Ratings based on 161 Verified Reviews

4.7 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Sandy beach

Posted Feb 4, 2017
A great resort to stay in. Very hospitable staff, great food and Lot's of wster sport activities.
5 out of 5
by P J

Phil's review

Posted Feb 1, 2017 on Hotels
Arguably the best beach in Mauritius and the food even better. From friendly check-in with Joy's team, the great service continues with Hurvind and Vikram in the Food and Beverage section, supported by Alain. Yogesh at the bar and Farhad on the beach complements them, The beach boys Varoon and Makenzie will make sure your time on the beach is comfortable and lubricated.
5 out of 5
by Philip

Paradise setting!

Posted Jan 27, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel is in a wonderful setting below the giant crag of Le Morne. It has a picture-perfect beach, with sun loungers under swaying palm trees. The sea bathing (protected by the reef) is good, as are the snorkelling opportunities. It is a large hotel complex, but doesn't feel that big, with good friendly and personal service. We are not fans of 'buffet-style' dining, but the food was generally acceptable/good. Looking at it from a practical viewpoint it would be difficult to offer 'fine dining' in a hotel of this size. The ability to have a lazy week, just swimming and sunbathing was the key ingredient for us. On this the hotel delivered 100%. The rooms (we had a junior suite) are lovely and the housekeeping excellent. The 'star' employee was Iqbal - the hotel driver - who collected us from the port when we arrived by sea and took us to the airport at the end of our stay. He had the presence of mind to ring ahead to the airport from the hotel car and so there was a porter awaiting us when we drove up to Departures. We didn't have to touch our bags once! These 'little things' make a big difference! We hope to return to Mauritius one day and would certainly go back to LUX Le Morne.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Overpriced

Posted Jan 9, 2017 on Hotels
The service is well under what we have experienced in other places in Mauritius. The staff often forgets your orders, doesn't pay attention to your needs (particularly true at the buffet). The activities like water skiing are rarely available because of tides (while the are available in other hotels only a few km away...). The room (junior suite ocean views) was nice bur very dark. There are many nicer places or better value on the island and of course around the world. Mauritius is beautiful and the people super welcoming and nice. Highly recommended destination but not in this hotel.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in a quiet corner of Mauritius

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Although my stay was very short, I enjoyed the friendliness of the staff, the very good breakfast (and, believe me, I usually don't like hotel breakfasts), the walking distance to Le Morne mountain and the quietness of the neighborhood. Would definitely come back, if I have the chance!
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Private luxury with pristine beach

Posted Sep 19, 2016 on Hotels
Superb daily activities planned by hotel - allow 2-3 days to partake in these. Location & beach is truly paradise! Great beach menus & free coconut drinks. Meals very expensive if not included in on-board, but if not big eaters, this option allows for flexibility. Request the balinese therapist at spa for the better massage technique/professional. Snorkeling & glass-bottom boat is free, but not to the best locations and boat skippers not customer orientated & very helpful with info & assistance. Recommend to book privately for dolphin watching (over-rated!) & great lagoon snorkeling with Philo - spacious boat, experienced skippers & very helpful service on-board. The East Thai restaurant cuisine was overly expensive & not worth the price as the food is not so flavourful, my lobster was very overcooked. But they obliged with wine. Rooms near the Oasis pool are very private but you hear the loud sound of the pool generator, even in the early morning.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from New York, USA

Destination LUX Le Morne

Posted Sep 5, 2016
Pros: the LUX Le Morne covered every need or want we had during our 7 night stay, including the most incredible weather.
Cons: the only improvement that I could think of, and it is minor in the scope of how great this resort is, would be to make the beach pathway wider.
Location: there is great shopping close by, and a visit to Casela Adventure park is a must. Otherwise, there reall is no reason to leave the resort.
Set under the backdrop of the Le Morne mountain, this resort is the epitome of paradise. The staff, the beach, westward facing for the most incredible Indian Ocean sunsets, the facilities, all are top notch, everything designed for your relaxation and pleasure. 5 star service at every turn. 5 star cuisine, and one of the most picturesque locations in the southwest of Mauritius. thank you to all who made our 10,000 mile trip from New York one to remember.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, close to the beach

Posted Aug 22, 2016
Pros: Almost everything.
Nice hotel, close to the beach, clean, good and kind hotel staff. Clean beach and water.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne

Beautiful facilities in a majestic location

Posted Aug 14, 2016
The hotel itself is beautiful and well maintained, the natural surroundings are stunning.staff are, for the most part, very friendly and efficient. The one main buffet restaurant is in aspectacularly location and generally good, as is the one bar. On the down side, there is fairly limited dining/drinking options and be prepared for "resort lock in" as its not easy to get to other locations...some eye-watering lock-in prices apply.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Immaculate hotel directly onto the beach

Posted Aug 13, 2016
Pros: The setting, the gardens, the corals outside your door, the immaculate and friendly staff.
Cons: A games area?
Location: The hotel is quite isolated on a stretch of beach nearby four other 5* hotels. Trips are possible. Chamarel is not too far and should be seen.
Probably the best hotel we have ever stayed at (well, we don't do 5 stars very often...). LUX is truly amazing, the facilities are immaculate and the staff an absolute pleasure. The beach is not the best for swimming but excellent for snorkelling - the amount and variety of fish out there is impressive. The pool is heated, which is great on windy or cloudy days in winter, when the temperatures are not at their highest. The food is excellent. Free water sports...A kind of paradise, really, though it comes at a price. A plate of pasta is about £18, beer £4. If you can afford all inclusive, that would be probably best.