Ratings based on 13 Verified Reviews

3.7 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: The cleanliness of the room and the quiet beach.
Cons: The catering
Location: Well situated. Lots of restaurant nearby.
This is my 5th stay at this hotel, and the superior room that they had for me (317) was one located right above the entertainment area and where the band plays nightly. I asked to change rooms but the only one available was on the ground floor. Given the safety issues governing hotels in Mauritius, I refused the ground floor room. The reservation manager, offered her apologies stating that the hotel was full. On my first night, the hotel was catering to a wedding.We were unable to sleep until after midnight and the guests had finally stopped cheering. What was disappointing was that during my stay, I could tell that the hotel was barely half full and even at breakfast only a third of the tables in the dining room were occupied. Also not many guests on the beach. The manager of the spa confirmed that the hotel was not very full that week end. I was happy that I had previously cancelled my second booking 22-24 July at that hotel and opted for another establishment. I must thank Angel at reception who accepted a late check out in order to compensate for my first bad night.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very pleasant apartment/chalet complex

Posted Oct 7, 2013
Our chalet was eight metres from the beach. Most other chalets a little more. Food provided by the establishment was as good as local restaurants.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel with golden sand beach @ reasonable price

Posted Aug 9, 2013
I have been several times to this hotel & has never been disappointed. Good value for money. As all rooms are sea facing & golden sand beach on one's door step, it is probably the best hotel at that price range in Mauritius. However it is in need of some updating which would undoubtedly make it more pleasant. Definitely go back again & again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Melbourne VIC, Australia

Great view and surroundings but a few things amiss

Posted Aug 3, 2013
Pros: The view and the staff
Cons: The furniture
Location: Great location
The people who work at Villas Caroline are very friendly and helpful. The furniture in the hotel though is a bit outdated. I didn't like the shower, the bathroom's too cramped, and the blinds can't be drawn properly. The bed was quite old though and it wasn't very comfortable. The best thing about this hotel is that you can get a room that opens right out to Flic en Flac beach, and you can access your room from the beach or the hotel. We didn't try the food, so we can't comment on that, but when we had drinks in their bar area and asked for snacks, they said they didn't have the option to have snacks, which I thought was rather bizarre for a bar.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marie from Toronto, ON, Canada

Great holiday

Posted Jul 23, 2013
Pros: The beach. We had a superior room with beach view. Excellent. The room was excellent.
Cons: Restaurant staff
Location: Great location. Wonderful beach.
Wonderful beach. Nice quiet hotel great for relaxation. This our 5th visit. Reception staff (Mr.Yagapen) very friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet very good. Restaurant staff rather slow. Evening entertainment very good.
2 out of 5
by Dan from Madagascar

Great location, but disappointing hotel!

Posted Jan 21, 2013
Pros: Location and the beach
Cons: Difference between half board and full board, staff attitude, entertainment.
Location: Great!
Villa Caroline was not my first, nor second or third choice for Mauritius! Because of problems out of my control, I was basically stuck with limited choice. Villa Caroline is nicely located, the beach is good, but the hotel is getting old and in need of upgrade. The room are big with good view, but not very clean, hot water is sometimes missing, the shower/bath arrangement makes it that the whole bathroom floor is wet after used, plus several rooms have links which wet the room floor. during my three weeks stay, I moved 3 times. The first time was because of the noise; the room was too close to the bar/dancing area/dining room area, even though there was a very small crowd. The entertainment was so-so, mainly oriented to the French speaking guest! Food was buffet style only. I was on half-board which is somewhat discriminate by full board. No beverages, including water, are free for the evening meal. A glass of water cost 4 Euro! Waiters do not like to serve half board because they must do a lot of paper work, so service was slow! Full board just go and get served, or served themselves during meals! All and all disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from cantu' italia

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: posizione ottima,bella spiaggia,complesso residenziale bello, la possibilita' di tenere la camera fino all'ora della partenza, atrezzatura da spiaggia
Cons: mettere bollitore x the e caffe' in camera e fare le camere piu' grandi prezzo alto rispetto allo standar della camera che mi aspettavo.
Location: posizione tranquilla in 10 minuti si arriva al piccolo centro e supermercato di fronte ce farmacia e centro medico bagno con delfini vicino con barca
agosto periodo ideale per chi ama visitare l'isola la temperatura perfetta per chi come me soffre il caldo non molto ideale per chi ama fare il bagno anche se in acqua si sta abbastanza bene. isola da molti contrasti da case in lamiera a ville super favolose. abitanti molto socievoli e cordiali con i turisti. le spiagge piu' belle e curate sono al nord dell'isola. tante spiagge sono deserte e selvagge quindi belle per chi non ama il casino. per contro le spiagge di alcune citta' non sono curate e sporche non ce ancora la mentalita' di tenere pulito quando si va in spiaggia. tramonti mozzafiato per amanti fotografia come il resto dell'isola. taxi a buon prezzo ma meglio sempre chiedere e trattare il prezzo. cucina buona per il pesce prezzo medio di un secondo e una birra media € 15,00 benzina € 1,00 al litro circa. appartamenti in agosto vanno da 30 a 50 € al giorno 2 camere bagno cucina e soggiorno ma alcuni sporchi e con insetti la pulizia lascia desiderare. divertente la gita all'isola dei cervi con catamarano se in buona compagnia il nostro gruppo era di 20 amici. bello il parco botanico consiglio la guida di un addetto del parco costa solo €1,50 a persona. port luis la capitale vale la visita divertente contrattare al grand bazar tirate il prezzo del 50% sparano alto hai turisti. bella la visita a blue bay con barca con fondale di vetro e tuffarsi tra i pesci visto anche 2 tartarughe. per il resto scopritelo voi stessi ogni viaggio insegna qualcosa di nuovo........
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from z

Molto grazioso proprio sulla spiaggiaaaa

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Bellissima vacanza.....mangiare ottimo...l'unica pecca è pagare il caffè espresso 2.5€!!!! Troppo, come tanti bevono tanta birra e liquori almeno 3 volte al gg il caffè espresso gratis
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Ta inte all inklusive på detta hotel. Lika mat var

Posted Jan 10, 2015
Ligger perfekt vid stranden och man bor med utsikt över havet!! Trevlig personal men annars ganska medel. Tre stjärnor stämmer nog bra
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Norway

Prisvärt hotell med perfekt läge på en fin strand

Posted Jul 21, 2014
Cons: Ha för gids skull inte disco precis bredvid alla middagsgäster under middagen, extremt störande.
Location: perfekt läge på stranden närhet till supermarked bra men relativt billigt hotell på Flic en Flac närhet till södra safarin