Ratings based on 639 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
84% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Parking included

Posted Apr 17, 2018
A little bit noisy at night and at 6 am with the church bells. Everything is a little bit old. Nice and helpful staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Bronx, New York

From New York to PR

Posted Apr 16, 2018
While the staff was absolutely fabulous especially Edward Antonetti (my favorite check in clerk EVER) the conditions of the rooms were unfortunately lacking and outdated. Our second day there the air conditioner leaked all over the tiled floor and it was tended too immediately (within 10 minutes flat) and were were upgraded to a nicer and larger room by Edward A (he’s a rockstar). By the 5th day the toilet got stopped up and that too was attended to immediately. The cleaning staff is fabulous and fast - so much so we left them a hefty tip. There is a night club 2 blocks away and I could sometimes hear the music but that didn’t bother me as I live in NYC. The hotel is located in a nice part of Mayaguez, the parking is a block away, the pool is a large hot tub, the elevator worked thankfully. Honestly it just needs to be updated to 2018.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Posted Apr 8, 2018
The hotel itself is nice, the staff is friendly and efficient, but the after-hours street noises from drivers playing their radios extra loud or revving their engines is way out of line. We informed the front desk and she said they had told the authorities many, many times, but nothing had been done about it. I’m originally from PR and know what ahe’a talking about. Unfortunately, PR police is not efficient - understatement!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bayamon, PR

Honestly

Posted Mar 27, 2018
The hotel is well located, when you consider that it is beside the central plaza of the city of Mayaguez. This makes getting around town very easy and comfortable. The room was clean, and this is not the first time we have stayed at this hotel. But, and this is not the hotel at fault, there are some bars or pubs in the streets nearby, that, unless you are into the party and drinking mode, it is not funny to wake up on a Sunday at 2 am because of the noise. Not the party per se, but the cars, the loudspeakers, the people and the drunk, and the general atmosphere at late hours. Again, the only thing the hotel could do about this is make the local municipality have theses businesses removed, and I doubt they have the muscle to do that. Other than that, it is an Ok place to rest, when you need to be centric.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel in downtown Mayaguez

Posted Mar 12, 2018
The hotel is nice, but what really impressed me was the staff. They were all very friendly and ready to service. The hotel has a little cafe restaurant. Overall it was good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: Great staff service, near to downtown, excellent cleanliness....
My preferred hotel in west area. Every time I come to Mayaguez I visited hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York City

Great hotel in center of Plaza

Posted Mar 5, 2018
Pros: I liked location.
Cons: Telephone I need the room.
Location: Location had plaza de Colon, cathedral, shops and some eateries nearby.
I enjoyed my stay at hotel as it had convenient parking lot, clean room,great location to center of plaza Colon and Ricomini bakery and food mart. I recommend staying highly. Room was very comfortable and on top floors have a spectacular view of the town all around. Thank you Howard Johnson Hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, excellent location,

Posted Feb 26, 2018
a lot of humidity and very cold air conditioning, could not be controlled
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Mayaguez Puerto Rico.

Not what Howard Johnson name means.

Posted Feb 19, 2018
Old building, bathroom needs replacement several pieces. Kitchen very very slow. Poor room cleaning.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 17, 2018
The best was the cost per night. It is an excellent hotel in good conditions.