Ratings based on 47 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.6 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice (dated) condo with great amenities.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Hotel was dated but that did not bother us one bit. The bed was comfortable and there is a pull out couch and additional twin bed in the unit to sleep up to 5 people. We were perfectly comfortable for the week and appreciated having a washer and dryer, fridge, fully equipped kitchen and microwave so we didn't have to eat out every day. It is on the north end of Kihei close to shopping and very easy to get in and out of town vs. being in the heart of Kihei where it tends to get busier. The sunsets here are great as well!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great place!

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Great place with a homie vibe. I would recommend this place to anyone, especially groups of 2 or more. The best part about it is that it is in the middle of Maui so you have close access to everything.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Condo looked great, wish we had stayed there.

Posted Oct 25, 2015
Cons: The management company should have been more accommodating in keeping us in our original booking. It was not an upgrade but a down grade.
Well Maui is beautiful but if you want lots to do besides the beach, go to a busier island, great for relaxing. I cannot comment on the Maui Sunset as we were unable to stay and we were moved to a different condo at last minute, our unit was flooded by the suite above. The condo we stayed in was sweet and very nice. We had a great view but if you crave people interaction, that was not at the Leinaala Condo in Kihei. This condo is great to get away from it all and relax. I did walk over and saw the garden and pool area at Maui Sunset and was very disappointed that we were not able to stay there. We had a small pool (no hot tub) yet the Maui had it all, large friendly pool, hot tub and tennis courts. Great garden court to sit and view plants or just talk to people.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Abbotsford BC Canada

Good value on the beach in Kihei.

Posted Jan 13, 2015
Landscaping and grounds are top notch. Our room was a bit dated, but had a nice bedroom, two bathrooms, kitchen, living room and great little deck with a vew of the gardens. The building looks like concrete and block construction, so the noise between rooms was minimal. Walking distance to most stores and beaches. Area seems safe.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Loved the convenient beach access and large pool

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Pros: Location, pool area was large and not crowded even with a bunch of people in it--had a nice view of the beach, long pool hours too. Quiet.
Cons: Maybe updated decor inside but it didn't really bother us.
Location: Location was perfect--could walk to shopping, easy to get to the highway to go into Kahului, it's really the ideal location.
We stay at a different place on Maui every year, this time we chose Maui Sunset for 2 reasons-- 1) it was on the ocean side 2) it had 2 bathrooms. The location was perfect, right near all our usual haunts. The condo itself was a bit dated inside but it wasn't a problem. The main bathroom was SUPER TINY, you couldn't get out of the shower without hitting the toilet with the door. The bathroom inside the bedroom was odd--the sink/vanity were near the bed and the shower/toilet were in their own 'bathroom'. Strange but honestly, it all worked out fine. A/C worked great, appliances were new, only tiny issue was when the power went out due to a blown circuit and I couldn't locate the circuit box because it was hiding behind a wall picture. But the front desk person was helpful and told us where it was. Always helpful having beach chairs in the closet for us to use. It was overall a pretty quiet complex, no complaints!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cliff & Lynda from Vancouver, BC

Room B202 needs radical Reno

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: The condo location & upkeep of the yard was very well done, couldn't ask for better
Cons: The fact that ownerships of condos varies so much & front desk is very unconcerned with complaints or requests
Location: Awesome
We looked so forward to Maui Sunset as we've stayed there before but this room B202 needs a radical update & Reno. The bed was not a King as requested but that was nothing compared to comfort!!!!! Horrible to say the least - mattress needs to be thrown out! Headboard needs to be attached to wall or bed frame. The larger closet would not close & the dresser was a disgrace, every time you opened it (if you could) it would fall out. The swivel chair was stained & gross, we put a blanket over it to sit on it. We have now looked at a few places & will know better where we want to stay in the complex, but this one is not on the list unless serious rents have been done. These things are not said after just a weekend or a short stay - this was a 3 week stay - we feel very cheated for what we paid.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lynn from B.C., Canada

Great location

Posted Dec 18, 2013
Pros: Great location... on the beach gave unlimited opportunity for beach walks. Common grounds: Beautiful, friendly area with activities
Cons: The first impression of the room was that it was grungy...needed a coat of paint, and main room carpet was badly in need of cleaning.
Location: Central, 3 swimable beaches - 5-10 minute drive. Grocery stores, restaurants, also nearby. Unlimited shore line for walking.
The hotel is conveniently situated on the beach... grounds receive excellent attention. The view of the sky and sunset are spectacular. The visitors and home owners are respectful and maintain the "Respect Others' Rights. Quiet Please" motto that is posted in the stairwells. At the same time, children and adults of all ages enjoy the pool, grounds with shuffle board and golf putting area and plenty of room for a kids' game of tag or turning cart wheels. The BBQ area is a great place for cooking a meal and meeting others. We have stayed at the Maui Sunset before and would like to return again some time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Marina, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your review. The Maui sunset is a great property with a lot of things to do like you have mentioned. The walking beach fronting the property, tennis courts and large lawn area are also great features. It sounds like you and your family had a great time while staying here and we hope that you return to Maui Sunset during your next Maui vacation. If you have any questions or need assistance planning your next Maui vacation please do not hesitate to contact us. Mahalo, Marina Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
2 out of 5
by Stasia from Surrey

Terrible room by beautiful beach

Posted Dec 12, 2013
Pros: hotel it self had everything
Cons: Renovate some apartments
Location: we explored all Maui
Nice close to the beach but room what we got should be renovated long time ago.Dhirty walls,old old bathrooms, kitchen and applaliances.Maui beautiful place to be but appm. where we lived I wont recommend to anybody.Sorry but is time to push the owner to renovate apartment, make a decent spot to be and make stay happy.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 19, 2014 by Marina, Hotel Management
Aloha and thank you for your feedback. I apologize that your stay was not satisfactory. All of your concerns will be investigated into. All of the units are individually owned so the decor of the interior will vary between the condos. We will pass your concerns on to the owner. We hope that you give another unit at the Maui Sunset a try on your next visit to Maui or maybe another one of our condo complexes on Maui. If you have any questions or would like assistance on picking the perfect condo for you please call our office and one of our reservations agents will help you find the perfect condo for your dream vacation on Maui. Mahalo, Marina Maui Condo and Home, LLC.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from D

Comfort and Clean

Posted Nov 2, 2013
Could use a little upgrade on stuff in the suite but other than that I don't have any complaints. It is a 3 star, priced right in a good location. Staff is friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel and close to beach!

Posted Aug 5, 2013
I love it here, though I'm a bit biased because I used to stay here as a kid (which means the facilities are kind of dated). Regardless, they grounds are immaculately kept, and the resort sits right on the beach. My first time back after 15 years and I was not disappointed.