Ratings based on 159 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange County, CA

Hotel is close to beach and shopping plaza

Posted Apr 28, 2016
Nice place to stay except continental breakfast is not quite good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Close to the beach but noisy, unsupervised kids

Posted Apr 21, 2016
Pros: Proximity to the beach. Pleasantness of staff and immaculately manicured and maintained grounds. Close to a great restaurant. Very nice staff.
Cons: Parking was horrible - not enough spaces. Reception has weird hours. Noisy. Continental breakfast should be much better - is better at any Holiday Inn
Location: Awesome location for this hotel property. Way too many things to do to list. Just go down the road to Lahaina and other nearby attractions.
The awesome thing about this hotel is Napili Bay and the beach. The Napili Kai resort is close by with an excellent restaurant. However. . .the guests with small children are unruly, and their kids are out of control. We had to move our room to get out from under a very noisy family who blew in from New York on New York time with their kids disturbing our sleep at 5:45AM. That's right, folks - that early in the morning, we were hearing loud child voices on a honeymoon vacation that we spent a lot of our hard-earned money on. When we asked hotel staff to move us, instead of dealing with the noisy family above us, we were instead relocated to a disabled person unit that was a bit smaller. That helped, but that room wasn't as nice, and we heard people being loud in the morning despite the office sending notices on two separate occasions to tell guests to keep their volume down between the hours of 10PM and 7AM. People with kids here need to get a grip and PARENT their children - there's people with no kids staying in this resort (as we were on our honeymoon). What sucked was the offending family above us wasn't dealt with at all. I overheard conversations from two other couples complaining to hotel staff about the same issues. It seems to fall upon deaf ears for the most part as offenders get off scot-free and the rest of us who have learned good manners take the brunt of the noise issues. So I'm not recommending this hotel for couples who want a quiet Maui experience.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington State

If big hotels aren't your thing...

Posted Apr 7, 2016
Pros: Rooms are nicely decorated with an upscale, yet relaxing vibe. Grounds are beautifully landscaped and feel very private. Friendly feel all around.
Cons: Room was a bit dark and lacked comfortable seating in the room. Only a problem if you want to sit in your room and read, and who does that in Hawaii?
Location: Great location for hanging out on beaches and exploring the north end of the island, but a bit far from many of the island's sites.
..this is a lovely little place tucked in right on Napili Bay beach. The rooms are beautiful and the entire setting is very serene, yet the beach is just steps away. We just needed a place for one night, due to the timing of our condo rental and flights, but found ourselves wishing we could stay here longer. It's a sweet place for a romantic getaway, or for a gathering of family/friends. Surprisingly peaceful. Dinner at the Sea House restaurant next door was also very good. We were able to watch the sunset while sitting at the bar and dining on nicely prepared fresh fish (although dessert was disappointing). Would highly recommend The Mauian to anyone wanting nice accommodations right on the beach, but away from the hustle and bustle of the large resorts.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northern california

Comfortable, clean & great sunset

Posted Mar 12, 2016
Cons: Our room wasn't ready until an hour after check in time. This was an annoyance after carefully timing our arrival.
We enjoyed staying at the Mauian as the last leg of our 10-day, 4-stop trip to Maui. The beach is beautiful & the "vibe" of the Mauian is relaxed, comfortable & the location is great. Just far enough away from the hustle-bustle of the kaanapali resorts yet walking distance to several restaurants & steps away from a lively beach which was a prime whale watching & sunset gazing spot! We will def be back!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Palo Alto, CA

cockroaches

Posted Feb 13, 2016
Pros: Location. Quietness. Friendly staff.
Cons: NO COCKROACHES
It looked nice and cozy when we first arrived there. After few hours, things looked so different. I understand that there are cockroaches around in this weather, but they should have kept the area clean with proper pest control. Started to see little bugs around the stove. I kinda ignored them. Found one cockroach coming out of the stove (from the tiny gap between the countertop and the stove.). I called this guy (sorry forgot his name). He came to the room right away with a roach killer spray, and sprayed around the stove. Guess what. We opened the drawer right below the stove, and found more cockroaches (at least 4 more). We switched to other room right away. Next day, I went to talk to the manager asking for a refund. She offered one night refund (out of 2 nights), and told us that we have to move again since the new room was reserved for someone for longer stay. I was not happy with the situation, and asked for a full refund then left tight away. It took some time to get the refund. For about a week (or little more), they never processed the refund, and I had to call Expedia (and waited another couple more days) to receive the refund.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Family hotel but noisy if on a ground floor unit

