Ratings based on 107 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Beijing, China

close to beach and restaurants

Posted Feb 10, 2017
Pros: quietness and confort
Cons: the after hour service phone, but there fixed almost immediately!
Location: beach access, restaurants, shopping are all very easy
nice experience, the staff was friendly, and they know what's around, and recommend what to do.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler

Great week of golf.

Posted Jan 14, 2017
Pros: Nice large spacious 1 bedroom with kitchen and 2nd bathroom. Worked out well for pair of golfers, or a couple with a guest could be comfortable also.
Worked out great for SBS Champions Tournament. Property was close to everything that you need for a great week of golf and still be able to see the tournament in the afternoon. Was very cost effective, and you were still walking distance to many great beaches and the Pineapple Grill at the Kapalua Bay Coarse was perfect for breakfast, cocktails, and Dinner. Will stay here again next year.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha! Thank you for choosing The Gardens at West Maui. We are pleased we were the perfect location for your golf visit and delighted you'll be staying with us again next year. We look forward to serving you. Mahalo!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Jose, CA

Worst hotel in best location

Posted Jan 3, 2017
Pros: Location
Cons: Everything
Location: There is best beach on the island - Napili. Zipline, golf, snorkeling - many things to do around.
Pros: - Location (just this) Cons: - CHICKENS (seriously) - next to hotel there is a farm house - at 4 AM every day hens start screaming. If you are pretty sensitive - you will not get rest. - facilities - so old that within 6 days we got broken dishwasher. Also every unit has it's own water heater. We are family of 4 and hot water was not enough for all of us. - staff - 'lady' in office so unfriendly that I have not seen during my last 20 hotels. So strict and talking to you like you borrowed money from her. Example - check out date, empty parking, we asked to leave car until 5PM. So she highlighted that giving us a big favor allowing to leave car for several hours. Summary: personal feeling - all hotels around Napili beach a booked in advance. And this property simply using that fact by knowing that people anyways will come on the best beach
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 22, 2017 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Andrei. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret we did not make a more favorable impression and extend our sincerest apologies if our employee was anything less than completely cordial. Courteous customer service is our top priority, and we are sorry this was not your experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Reasonable condo, close to great beaches

Posted Nov 21, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Location, it's a short easy walk to a great beach.
Cons: Black out blinds for the bedroom, it was very hard to sleep as the room is very brightly lit at night by outside lights. Let people know BEFORE making
Location: Great beaches just a brief easy walk, nice beach walk close, nature area close by, golf course next door.
Condo was older, evidence that effort has been made to up date kitchen, bathrooms. Unit 102 is a ground floor unit so outdoor space is not so private, view of golf course is across the small parking lot and the air conditioning units (for both that unit & one above) are just outside of bedroom and very noisy. Bedroom is the warmest and brightest room in the unit at night, can make sleeping a challenge. Unit was clean and well supplied. Staff were great. A cooler to use for outings during our stay is the only thing I really missed (and have found in other properties). Great size for just the two of us, might have been a bit tight if we had others with us.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NZ

Gardens yes.

Posted Oct 14, 2016
Location: The location was across the road from Napili Kai resort which kindly allowed guests to use their beach. The entrance way is on a corner.
The location of this set of units/condos was between a golf Course and a home with chickens, roosters and dogs. There was a access way etween the golf course and the room and the tractors and mowers started at day break. On the other side the roosters had a problem with knowing when it was dawn and so they crowed all day and into the night. The hens tried to come into the room at every opportunity. The dogs barked at every person that moved into and out of the condos and as there was a swimming pool near my room there were people coming and going all of the time. As well as this I was in the downstairs condo with both air conditioner units outside my bedroom/bathroom. These rattled and purred loudly even gurgling at times. So much so that I turned off my AC to try and silence it. The final straw was when the guests in the top condo went to bed and snored and I could hear it as if it was in bed with me. This was topped off by them having an early morning departure at 4am and their walking was a thumping that woke me too. Not a quiet week. The office was only open Monday Tuesday Wednesday and the concierge only worked Sunday and Monday. When my room key did not work I had to drive 2.5 miles down the road to another parent company to get help. I also needed to drive down there to get computer access to print a document. I booked this accomodation as I was attending a course at Ka'anpali and this was supposed to be near. I needed to drive for 15 minutes to get to my course...
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, Hawaii

Not a typical hotel

Posted Oct 11, 2016
Pros: Convenient location
Cons: Check in
Location: Golf, shopping and dining out
Be prepared - no grand hotel lobby and office is not open everyday and if I remember correctly, maid service only with a minimum 7 day stay, but a lot of fresh towels and extra toiletries in the unit. Very convenient and nice, quiet location. Very short distance to Lahaina's famous Front Street and even closer to Kapalua Golf Courses. Convenient fully stocked kitchen with all cookware, dishes, dishwasher, garbage disposal, coffee maker, microwave, toaster oven, etc. - We saved some money by buying groceries from a supermarket a few minutes away, but there's also eateries in that same strip mall if you don't feel like cooking. We enjoyed our stay and would return again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Julie! Thank you for choosing The Gardens at West Maui. We are delighted we could earn your highest rating and that you would stay with us again. Your kind words and highest rating are much appreciated. Mahalo!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016
Pros: The hotel is clean and quiet which I really like , it feels like home, I like the sorroundings.
Cons: I also like that we can do some cooking, but maybe u could provide cooking oil and some spices as well, because we have to buy and leave it there.
Location: Location nearby and things are good as well , I don't have any comment about that.
I lenjoy my stay in Hawaii, although it is only a short time but we have fun. I really enjoy the snorkelling, the water is vey clear and blue, I really enjoy everything .
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from california

Bug infested kitchen. Wouldn't move me rooms

Posted Sep 23, 2016
No one at front desk our whole stay. Bugs. Dirty. Save yourself the trouble
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 8, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, v. Thank you for your visit and feedback. We regret to learn of your unfortunate experience. Our comprehensive extermination program is usually sufficient to keep the critters outside where they belong, and we apologize you were subjected to them. We can't think of a reason other than occupancy that we wouldn't have moved you to another guest unit given the circumstances. We hope you will accept our sincere apologies.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Colorado

Good hotel but handled a plumbing problem poorly

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Pros: Nice setting in beautiful location
Cons: Discussed earlier
Location: Close to many activities
After 3-4 attempts at fixing a clogged toilet believe they should have moved us to another unit After spending 4Kplus on related vacation costs to have the problem go on and on And problem was still a problem on our last dayThe resort made a concession of $209 which we felt was not adequate. They suggested that I request additional through my booking agent.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 23, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Aloha, Buzz. Thank you for visiting The Gardens at West Maui. We are happy we made a favorable impression for our beautiful setting. Please accept our sincere apology for the plumbing challenge. We are sorry we were unable to resolve the issue and apologize for the inconvenience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Bang for the buck!

Posted Sep 13, 2016
Chicken lol. But if ure not bothered by them it's the best decision ull ever make to stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 21, 2016 by Manager, Hotel Management
Hello, rai. Thank you so much for your visit and wonderful review. We are glad you had an enjoyable stay and appreciate your generous rating. Mahalo!