Ratings based on 338 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2016
Love this hotel! My only complaint that is for the price of the rooms they should offer air conditioning.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Sacramento CA

In this case - do not expect to get what you paid

Posted Sep 19, 2016
Hmmmm 2011 & 2012 Top 500 hotels in the world and since then nothing...... As a owner or even manager, I would think you will ask yourself.....what is going wrong/ or what has changed.... On arrival - no one to greet / valet or at least indicate where to go. (They do offer valet, however, had to be called from the front desk) Receptionist, did not look up - although he notice us pulling up, until I asked him where to register. Grounds are BEAUTIFUL, no beach access and units without ocean view, is not on ocean view property. Staff was mediocre- try to order a glass of Riesling, which I had to spell for the person taking the order. At $50 for 2 glasses of wine, both my partner's Riesling and my Pinot Noir were THE worst wines we ever had - both came out of bottles that for sure have been open > 24hours. Sent them both back. When I called for dinner reservations,the person who answered had to ask around if they can accommodate Vegan options. The response, which I overheard was, "Tell them we have Vegetarian options and will see if we can do something with that" - WOW! When you order all Vegan food and ask with ever item to confirm no dairy and no animal products, why then bring bread to the table served with Whipped BUTTER.....? However, I have to say, the food they eventually prepared was fantastic. It was the only high point of our stay. (The mushrooms and root veggie salad were delicious!) That's the 1 star! The friendliest staff member I encountered was the young ma
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Brooklyn, NY

Posted Sep 3, 2016
Pros: quiet with many activity offerings. Great spa, Beautiful property, GREAT restaurant, wonderful friendly staff!!!
Cons: the ant situation was bad.
so peaceful and relaxing!!! look forward to my next visit to Hana and i would definetly stay at Travaasa!!!
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Great hotel with fabulous customer service

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Staff was wonderful. Great stop for those driving the road to Hana. Relaxing and beautiful environment. Just note, the rooms are not air conditioned. We went during the heat of August and the room was very warm. Should not be too much of a problem most of the year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinsburg, WV

Very romantic, peaceful hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Large, clean rooms. Excellent customer service and hotel amenities. Would definitely recommend for those looking for an adventurous and romantic vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Heaven in Hana

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Travassa is a restful serene property off the beaten path in one of the most beautiful corners of Maui. The road to Hana has become legendary and is a journey worth taking. No TV no Air conditipning..but just breathtaking scenery and a loving nurturing atmosphere. I did not eat on the restaurant but everything else I can vouch for. The friendly staff and the beautiful accommodations make this stunning retreat memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The property of this hotel lays upon is breathtaking. The staff is extremely welcoming the moment you step on to the property. A great place to lay back and unwind and find your inter peace. Our room was spacious and a card and loaf of banana bread was waiting for our arrival. They offer a lot of outdoor activities anywhere from biking, swimming, croquet, tennis, a putting green, fitness trails and horseback riding. They also have a variety of board games and books to choose from. They also have a spa to indulge in relaxation.We ate at the restaurant for dinner and had a delicious meal while having the beautiful drop back of the ocean and mountain. I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel w great activities

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel was very nice and acquired a few years ago by new owners who have clearly renovated--although not everything has been renovated yet. The staff was wonderful. I'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not worth it - and no air conditioning!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, staff was friendly
Cons: Expedia page MUST say that there is no air conditioning. This is a real problem.
Location: Hana, Road to hana, remote, and beautiful
I really did not like it. We came on our honeymoon. Staff was helpful, but slightly "out of it." Place was nice, but then the room was not air conditioned, and we had come from a hike at the National Park. There was also no TV in the Garden Suite Jr Room. We just came from Kaanapali, and this was really disappointing. The pool was ok, but the people there were old, and the pool was clearly dated. The view was really nice, but not stunning compared to the rest of our day. There were activities, which reminded us of the Catskills or a scene from Dirty Dancing -- older people experiencing camp for the first time like activities. In any event, it was not for us. Also, very expensive food, with small portions and not much taste.
5 out of 5
by Steven from burlingame, ca

Hana retreat

Posted Jun 26, 2016 on Hotels
Wonderful resort, very relaxing. Staff was friendly we both loved our stay here . Will return next year for a longer stay. Food was excellent.