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Nicely updated studios with a good continental breakfast. Beautiful beach out front with good snorkelling.
Cons: Find a way to insulate the sound of footsteps between floors.
Somewhat noisy Studio on the ground floor where you could hear every footstep from the people above you. The Studio was nicely appointed and if you were on the second floor you would probably be happier.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toulouse

Petit hôtel intimiste

Posted Nov 19, 2015
Pros: Un emplacement idyllique sur la plage !
Cons: Piscine assez petite...
Les studios vue mer sont très agréables et nous avons aimé le côté "petit hôtel" et non grand resort sans charme ! La plage est très belle, cet hôtel est vraiment "les pieds dans l'eau" !
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Troy, MI

A place to relax and recharge.

Posted Nov 18, 2015
Pros: We liked the proximity to the beach, and the beautiful gardens.
Cons: It would be nice to have AC in the summer.
Location: The hotel is right on the beach There is a restaurant within walking distance, but other restaurants and shopping are within a short driving distance
I was concerned about staying in a hotel with no air conditioning and no TV, but thankfully the weather was cool enough that we enjoyed our stay here very much (November). Ceiling fans and louvered windows provided enough breeze to be comfortable. The gardens are beautiful and well maintained, we were steps from the beach, the breakfast was good, overall it was a very relaxing place to stay.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

I didn't feel like a tourist

Posted Nov 17, 2015
Pros: I loved the small resort feel. I didn't need a lot of flash, just comfort & proximity to the beach. The unit's kitchen was handy traveling with a kid
Cons: Fewer carbs and more protein options at breakfast. The nightly price was a little steep, but was thankful for free parking/wifi/towels.
Location: The beach was right outside my door! I didn't mind that I needed to drive to stores/restaurants/activities.
The Mauian was everything I was looking for; quiet, on the beach, updated finishes, & free wifi/parking. Sure the rooms don't have ac, but I didn't feel like I needed it. It was 85-90 degrees, we kept the windows open at the front & back & the ceiling fans were on 24/7. It was more relaxing breathing fresh air & not from the hum of an ac unit. The lack of ac noise also allowed us to listen to the waves all day and night. The pool is small, but who cares when the beach is right outside your door? Though small, the pool is surrounded by lush landscaping that I couldn't stop smelling & admiring. Guest were young & old which seemed to make the experience richer somehow. Each time I pulled up to the parking lot, I never had trouble finding a spot (I think they started handing out passes recently). I very much liked that the resort felt slightly off the beaten path & not in the middle of a tourist zone. I didn't mind having to drive to stores or restaurants in the least. I NEVER missed having a tv or phone in my room...not once in the 5 nights I was there. Having laundry on site was also great for a longer trip. The employees were great! I WILL BE BACK!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, B.C.

A sweet experience!

Posted Nov 16, 2015
Pros: The beach! Proximity to the beach. And the papaya in the morning.
Cons: Could update the rooms a little.
Location: Swimming, snorkelling and hiking.
The rooms are kind of small and it hasn't been updated at all...which gives it kind of a 60's feel. The staff are really sweet.. it has such a warm community feeling overall. I like that its clean and very comfortable. It is also great to be able to do your laundry there too. The Mauian is located right on the beach.. and how much time do you spend inside anyways? The beach is one of the best in Napili.. great swimming and snorkelling. Overall I'd rate it 10/10... and we'll definitely come back.