Ratings based on 1,054 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location and service

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Location and staff
Cons: The food!
Location: The coast trail, Kapalua Bay beach and Honolua Bay beach. For restaurants, go to Lahaina.
We stayed 11 days at Kapalua's Ritz Carlton during Christmas time. The weather is near perfect (13 in of rain / year, temperature always between 72 and 78). Some highlights of our stay: snorkeling at the Kapalua Bay beach and the Honolua Bay beach, both within a few minutes drive. The game room was open during the season with billiards and Wii games, a good way to take a break while doing (complimentary) laundry or enjoying a morning drink at the Aina market located on premise (cheaper than the $40 buffer breakfast). The pools are typical of the Ritz, with two sections reserved to Adults. Everybody scampers off at 5pm somehow but you still can enjoy the pools late at night. The food was not a highlight, we tried everything and kept being underwhelmed - i.e. the onsite restaurants are fine if outrageously pricey, but in no way memorable. The service staff was uniformly excellent - friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the beach right outside of the hotel, although the waves were exceedingly strong and the flags were red most of the time. Shuffle board and bocce, tennis and basketball, lots of hammocks, the coast trail passing through - lots of good times.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indianapolis, IN

Christmas in Hawaii

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Cons: I really felt everything at the hotel was WAY overpriced. Just to decorate Christmas cookies, it was $235 per family....Yikes!
This was an amazing hotel, simply beautiful with great staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Wonderfully relaxing with nothing but smiles

Posted Dec 30, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing it was perfect , if it was not the hotel bent over backwards to make it right .
Location: Beach, hiking , restauants
I can not say enough about the staff. They were so helpful . Everytime I turned there was a staff member wanting to assist . Relaxing and beautiful .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Fabulous hotel with exquisite flora, fauna & beach

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Staying at the Ritz Carlton made our first visit to Maui more memorable. We'll treasure this experience and encourage friends and family to stay at the Kapalua Ritz Carlton when they visit Maui.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Nice hotel close to the ocean

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: More dining and breakfast options.
Location: Sufrfing
Quite upscale hotel with good pool facilities. Nice location but a bit far away from Lahaine where there is a nice night action
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Relaxing getaway

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Got a nice, quiet room on first floor away from pool. Our patio led to grassy area outside so it was easy to walk out onto the hotel grounds. Pools were nice and so were the pool staff. Front desk and valets/hotel reception all very friendly and accommodating. Lots of food choices in hotel or you can walk to restaurants or general store outside of hotel. Free shuttle can also take you to beaches, golf, or other restaurants in Kapalua.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel limited dining options

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Not that many options to dine at and the restaurants aren't always open
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 28, 2016
Very nice view, room, staffs,and more.... I enjoy very much
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san francisco

Great service and great pool

Posted Dec 25, 2016
We had a super vacation. The Service was outstanding. Food was good. Drinks fantastic- the Mo'O was my Fave!! The beach was a bit disappointing to be honest. It's a trek (although they have a shuttle down and up) but the waves are big and rough. Not awesome for children or snorkeling. The spa is lovely. The pool is big and awesome! Poolside service very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cmh

Very nice hotel to stay and enjoy family vacation.

Posted Dec 24, 2016
Nice and pleasant vacations at hotel. Only issue with us for vegetarians Indian food. We manage ourself as we know about food issue. Nice all other staff members.