Ratings based on 345 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinsburg, WV

Very romantic, peaceful hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Large, clean rooms. Excellent customer service and hotel amenities. Would definitely recommend for those looking for an adventurous and romantic vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Heaven in Hana

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Travassa is a restful serene property off the beaten path in one of the most beautiful corners of Maui. The road to Hana has become legendary and is a journey worth taking. No TV no Air conditipning..but just breathtaking scenery and a loving nurturing atmosphere. I did not eat on the restaurant but everything else I can vouch for. The friendly staff and the beautiful accommodations make this stunning retreat memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler


Posted Jul 21, 2016
The property of this hotel lays upon is breathtaking. The staff is extremely welcoming the moment you step on to the property. A great place to lay back and unwind and find your inter peace. Our room was spacious and a card and loaf of banana bread was waiting for our arrival. They offer a lot of outdoor activities anywhere from biking, swimming, croquet, tennis, a putting green, fitness trails and horseback riding. They also have a variety of board games and books to choose from. They also have a spa to indulge in relaxation.We ate at the restaurant for dinner and had a delicious meal while having the beautiful drop back of the ocean and mountain. I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel w great activities

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel was very nice and acquired a few years ago by new owners who have clearly renovated--although not everything has been renovated yet. The staff was wonderful. I'd stay there again.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Go to Hana - best time on Maui!

Posted Jul 12, 2016 on Hotels
A fantastic 2 night stay in Hana. So peaceful and calm. Nice, luxurious facilities with organized activities each day. We especially appreciated possibility to borrow both beach chairs but also equipment. Everything from bicycles, to googles and boogie boards! Travaasana has beach chairs and personnel on the beautiful Hamoa Beach where we spent a lot of time splashing around in the waves! would also recommend to explore the surroundings when it is time for dinner. We found several small great pop-up food places along the way!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not worth it - and no air conditioning!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, staff was friendly
Cons: Expedia page MUST say that there is no air conditioning. This is a real problem.
Location: Hana, Road to hana, remote, and beautiful
I really did not like it. We came on our honeymoon. Staff was helpful, but slightly "out of it." Place was nice, but then the room was not air conditioned, and we had come from a hike at the National Park. There was also no TV in the Garden Suite Jr Room. We just came from Kaanapali, and this was really disappointing. The pool was ok, but the people there were old, and the pool was clearly dated. The view was really nice, but not stunning compared to the rest of our day. There were activities, which reminded us of the Catskills or a scene from Dirty Dancing -- older people experiencing camp for the first time like activities. In any event, it was not for us. Also, very expensive food, with small portions and not much taste.
5 out of 5
by Staci from Annapolis, Maryland

Staci's two cents

Posted Jul 2, 2016 on Hotels
Overall, the resort is wonderful. It is worth mentioning the rooms are not air conditioned, so if you are visiting during a warm spell you may want to request a fan from the concierge.we did and it did the trick. Also,the rooms do not have tv,but who wants to watch tv when you are surrounded by such beauty. Also, the red sand beach is just a short hike away. You won't want to miss that!!!
5 out of 5
by Steven from burlingame, ca

Hana retreat

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful resort, very relaxing. Staff was friendly we both loved our stay here . Will return next year for a longer stay. Food was excellent.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Travaasa Family Vacation to Hana

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, toiletries, and removing bugs, room service was very poor.
Location: Excellent location, not much to do around the area.
The location is fantastic. We had a room overlooking the ocean. The facility needs updating, the pool was fantastic, the view was awesome! Our biggest disppointment was finding huge bug waters and cacaroaches in our room and my daugthers were beaten that caused big bumps. When I told the front desk staff about the roaches and bugs in the room, they acted as if it was expected...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

amazing; most relaxing place we've ever stayed

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Unpretentious, gracious service...spacious, calm décor...variety of activities...no pressure...strong sense of place...lush, clean grounds
Cons: Small request--have two plates and two sets of silverware to go along with the glassware and coffee mugs in the room...and key-access to lanai doors
Location: On the quiet east end of Maui--Hamoa beach ('best in Pacific') nearby...hiking through bamboo and rain forest to waterfalls...organic farms...relax!
NOT overrated; completely deserves its spot on various 'best' lists... You feel you've arrived at the edge of the world, with sunrise views of horses framed by coconut palms and volcanic tidepools. The vast lawn, with swaying palms leading your eyes to the ocean, with its pool and hot tub surrounded by lava-rock as its centerpiece--that compelling vista will inhabit your dreams forever after, becoming synonymous with 'relaxation' and 'paradisaic'... The spa facilities and garden are the definition of quiet rejuvenation... Classes and activities are low-key, led in a friendly, competent, unintimidating way... You DO 'get what you pay for' here... If you want flash and glitz, go elsewhere...if you want class and down-to-earth luxury that will keep you grounded, this is the place.