Ratings based on 664 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Convenient business location

Posted Jul 24, 2017
Overall, the stay in this property was quite pleasant. The staff was extremely helpful and friendly. I did not elect to have the breakfast option included with my reservation. That said, I met my colleagues, who were on the breakfast plan, in the Maze restaurant for a cup of coffee. I was charged 20.25 pounds for a single (no refills offered) cup of coffee. There was no information to that effect (the charges) from either the hostess or the server, just the bill as I was leaving for my meeting. The only other issue I had with the hotel was the very noisy guests in the next room who allowed their children to yell and bang on the wall until well after 11:00PM.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NYC

nice hotel, good location, terrible rooms

Posted Jul 7, 2017
Pros: good location
Cons: I think we said it about
Arrived and was given an extremely small room (it was actually the joining room for a larger suite not a superior room which we paid for) with a bathroom that you could not even turn around in. The bed had a metal bar around it so that in the middle of the night if one had to use the bathroom you could not get out of bed without hitting your head. Totally unsatisfactory! When we asked to have our room changed a very nice lady showed us two other rooms to choose from .... one room that was a single room and the same size as ours and one that was very pleasant but she said it was an extra 140 pounds a night. We decided to stay in our very small room. The next day we got a nice note from the front desk that said they had another room for us and if we would pack up they would move us. After packing we called the front desk and they had the nerve to say they knew nothing about the letter and that they could not accommodate our request without charging us extra. At that point I nearly lost it. Went down to speak with the manager and showed him the letter. They apologized said the letter was a mistake, however seeing how upset I was getting they somehow found a much larger better room in the hotel for us. I would never stay in the hotel again. Even for European standards the rooms are exceptionally small, the bathrooms tiny, tiny and the response from the front desk personal not satisfactory.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from houston texas

Nice hotel.l in a nice quiet part of london

Posted Jul 2, 2017
Great peaceful parklike area. A short metro trip from all the sights. Away from the bustle so nice to relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Nice hotel well located

Posted May 16, 2017
This hotel it is very well located , near to oxford street , near to the bus , metro nice place nice people . Also it has many restaurants near by
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

INITIAL ROOM I WAS ASSIGNED WAS TINY FOR AN 8 DAY

Posted May 9, 2017
Pros: Convenience
Cons: Recognition of Marriott status
Initial room I was assigned was tiny even though I am Marriott gold member and it was an 8 day stay. I complained and was moved into a more comportable room but was under the impression that they were trying to get away with giving me a very small room as I was a single guest and might just accept it, as they very quickly gave me a bigger room when I raised my concerns. Annoying given how many times I have stayed at this hotel over the last 15 years.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Las Vegas

Ahhhhh......

Posted May 9, 2017
The location to restaurants and the tube is awesome. The surroundings were amazing if you like architecture, and if you want to feel like you're in a scene from Downtown Abbey, then this place is perfect. We were in 501 which is the last room in the hall and when we arrived we noticed a very audible hum... it was annoying for about 2 minutes, but we left and ate and come back and it was the best 'white noise' we could have hoped for... slept like babies. I'm a travel agent and would definitely recommend this location.... The tube is an amazing ant hill of excitement Jim
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 30, 2017
Pros: The staff was very friendly
Cons: The water temperature
The room was not cleaned one day. The shower water temperature would jump from the set temperature to extremely hot then to extremely cold. This happened every day.
1 out of 5
by Chris

So near yet so far

Posted Apr 24, 2017 on Hotels
The front of house staff are very helpful and can't rate them highly enough. However they have to be to make up for the poor housekeeping and maintenence of the hotel in general. When we arrived rubbish had been left in the room from previous guest, TV and "handy" device unusable which despite the efforts of the staff were never resolved. The AC was so noisy it was unusable which then meant the tiny room was far too hot. The room itself had signs of lack of maintenance and general love and care (I could write my name in the dust in the room as an example) for £200+ per night I expected much much more. It is a shame as the area is lovely and the staff helpful and friendly but sadly that cannot make up for the general feeling of not being worth the price tag.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Jose

Great hotel close to Bond and Oxford.

Posted Apr 23, 2017
Stayed in the suite. It was missing the sofa bed but they brought up two cots. Great size. Nice hotel overall that is updated and has all the amenities you would ever need. Great restaurant and hotel bar and lounge, friendly staff, very good location on Maystair.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Fanstastic!

Posted Apr 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel and staff was absolutely amazing!