the grand wailea & the marriotts. Drinks at the four seasons & the fair,not. Dinner at spago
Great hotel with very accommodating & helpful staff! If you're looking to be somewhere secluded, this is the place to stay. The hotel has its own beach. Also, if you're there on a Sunday and want to have Sunday brunch there, make a reservation. We tried but heard they have the best brunch on the island & fill up quickly.