Ratings based on 68 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Honolulu, HI

Posted Oct 10, 2016
We had a large room with a really nice soaking tub. It was laid out kind of like a studio which was pretty cool. Pros: Nice staff, amazing breakfasts, charming common areas and grounds, walkable to Wailuku town Cons: Bed was a bit soft, wifi was a bit finicky depending on which area you are in (but definitely worked) All in all a great place to stay, and probably one of the best, if not the best in Wailuku town area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seal Beach, CA

Could not be better. Old Hawaii elegance.

Posted Sep 8, 2016
Pros: We like everything.This was our 3rd visit.
Cons: Can't think of a single thing.
Beautiful grounds, food is A++, quiet and elegant. Breakfast table conversation is always interesting and fun. The hosts are eager and willing to talk story about their ancestors 6 generations back.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by The Old Wailuku Inn at Ulupono, Hotel Management
Mahalo, we are glad you enjoy your stays with us! We look forward to your return.
4 out of 5
by philippe from enghien les bains

Posted Sep 1, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 10, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Mahalo!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Houston ,TX

Perfect location-helpful and friendly staff

Posted Aug 7, 2016
Food/Breakfast: Superb! The owners are both chefs and serve healthy, fresh, and tasty breakfasts! Room: We loved the unique rooms and decor. The bed was very comfortable and we slept great. The room we were in was a little poorly lit, but we could open the curtains to the private patio and that worked just fine. Great tv/satellite! The gardens they have is awesome as well with tons of plant life...very aromatic! Staff: Janice and Tom were awesome! They were so helpful in telling us more about the island. They also make you feel welcome and make an effort to get to know you. Location: The hotel is in a perfect/central location. Close to everything! Day trips to Hana and Haleakala or even Lahaina are great to get to from here. Overall, we would definitely stay here again!
5 out of 5
by Paul from Pennsylvania

Close to the action and far from the noise!

Posted Aug 1, 2016 on Hotels
My wife and I recently spent two nights at this very charming inn and recommend it highly to those who prefer a friendly, laid-back atmosphere in an historic setting. Only about 5 miles from the airport, the Old Wailuku Inn is a family run B and B in a quiet neighborhood. Each room has it's own personality and décor. The property is replete with banana, mango, coconut trees and other native flora. The included breakfast, served in a room overlooking all of that, is different every day of the week, with snacks provided to take on your daily travels. It is a unique place to stay on Maui.
5 out of 5
by Wendy from La Mesa

Posted Jul 29, 2016 on Hotels
We recently spent 2 nights at The Old Wailuku Inn after a week in a condo in Kaanapali. We enjoyed our room, the setting and the breakfast. Our room was outside of the main house, but we had access to the main house with ice cold drinks and treats. They graciously supply beach towels, ice coolers and ice packs for the beach, not to mention umbrellas . The breakfast was really good and Shelley was super nice and helpful with her suggestions for things to do. The location was not a problem since we had already spent a week on the beach, though it is a slight drive if that is how you plan to spend your time. Otherwise, it is a neutral location to access many of the island's attractions with a short drive. If you are looking for quaint and comfortable then check this little gem out. You need to keep in mind that the place was built in 1925 and with that comes some aging that just can't be erased, nor would you want it to. It contributes to the charm of the place. We would definitely return!
5 out of 5
by Rumi from Hawaii

True Aloha

Posted Jul 4, 2016 on Hotels
If you want authentic aloha, a place with character, ono (delicious) breakfasts and a cozy, serene setting that is decidedly not cookie-cutter resort, this is the place! The grounds and the owners and staff make you feel at home as soon as you arrive. The setting is "old Hawaiian" in a historic 1920s hotel but with all modern conveniences. The rooms are spacious, comfortable and clean. The only negatives: we heard the upstairs guests walking and moving furniture - not sure if they were just heavy walkers because we couldn't hear their TV or conversation; the room is light filled with the rising sun, but who wants to sleep in when in paradise? The breakfasts were extremely well prepared and varied daily. Served "family style" which was a great way to meet others and share tips for the day's adventures. We liked that the location was residential and quiet but central to virtually every site on the island. Our first morning we were served a wonderful veggie frittata, fresh fruit and warm scones fueling us up before heading out. We grabbed towels, beach mats and umbrella from the main house and were set for whatever beach caught our fancy. All in all, this place made us feel like we were visiting with our Tutu (Auntie) in her beautiful old home filled with eclectic Asian and Hawaiian decor, a lovely garden and fruit trees but with really nice amenities. We hated to leave!
5 out of 5
by Rebecca Lynn from Toowoomba Queensland Australia

You won't be disappointed!

Posted Apr 27, 2016 on Hotels
I loved my room! It was spacious, tastefully decorated and the traditional Hawaiian quilt was a lovely touch. The Aveda toiletries were such a treat to use. Loved the tub! The breakfasts were beautifully presented and even tastier to eat. Complimentary drinks fridge was a nice touch. I had plenty of privacy and the innkeepers were friendly & helpful.
4 out of 5
by Ju Ming

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 25, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from JAPAN

アットホームな宿

Posted Apr 12, 2016
Pros: 朝食が美味しい! スタッフが親切!
Cons: 部屋にセーフティボックスがあれば良いなぁ
Location: カフルイ空港から近いのに、歴史的居住地区で静かに過ごせます。 パイアやラハイナにも行きやすいです。
B&Bとしてはとても素敵な宿です。スタッフはフレンドリーで親切、朝食はとても美味しかったです。部屋ごとに好きな時間に食べるのではなく、他の宿泊者達と一緒に1つのテーブルで取ります。お話ししながらなので、そういうのが苦手な人にはオススメしません(^^;; 部屋は1階だったので少し薄暗く感じました。冷蔵庫は部屋付けではなくダイニングに共用の1つあるだけでしたが、特に問題はありませんでした。もう少し大きいといいなぁってくらいです。 他に宿泊者用に水やお茶、ジュースなど常に用意されてます。 レセプションが無いので、チェックイン,アウトの手続きが無く少し戸惑いました。 リビングやポーチでのんびり過ごせます。カフルイ空港から20分、便利で静かな街です。 また是非泊まりたい宿の1つになりました。