Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Comfortable Hotel. Good value for money

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Location: The hotel is about two miles from the town centre in a quiet area. There are more convenient hotels for the town if you prefer not to drive.
Spacious rooms. Clean and Comfortable. Very quiet at night. Excellent value for money. I didn't use the restaurant, bar area or leisure centre. Common areas are clean and well presented. Hotel is generally bright and spacious. It's excellent for one or two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Natalie Burke - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review Mick. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon & hopefully next time you will get to use more amenities and dine with us! Kind Regards, Natalie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Hotel is in a lovely area Pillows in beds like sleeping on a brick had to buy 2 cushions to sleep on second night Staff need more control and leadership the eating area is very disorganised Ate in bar second night food not very appetising
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the breakfast service & the pillows. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The bed was so comfortable
Cons: The carpet in bedroom wAs filthy .
Friendly helpful staff , breakfast was lovely , had food in restaurant the pasta was to die for only problem no early bird as advertised on site ..and site also said till half eleven for breakfast .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Have passed on comments re. breakfast as it is normally 10.30am midweek and 11am at weekends. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: It was very comfortable and clean, and there was plenty of parking. Food was also very good.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: It was a little way out of Ballina, but that meant it was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of town.
Lovely large hotel, very comfortable king sized bed. There was a slight mix-up about our booking for eight of us for dinner, but it was quite quickly sorted out! and the food was very nice. We wished we were staying longer than one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth Australia

Lovely hotel in great location

Posted Sep 10, 2016
Pros: Great staff and atmosphere.
The room we had was huge. The staff were really helpful. Great bar and restaurant. Would highly recommend this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Natalie - Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 9, 2016 on Hotels
It was excellent
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Dublin

Gem of a hotel: Really decent rooms + warm welcome

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
A gem of a hotel just outside Ballina. It has a plain look from the outside but it is an excellent hotel. Nice big reception area and a very warm welcome. Duty Manager PJ couldn't have been more helpful. Room was very decent. Big bed, well equipped and modern. We'll be back as a base in the Ballina area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review - PJ is delighted! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Natalie - Revenue Manager
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
Great value and exceptionally comfortable bed. The only thing not positive about this hotel is the lack of WiFi connectivity in the room despite the fact that our room was located considerably close to the lobby!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 5, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from loughmore

great value for money

Posted Sep 2, 2016 on Hotels
business in locality
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 17, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review! We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back again. Kind Regards, Natalie - Revenue Manager