Ratings based on 468 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort, beautiful beach.

Posted Aug 20, 2015
Great beach. Great location close to good eats and shops. Hotel was nice. Hotel staff was not the friendliest (some were). I would still stay there again. Be aware of the cleaning fee they throw on your bill at the end of your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful. Little bit of Paradise

Posted Aug 17, 2015
Cons: Fridge Seal fixed to stop motor running 24/7 Air Conditioner is noisy
This was a wonderful place to stay. Would stay again. Only opportunity is the room Air Conditioner was quite loud throughout and the fridge seal was off causing the fridge motor to constantly be running through the night. With that said, I am more than sure not all rooms are like this.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Wonderful experience

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Napili beach restaurants, Kapalua hiking trail, Lahaina town
It was a very pleasant experience. The staff was very accommadating and friendly.The pool area was immaculate. I plan to visit again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Bay Area, CA

Nice hotel close to the beach.

Posted Aug 16, 2015
Pros: The room was bigger than I had expected. The resort itself was right on the beach, which is the best way to experience West Maui.
Cons: The a/c unit in our condo was quite loud. It was disturbing at night, especially since it was in the main bedroom.
Location: If you fancy beer, the Maui brewing company is within walking distance to Royal Kahana. Dollies is also right across the street - really good pizza.
Overall we had a great time. I was originally worried that our Ocean Front room being right next to the elevators would be a problem, but it didn't bother us much. I also hadn't realized we would have a full kitchen and washer/dryer combo in the room. It was just an added plus to our vacation. I will recommend this location to anyone. We traveled with our two kids, and they loved the whole trip. They had a great time in the pool, as well as the ocean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Calgary,AB

Wouldn't stay here again.

Posted Aug 15, 2015
Been to Maui several times and have never had a bad experience until now.The rooms were ok and the staff was nice.The concierge were the most rude people we have ever met.The food stand at the pool was suppose to be open normal business hours and it never was.My daughter went in and asked for some food and was told they didn't feel like cooking.This happened multiple times at this place.Definately wont be going back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles , CA

Great condo, ocean front, clean and big room.

Posted Aug 10, 2015
My wife and I had a great experience at Royal Kahana. Our room was updated and had an ocean view from the 6th floor. It had everything we needed. We read about other complaints but luckily none of those things occurred during our 8 day stay. The room was clean, AC was great, view was beautiful, staff was nice and responsive, easy parking at no additional cost, beautiful beach, and close proximity to everything such as coves, bays, food, and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from West Virginia

Royal Kahana

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Pros: Decent location. Close to 3 supermarkets. Beach front, even though we went to other beaches that were much nicer. Kitchen, fridge, beach front grill
Cons: Get rid of the 10pm shutdown of gym and elevator. Get rid of the ridiculous cleaning fee.
Location: Front street is close, super markets, west maui touring, dt felmming beach, good food, peaceful, horseback, zip lining, etc.
Second time we have stayed here. The first time I do not remember paying for a cleaning fee. I did not know, or I would not have accepted the cleaning mid week during our stay. We checked out and was handed a XXX$ bill for a mild cleaning that I could've done myself in 10 minutes. I am sick to spend such a fortune to fly to Hawaii and not spend money on things trying to hold back, and then lose XXX$ for a ridiculous bill at the end of our trip that did not benefit US as a traveling couple. The hotel has a basement parking to stay out of the rain, but the basement elevator shuts down for some reason at 10pm, which is when most of the time we showed up back to the hotel, and the only parking was in the garage. We would end up having to walk all the way around since we had our baby and a stroller, and couldnt use the stairs. The "exercise" room or lack thereof closed at 10pm as well, which is when I needed it since I did not want to waste time during beautiful daylight hours to lift weights. Our room only had a stand up shower, and we needed a tub for my wife/baby. Made the experience difficult.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2015
Charged a cleaning fee upon exit that i was unaware of.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Oak Harbor Wa

Very nice stay! Would stay again!

Posted Aug 3, 2015
But a few things could be improved: Paying to use a hotel computor to get paperwork home Really? And can only exchange towels half way though stay or get a $30 fee!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great, roomy, clean 2 bedroom ocean view suite.

Posted Aug 3, 2015
Pros: The location, the beach, the terrific staff.
Location: Very close to Kaanapali and Lahaina.
All of the staff were friendly and helpful. They responded promptly and with concern to anything we asked about or needed.