Ratings based on 1,714 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
Best service. A bit far from Kapalua beach but great pool - we will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 27, 2016
The place was great. The staff was very friendly. Loved the pool and quick access to the beach which felt like it was private. They need more options for food specifically for kids. Also would have been nice to have a shuttle into Lahaina. the shuttle was only limited to area around hotel. So helpful to rent a car.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Natural elegance

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Wonderful hotel and equally wonderful staff. The ritz Carlton kapalua is a perfect destination resort. Exquisite views, wonderful onsite coastal trails, and perfect for families. High-end and authentic.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Toronto Ontario

Very Nice Property in a scenic location

Posted Aug 26, 2016
Pros: Very friendly and knowledgeable valet staff and great concierge staff service.
Cons: Beach umbrella and lounger service at this property or at nearby beaches serviced by the resort shuttle where this service is provided to other hotels
Great staff, helpful concierge service, friendly and knowledgable about places to go and what to expect, The ocean is a far walk from the hotel. No hotel umbrellas or loungers allowed on the beach. You pay a resort amenity fee without this essential service amenity.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Rancho Palos Verdes, CA

Check-in problem resolved

Posted Aug 16, 2016
Pros: The aloha spirit of the staff.
Cons: I understand that a request for 2 queen beds at booking is not a guarantee but wish it was so guests don't have to be disappointed upon arrival.
Location: Slaughterhouse Beach and Honolua Bay are just a few miles north of the property.
Although we had requested 2 queen beds during our stay none were available upon check-in and we were given a room with a king bed and a pull-out. It was a little uncomfortable considering we are a family of 4. As soon as the hotel became aware of our dissatisfying check-in experience through Expedia's happy face/sad face icons, a manager called us the next day offering us an upgraded room with 2 queen beds.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Magnificent resort.

Posted Aug 15, 2016
The staff is great. The property is beautiful. We will be visiting again soon.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Pittsburgh

Beautiful hotel and location. Very quiet.

Posted Aug 14, 2016
Cons: Confirmation of room selection
Location: Beautiful location. Away from all of the traffic of Kannapali and felt very exclusive.
We were very pleased overall and would go back again. Unfortunately we reserved 2 double beds but they only had a room with one double bed and a pull out couch with a roll away bed. That was unacceptable and we were informed out reservation is taken as a request. The manager was very helpful and took very good care of us. We were upgraded to another room part way during our stay and the room was wonderful. We would highly recommend the hotel again and would recommend confirming the availability of the desired room.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Amazingly helpful staff!

Posted Aug 14, 2016
We have stayed at other high end resorts on Maui, but none of them compare to the service excellence and friendly staff at this resort.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Nice hotel but not close to beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
If traveling with children I do not recommend this side of the island. Very secluded.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Fancy, beautiful, hotel with a stunning view

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: It had nice rooms, great food, and beautiful plants and hiking paths around the property. The staff was amazing and took good care of us.
Cons: The pool, while it was large with three levels, it did not stand out from all other pools.
Location: There were great restaurants in the area and the city of Lahaina, which had a lot of activities, was not that far away.
We arrived at the Ritz Carlton in the afternoon and were welcomed by a lovely staff that took care of our bags and gave us a tropical juice. The staff was really friendly and took great care of our room. The pool was large and family friendly, we enjoyed laying in the many hammocks and beach chairs that face the ocean. We had lunch one day at the Fleming Beach which had amazing milkshakes and view of the ocean. It was fun to see the different arts that were set up at lobby leave that showed island life. Overall, our time at the Ritz Carlton was wonderful.