Ratings based on 203 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 12, 2016
The rooms were very nice. The light switches were in weird places in every room. But other than that it was very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Property Close to Everything in Wailea

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Hot Tub was actually hot. Fresh beach towels provided. Friendly, family feel with staff and other guests. Spacious, clean, well stocked accommodation
Cons: There are many comments on the cold pool and maybe it could be warmed up a bit but honestly we all loved how refreshing it felt on a hot day.
Location: Location to a diverse # of beaches plus the shops of Wailea where my girls liked to spend time. Turtle Town is 5 minutes away. Kihei amenities close.
Just returned from an amazing 10 days in Maui where we stayed the whole time at the Palms Wailea Outrigger. I took my wife and two daughters as well as my 80 year old Dad so we had all the generations represented, ha ha! Upon our delayed midnight arrival we were happy to see that someone from the property stayed to greet us even though it was an hour past the closing time of the office. They could have easily just left a key with security for that night but it showed they cared about the personal touch. We had a small hiccup with the room unfortunately that first night but Matt, the Manager, quickly made up for it which really helped us enjoy our stay. We found our room to be very spacious and well kept and all the beds were quite comfortable especially in the Master. The kitchen was well stocked for us to cook our breakfasts and suppers as we ate most lunches off property. The BBQ ran almost everyone night and we could eat out on the large lanai space we which we all enjoyed. We stayed in Maui last year at the fancy Westin Kaanapali Villas but enjoyed our stay here at the Palms much better with its boutique feel and spacious rooms/kitchen. We didn't have to go buy boogie boards or beach chairs to leave behind like last year as they were in the room and Matt even tracked us down an umbrella for the beach upon my request. Every night guests gathered around the pool to watch the sunset over the ocean as the property is set up perfectly for this. Definitely will stay again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from edmonton ab

Beautiful grounds and condo. Great location & pool

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Pros: Beautiful house. Great layout, beautiful grounds, clean, very nice pool & hot tub
Cons: Somehow if the 2nd bedroom had an actual wall instead of the sliding doors with slats
Location: 15-20 min walk from beach, 20 min walk to shops at Wailea
The grounds are beautiful and the condo was really nice. You can tell everything was upgraded, from the granite countertops, new appliances down to the decor which was "Island" style. It was very spacious, (we brought a blowup queen mattress and it fit into the masterbedroom alongside the king bed already there.) The layout is wonderful with the lanai and the pop -open window so that you can pass food from the kitchen right onto the countertop outside. We came in January and never felt the need to turn on the airconditioning. My only complaint about the condo was that the 2nd bedroom (we had a 2 bed garden view) didn't have an actual wall, it was partitioned off with these sliding doors that had slats in them. That meant that although there was privacy, there was no noise-privacy between that 2nd bedroom and the living room & kitchen. So even though the living room had this comfy sofa bed, nobody could sleep there and had to cram inside the master bedroom, because the snoring from the 2nd bed could be heard crisp and clear! Staff is super friendly, pool is beautiful, you can tell the place is geared towards quieter and older crowd, but there were still other families with kids there. I'd say we saw 3-5 other families with kids as well. So it's not teeming with kids like some of the places on S Kihei road, but you won't feel bad bringing your kids there. The beach is about a 15-20 min walk, quieter nice beach for kids. Appreciated the chairs, umbrella,sand toys & boogie board!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Room 104 needs an update!

Posted Jan 25, 2016
My number one thing that should be right in any hotel room or rental are the beds. These are hard cheap beds in room 104. Not sure about the others as they are all individually owned. Paying an extra $20 a night for air conditioning is another sore spot. The room was clean, facility is clean and the staff are very friendly and helpful. Our rental needed an overall update. The living room couch and tv are the only updated amenities. The grill took over an hour to cook chicken so don't waste your time there. Looked like other rooms were more updated. Not sure how you can book a specific room though to avoid 104. The pool was clean and pool loungers are in good condition - but it's not heated.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sonoma

Pool Is Cold

Posted Jan 14, 2016
We got a good value for the money but we expected that we would be spending a lot of time at the pool and that didn't happen. There are a huge list of rules for the pool that make it non-child friendly and the temperature of the pool was so low my kids could only stay in for about 30 minutes before they were blue and shivering. The grounds are immaculate and the complex was pretty quiet. We had an issue with black fuzzy mold on the plug for the tub and when I asked for a replacement they said yes but it never came. My kids still take baths so this was a problem. Our room was huge and had a porch with big glass doors. The outside space was great. The room was very clean and had been recently updated (but had not completely shed the 80's-tacular feel of the hotel. The microwave was useless as it only heated one small spot and the rest of the item remained cold. The pull out bed was rather comfortable and the couch was huge and cozy. My understanding from the nanny we hired is that there is a rather drastic difference in the lay out of the units she had been in and the quality of the decor/furniture. our unit (2107) had a HUGE living space which was great to have for the kids. Overall - I would have given this hotel a better rating had the pool situation been better.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Palms at Wailea Maui by Outrigger, Hotel Management
Aloha Bernadette, thank you for posting your review. We will be sure to pass along your comments to the appropriate departments. We hope to welcome you back again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Altos, CA

good location for beach and shopping center

Posted Dec 30, 2015
Very nice staffs and excellent facilities, outstanding comfort. Full kitchen is a plus. Good location for beach and shopping center Definitely revisitable place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Palms at Wailea Maui by Outrigger, Hotel Management
I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Your pictures are beautiful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Spacious, Clean and Ridiculously Amazing View!

Posted Dec 11, 2015
Pros: Kitchen amenities, porch, size, cleanliness and helpful staff
Cons: Musty odor
Location: about a block away from the beach but a very large block. Cool shopping area and great eateries.
This is my second time staying at this facility and it still is an amazing place to kick back. There are certainly other options in the area but for the value, it is perfect. I had the garden view suite and an outstanding view it was. The suite was clean, comfortable and convenient. I truly do not have any major negative reviews. The only negative was that the room had a musty odor, probably due to the fact that the entire suite was not air conditioned (only the master suite had air). That was something i remedied with some air fresheners from the local grocery store.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Palms at Wailea Maui by Outrigger, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us again. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay at the property. We hope to welcome you back very soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L

Nice condo close to beach and shops

Posted Nov 30, 2015
Condo good for families. Well equipped. Close to beach and shops. Monkey pod resturant nearby is great and reasonably priced.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 8, 2016 by Palms at Wailea Maui by Outrigger, Hotel Management
Thank you for posting your review. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay at the property. We are glad you enjoyed the convenient location of the property.
2 out of 5
by Norma from London

Mediocre stay at the Palms in Wailea

Posted Oct 25, 2015 on Hotels
There were a couple of items that were not fixed. The blinded were twisted which meant we had little privacy in the bedroom and the fitting above the blind in the bedroom was loose and fell on me when I went to have a look at it. Wifi was slow and at times did not connect.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 11, 2015 on Hotels
Nice, big, roomy unit. My 1st room was no way near an ocean view, which I had purchased. They were able to get me a room with a partial view of the ocean from the corner of the deck. Like everyone else's comments, there is only air conditioning in the one bedroom.(unbelievable). My unit had an owner installed unit in the living room, but would have cost an additional $15.00 a day for access to the thermostat. All that being said it was still a pretty nice room, grounds and great location.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 3, 2016 by Palms by Outrigger, Hotel Management
Aloha, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at the property. We hope to welcome you back.