Ratings based on 3,821 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles, CA

BEST hotel by the beach for the price! BEST Staff!

Posted Feb 17, 2017
Pros: The Concierge, the rental car lady for the hotel, the staff was so NICE and friendly. You get what you pay for and beyond staying here.
Cons: The rooms could be a bit more updated. Unfortunately, it rained two days we were there and it got cold and they do not have working heaters.
Location: Looked across from the beach and close enough to get to the airport and all touring activities. We snorkeled, biked, hiked and went whale watching.
Maui Coast Hotel gets 4.4/5 stars on this website not because it is the newest state of the art modern luxury hotel but because the staff and knowledge of this hotel is IMPECCABLE. The hospitality of Maui Coast staff, concierge and the car rental lady were BEYOND helpful. They were very friendly and knew how to treat their guest. We were able to bike around Maui due to the hotels free bikes for guest, they had a orientation to help you navigate Maui and at YOUR cost and they had a free shuttle that would help you get to and from local areas on the island. I could have not asked for a better stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect location, clean hotel, friendly staff

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Location to the road/beaches and neighboring eateries
Cons: Each room could use a dehumidifier to avoid that musty, humid smell lingering on the couch/furniture.
Location: Beaches are across the street. Check out the local eateries and surfers at Cove Beach.
This hotel is located across the street from the beach, lots of local eateries, and near a major road, the Piilani Hwy. The hotel staff are friendly and helpful. We got a 3rd floor balcony room w/a view of the parking lot. I would recommend requesting a higher floor for better views if possible. The bathroom & supplied toiletries from BeeKind, smelled great & did not seem to dry out my usually sensitive skin. Bed sheets & room were clean, each has a fridge & microwave. Although the couch smelled very musty & always felt damp, regardless of the time of day. There is a pool w/2 hot tubs, but I'm not sure why you'd hang here when the ocean is across the street. A bar is attached to the pool area, note: you cannot bring your drinks back to your room. Should you forget anything, there is a gift shop on site (didn't use). A concierge service is available should you need help planning activities (didn't use). There is moisture in the room causing a humid smell. There is a $25/day mandatory resort fee, which covers the costs of bicycles, beach towels, umbrellas, emergency ponchos, wi-fi, parking, bottled water, daily local paper, and the shuttle that takes you relatively close to/from the hotel (although we did not utilize). This charge doesn't include continental breakfast or airport shuttle to/from. So I recommend using all those other amenities I've listed. Other than the humidity issue, we had a lovely stay and would consider returning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington State

Our stay was wonderful.

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Great location, staff, pool, eeverything.
The Maui Coast is in the perfect location. A very short walk to the beach, many restaurants, an ABC store that has everything you need or may have forgotten. The staff were extremely nice and helpful. Shame on me for not getting the gentleman who waited on us at the Ami Ami Bar and Grill..but I can tell you he was from the UK. We so enjoyed visiting him at breakfast on several mornings. Our room was great, had a wonderful view of the mountains to the left and the sun setting to the right. Will stay there again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia, PA

Surprising Excellent

Posted Feb 16, 2017
Pros: Staff, accommodations, facilities
While we only stayed for one night, the Maui Coast Hotel was surprising excellent. We has a few special requests, I.e. extended check out of 1 hour and help with the room thermostat, which were addressed promptly. We used room service for breakfast and it also arrived promptly while still warm. The room was small but modernly decorated and more than adequate with a microwave and bar refrigerator. The exercise room was well designed with extensive machines, weight areas and very clean. The liani was small but fine. Staff was responsive, courteous and friendly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice, quiet hotel with all the conveniences

Posted Feb 14, 2017
This is a pleasent hotel well suited for business travelers. The hotel is low-key and relaxed and comfortable, with shops, restaurants and awesome beaches all within walking distance. Probably not the best choice for large families, though.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Please think of us again when booking your next Maui vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oregon

Very close to beach & pool & restaurant

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Pros: Nice & close to beach. Nice restaurant on site.
Location: Beach, local shops down the street.
Very friendly & helpful staff at reception desk. So convenient to beaches and everything in Kihei.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. I'm glad that our staff was able to make your stay more enjoyable. Please think of us when booking your next Maui vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Great hotel next to beach

Posted Feb 13, 2017
Great hotel walkable to beach and places to eat. The hotel has bikes you can rent that part of the daily fee. Fridge and microwave available in our hotel room.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Please think of us when booking your next Maui vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable rates good location

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Pros: Had a pool
just spent 2 nights. basically were there to sleep
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Please think of us again when booking your next Maui vacation.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Edmonton

Hotel

Posted Feb 12, 2017
Good hotel lots of features we didn't really use that you do pay for with the resort fees. Everything else about the hotel was pretty good, no complaints.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Please think of us again when booking your next Maui vacation.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Feb 11, 2017
We booked this hotel having never been to Kihei before, and we totally lucked out on location. Really close to great beaches, and lots of good food within walking distance. It was great that they have bikes for free rentals, and we really enjoyed happy hour in the hot tub! Our room was great, the hotel staff was excellent. The concierge wasn't as helpful for the few questions we asked her as I would have hoped, but overall it was a great stay! I would highly recommend.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 14, 2017 by Front Office Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo for taking the time to review our property. Your feedback helps us improve on the service we provide our guests. Please think of us when booking your next Maui vacation.