Ratings based on 708 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Relaxing, comfortable,great views,excellent staff.

Posted Jan 31, 2016
Pros: The staff was outstanding, our units were facing the ocean, pool, and awesome sunsets...couldn't be better!!!
Cons: All of our needs were met.
Location: Great location, close to what we like to do in Maui, but away from the hustle and bustle...paradise.
Rented two units...without any trouble, they put us in neighboring units. The sunset views were awesome. The location is close enough to all island attractions, and very close to neighborhood grocers and restaurants/bars (no driving needed). Great place to watch whales from the shore...a short walk down the beach and you can watch sea turtles. The staff was excellent, as they were always ready and willing to attend to our needs and answer all of questions with the Aloha spirit. We met several permanent residents and owners of other units, and to a person, they were just as welcoming as the staff. When we return, we plan to stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, AB

Not a flashy hotel but very practical

Posted Jan 18, 2016
If you are looking for a hotel with a lot of amenities this is not the hotel for you. There isn't any other than the pool. What I loved about this hotel was the kitchen in the room. All the dishes/cutlery etc were stocked. Full size fridge, small oven and microwave and in suite laundry with complimentary laundry soap for one load. I had a little one, so to be able to get groceries and make meals at 'home' was priceless. One thing of note - there wasnt a tub just a walk in shower. Its right on the beach. The waves are a bit rough for little ones though. I'd stay here again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 27, 2016 by Royal Kahana Maui by Outrigger, Hotel Management
Aloha Lena, thank you for your review. We're so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to welcome you back soon.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Easy beach access and spacious rooms

Posted Jan 17, 2016
Pros: Close proximity to golf course.
Cons: Clarity in how to checkout of the room. Need to call a phone number instead of personnel at front office.
Location: Plantation golf course was just down the road and grocery shopping and tourist shopping nearby. Plenty of different restaurants for meals out.
Enjoyed our week stay here. Staff was very friendly and rooms were well stocked with supplies. Golf course was less than 5 miles away and shopping was short drive away. Town did not feel crowded and many opportunities for fun activities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right on beach

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Not very friendly for smokers. Nice facility and great location. Not much food available on site but some nice spots nearby.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good condo experience

Posted Jan 5, 2016
Pros: The room was stocked with cookware, plates, silverware, cleaning supplies, etc. The building has a pool area and private beach out back.
Cons: Our only issue is that the carpet and kitchen floor both felt kinda grimy when we walked on them barefoot. Some cleaning there would have been nice.
Location: The building is only 10-15 mins drive from Lahaina, which has a small harbor, many shops, and good food. Front Street was our favorite part of Maui.
This was our first time trying a condo, and we feel good about staying at Royal Kahana. (We had room #604.) The staff was helpful and friendly, and the pool/beach area out back was a great perk. Parking could have been a bit complicated if we got back late (all outside spaces would be occupied), but they have an extra underground parking area that was oddly never full. Also, all parking spaces in Hawaii feel cramped, but that seems to be a fact of life there. The room itself was well-stocked with supplies for cooking and cleaning, so we appreciated the autonomy of being able to cook and clean for ourselves (and not lively solely on restaurant food). Our only gripe is that the carpet and kitchen floor felt kinda dirty to walk on barefoot. I suspect the last renter tracked dirt all over, and nobody bothered to clean it up. The room itself is a cozy studio with a passable ocean view. Frankly, more of our view was occupied by the building next door, but there was enough ocean view to still enjoy. The location is a short drive from Lahaina, which has a small harbor, shops, and many good restaurants. Definitely spend an afternoon on Front Street if you can. Overall, it was a positive experience and we would stay again if we decide to stay in the Lahaina/Kahana area again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from los angeles

Ok for the money if you are on a tight budget

Posted Jan 4, 2016
Pros: Waterfront, good parking, ok gym, amenities for cooking
Cons: Clean carpet replace pull out bed
Location: Lahaina
On our way to Aulani we stopped in Maui for 5 days. The amenities in the room were good. The parking was good. Right on the water.on water My complaint is the carpet needed cleaning (you could not go barefoot) and the pull out bed had springs that popped to the surface making it uncomfortable for our daughter. If they fixed those two problems I think it would be a good choice for a Maui stay if you don't need the bells and whistles.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Danville, CA

Unclean...stay elsewhere

Posted Dec 8, 2015
Room was dated, unclean and smelled musty. Had to by Lysol wipes to clean bathroom, shower head that had mold and the kitchen counter. Although hotel was pre-paid, was charged $100 by the hotel upon checkout for cleaning. Please note: this place does not have a daily housekeeping service. We left the room cleaner and smelling better than when we were checked in.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from livermore,CA

Disappointed with Expedia

Posted Nov 22, 2015
When we booked our stay at Royal Kahana months before our vacation we were not notified that they were doing major work on the beach. When we got to the hotel the front desk was very rude and was not at all welcoming. When we inquired about the work she said we were told which in not the facts. I do not know who to blame the hotel or Expedia. I am leaning to Expedia. Last time I will us that service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from HI

あまり良く寝られなかった。

Posted Nov 21, 2015
設備やサービスは申し分なかったのですが、あまり良く眠ることが出来ませんでした。私が宿泊した部屋だけの問題か、私の体調の問題が原因だったかもしれません。ベッドに横になった時の頭の向きは北東から東で自宅と一緒でしたが、霊の仕業か変な夢を見ました。私は霊は怖くはありませんが。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Cons: I would say about the shower outside for when you leave the ocean, try to get all the sand away from that area.
Stayed for a week for my friends wedding. Beach was very beautiful, room was very nice. liked that all the units had they're own kitchen and washer and dryer. We had a garden view but we could still see the ocean from our room. and the flowers were beautiful. very close to pool. enjoyed my stay and staff was very pleasant.