Ratings based on 332 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from H

Great hotel with fabulous customer service

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Staff was wonderful. Great stop for those driving the road to Hana. Relaxing and beautiful environment. Just note, the rooms are not air conditioned. We went during the heat of August and the room was very warm. Should not be too much of a problem most of the year.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Martinsburg, WV

Very romantic, peaceful hotel.

Posted Jul 24, 2016
Large, clean rooms. Excellent customer service and hotel amenities. Would definitely recommend for those looking for an adventurous and romantic vacation.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Heaven in Hana

Posted Jul 21, 2016
Travassa is a restful serene property off the beaten path in one of the most beautiful corners of Maui. The road to Hana has become legendary and is a journey worth taking. No TV no Air conditipning..but just breathtaking scenery and a loving nurturing atmosphere. I did not eat on the restaurant but everything else I can vouch for. The friendly staff and the beautiful accommodations make this stunning retreat memorable.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful!

Posted Jul 21, 2016
The property of this hotel lays upon is breathtaking. The staff is extremely welcoming the moment you step on to the property. A great place to lay back and unwind and find your inter peace. Our room was spacious and a card and loaf of banana bread was waiting for our arrival. They offer a lot of outdoor activities anywhere from biking, swimming, croquet, tennis, a putting green, fitness trails and horseback riding. They also have a variety of board games and books to choose from. They also have a spa to indulge in relaxation.We ate at the restaurant for dinner and had a delicious meal while having the beautiful drop back of the ocean and mountain. I highly recommend this hotel and I look forward to returning.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from NYC

Nice hotel w great activities

Posted Jul 16, 2016
The hotel was very nice and acquired a few years ago by new owners who have clearly renovated--although not everything has been renovated yet. The staff was wonderful. I'd stay there again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington, DC

Not worth it - and no air conditioning!

Posted Jul 9, 2016
Pros: Room was clean, staff was friendly
Cons: Expedia page MUST say that there is no air conditioning. This is a real problem.
Location: Hana, Road to hana, remote, and beautiful
I really did not like it. We came on our honeymoon. Staff was helpful, but slightly "out of it." Place was nice, but then the room was not air conditioned, and we had come from a hike at the National Park. There was also no TV in the Garden Suite Jr Room. We just came from Kaanapali, and this was really disappointing. The pool was ok, but the people there were old, and the pool was clearly dated. The view was really nice, but not stunning compared to the rest of our day. There were activities, which reminded us of the Catskills or a scene from Dirty Dancing -- older people experiencing camp for the first time like activities. In any event, it was not for us. Also, very expensive food, with small portions and not much taste.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Francisco

Travaasa Family Vacation to Hana

Posted Jun 23, 2016
Pros: Location
Cons: Cleanliness, toiletries, and removing bugs, room service was very poor.
Location: Excellent location, not much to do around the area.
The location is fantastic. We had a room overlooking the ocean. The facility needs updating, the pool was fantastic, the view was awesome! Our biggest disppointment was finding huge bug waters and cacaroaches in our room and my daugthers were beaten that caused big bumps. When I told the front desk staff about the roaches and bugs in the room, they acted as if it was expected...
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

amazing; most relaxing place we've ever stayed

Posted Jun 10, 2016
Pros: Unpretentious, gracious service...spacious, calm décor...variety of activities...no pressure...strong sense of place...lush, clean grounds
Cons: Small request--have two plates and two sets of silverware to go along with the glassware and coffee mugs in the room...and key-access to lanai doors
Location: On the quiet east end of Maui--Hamoa beach ('best in Pacific') nearby...hiking through bamboo and rain forest to waterfalls...organic farms...relax!
NOT overrated; completely deserves its spot on various 'best' lists... You feel you've arrived at the edge of the world, with sunrise views of horses framed by coconut palms and volcanic tidepools. The vast lawn, with swaying palms leading your eyes to the ocean, with its pool and hot tub surrounded by lava-rock as its centerpiece--that compelling vista will inhabit your dreams forever after, becoming synonymous with 'relaxation' and 'paradisaic'... The spa facilities and garden are the definition of quiet rejuvenation... Classes and activities are low-key, led in a friendly, competent, unintimidating way... You DO 'get what you pay for' here... If you want flash and glitz, go elsewhere...if you want class and down-to-earth luxury that will keep you grounded, this is the place.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds

Posted May 25, 2016
Pros: Room lovely and spacious Liked large pool near water and hot tub however staff didn't tell us it existed (was across road) so luckily found it on own
Cons: Need to be more upfront about single occupancy rate Better food options Site map in room would be helpful as large property
Location: Hana is lovely and tranquil. Hamoa beach great.
Hidden cost that we were not aware of until check in! They charge an extra $50 for any person in addition to the one listed on booking over age 16!! I thought this was gouging and put a damper on stay. So in effect, price of room is based on single occupancy Also, food was overpriced and not much else in town to eat except food trucks (Ranch restaurant also mediocre and overpriced and owned by Travaasa!) that close down mid afternoon.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not ready with all facility

Posted May 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Open Hot tub closed spa empty but not allowed in. Mattress way too soft, room hard to control temperature and privacy.. Overall low value for money