Ratings based on 2,932 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel - horrible guest service experience

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: location, location, location
Cons: Guest Services
Location: great location, close to the beach and nice restaurants.
We've stayed at this hotel a few times and have usually enjoyed it. This year, however, we experiences some of the worst guest services I've ever encountered. From the check in staff to the pool slide attendants, I'm not sure what's happened to the customer service at this hotel, but I will definitely not return. I suspect they think customer service is not necessary because they have a nice property. We shall see in the long run how well that approach holds up for them.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 10, 2016 by Westin Maui Ambassador, Hotel Management
We are truly sorry for the inconveniences that you experienced which is certainly not representative of our resort. Thank you for sharing your review and rest assured that your valuable feedback will help us in our efforts to continuously improve. We look forward to creating a renewing getaway on your next visit to the island. Stay well.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis

Nice Hotel but some annoying staff

Posted Feb 1, 2016
Pros: Location, Cleanliness, Pool area, Resort features.
Cons: Staff
Location: Next to the Whaler's village. Very convenient location.
We stayed here for 6 nights in Jan'16. Due to flight delay (apparently common in Hawaii) we checked-in late at night. The check-in staff did not allot us the room per our booking. She said the preference (Ocean-view and King bed) is only for reference and they are not obligated to honor it if it comes from third party booking like Expedia ( Expedia, please take note!). We reminded her that we paid extra for the Ocean-front and then she said she does not have any room available per our booking preference and asked us to check back within 2 days. We checked into our room and found that it was not clean. We immediately reported it back to the check-in desk and they then allotted a different room ( it was almost midnight) which happen to meet our booking preference of Ocean-view. Wonder how this second room became suddenly available in the middle of the night within few minutes? She could have allotted the same room before. Very disappointing!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Will go there again

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: The location and the grounds. Close to Lahaina for shopping and beautiful, tropical grounds.
Cons: Petty: there ought to be an add'l "shelf" in the shower for beauty products and a place for resting your foot for shaving: obviously designed by a man
Asked for a Garden View room and had a beautiful view of the waterfall. Will definitely ask for the same or similar room again. We also arranged for a cabana for every day that we were there and it was definitely worth it! The only "weird" thing was the "Go Green" option. In other hotels, it means not changing the sheets and towels daily. At the Westin it means that your room doesn't get cleaned AT ALL! So the trash isn't dumped, the beds are not made and the room is not vacuumed. If you think about it, this isn't "going green"...it is merely saving labor costs for the hotel. I am sure that when they implemented the new policy, they probably laid off staff. Our second day there, when we returned to the room at 4:00, the room still had not been cleaned so we had to call the front desk. Then it happened again on Sunday...I expect because they had a lot of new bookings coming in so cleaning the vacated rooms took precedence. As a guest, I was somewhat put off by this. And, by the way, we left a nice tip for housekeeping every day...nice enough that we got two thank you notes. On another note, Westin has to be better about replacing broken or missing letters on their signage. Just makes the place look more rundown than it really is. Overall we enjoyed our stay. The staff was very nice and very helpful. The rooms and public areas were clean and well-appointed.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Spokane, WA

Beautiful pool and great ocean views

Posted Jan 26, 2016
When reserving a room, I didn't know that one tower was newly renovated and the other is very outdated. Unfortunately, we were stuck on the old one. We did, however, have an amazing view of the ocean from the 11th floor. The pool is very nice and has a volleyball net and bball hoop. They definitely need more hot tubs. There's one tiny one and it's designated for adults only.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Roseville, CA

Nice hotel, on the beach. Clean.

Posted Jan 26, 2016
Very nice hotel. Right on the beach. Very clean accurately manicured grounds. Beautiful pools with waterfalls. Friendly stuff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NJ

Great pools and beach location

Posted Jan 25, 2016
We stayed here for 5 days, free hotel shuttle to Lahaina, pools were excellent, beaches also excellent. Very pricey to rent chairs and umbrella, stay inside resort property. Located right next to Walers Village.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Was impressed with the facility.

Posted Jan 24, 2016
It was a family vacation and we all had a wonderful time. We will definatly be back to The Westin
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Great central location in West Maui

Posted Jan 24, 2016
Pros: Staff, pool and location.
Cons: Wi-fi service. I do not agree that guests should have to pay for the upgraded service since the Westin already charges a resort fee.
Location: Surfing, body surfing, whale-watching, golf, running, catching rays, shopping, eating.
Our stay was great as always. We upgraded to an ocean-view room (7th floor) in the Ocean Tower. Staff was very friendly, and our maid service was spot-on. The free wi-fi was spotty at best, though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 23, 2016
Close to shopping, good place to stay with children
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Calgary, Alberta

another wonderful way to extend Maui hours!

Posted Jan 22, 2016
Pros: Staffing was great. Ocean access. The room was very comfortable.
Cons: Since we had 2 weeks coming up in time share accommodation deluxe ocean front, we did not mind the island view at all....it in enhanced our experience
Location: So much to do in Kanapali! Lehoda's for breakfast. Dipping into the ocean on a beach walk. The hotel shuttle to Lahaina is fantastic! North beaches!
Even though we had an "island view" room at the Westin, it was very nice. Just a quick walk to the pools then the beach was right there! Sunrise on the island side of the hotel was fantastic! The mist and the lighting filtered through the enormous trees while we had coffee on our balcony. We enjoyed the pool for a day, excellent service and nicely laid out pool that was anything but square. Bar service was fantastic! We really enjoyed the Beach Walk early in the morning before the heat of the day! For us it was like "staying in town" because we are usually up the beach where there are fewer hotels, water sports, and restaraunts! It was a wonderful way to extend our Maui vacation before checking into our timeshare. We will do it again!