Ratings based on 250 Verified Reviews

4.2 out of 5
85% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Family hotel

Posted Jan 27, 2017
Pros: Facilities
Cons: New mattress needed - bit soft.
Location: Travel to coast for cliffs/scenery.
Set in a quiet location just out of Ballina. Handy to main road. Swimming pool for children while you unwind in the jacuzzi and sauna. Friendly staff.
Comment from Hotel Management
Feb 7, 2017 by Natalie King - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina. Kind Regards, Natalie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from ely uk

Quiet and comfortable stay

Posted Jan 16, 2017
Lovely, comfortable quiet rooms, clean and well equipped. Friendly helpful staff happy to go the extra mile. A great stay.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2017 by Natalie King - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you so much Ethel for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina soon. Kind Regards, Natalie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from o

Good first impressions

Posted Dec 23, 2016
Arrived at check in with noone there. Had to ring to get checked in. Tried to have banter with the staff about the smoking policy and got glared at. Went to my room and it looks fantastic till you explore more. I went straight to the leisure centre to be told the lockers are all broke. Fantastic. Sauna and bucket was broke but everything else was fantastic. I went back to my room to wind down to a bath that was scorching hot and could not manage to drop the temperature. No cold water for it. I told reception and got told we look into it. The sink was full of mascara and black spots all over the sink unit. Got told check out is at 12. Set my alarm for 11:30 to be woken up by maid bursting in at 11.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review Chris. I have responded to the other one you left - I hope you received it. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie Revenue Manager
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 27, 2016 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 4, 2017 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. Glad you enjoyed your recent stay. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie Revenue Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ireland

Comfortable Hotel. Good value for money

Posted Nov 18, 2016
Location: The hotel is about two miles from the town centre in a quiet area. There are more convenient hotels for the town if you prefer not to drive.
Spacious rooms. Clean and Comfortable. Very quiet at night. Excellent value for money. I didn't use the restaurant, bar area or leisure centre. Common areas are clean and well presented. Hotel is generally bright and spacious. It's excellent for one or two nights.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by Natalie Burke - Revenue Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review Mick. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon & hopefully next time you will get to use more amenities and dine with us! Kind Regards, Natalie
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

lovely hotel

Posted Nov 14, 2016 on Hotels
Lovely staff lovely hotel good stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 29, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. I am delighted you enjoyed your recent stay. I hope we have the pleasure of welcoming you back soon. Kind Regards, Natalie
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient comfortable hotel with pool and gym

Posted Nov 1, 2016 on Hotels
We were going to a wedding in the area and this hotel was the perfect place for us to stay
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by General Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Location good

Posted Oct 31, 2016
Hotel is in a lovely area Pillows in beds like sleeping on a brick had to buy 2 cushions to sleep on second night Staff need more control and leadership the eating area is very disorganised Ate in bar second night food not very appetising
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. I have passed on your comments regarding the breakfast service & the pillows. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: The bed was so comfortable
Cons: The carpet in bedroom wAs filthy .
Friendly helpful staff , breakfast was lovely , had food in restaurant the pasta was to die for only problem no early bird as advertised on site ..and site also said till half eleven for breakfast .
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Have passed on comments re. breakfast as it is normally 10.30am midweek and 11am at weekends. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

Great hotel

Posted Oct 17, 2016
Pros: It was very comfortable and clean, and there was plenty of parking. Food was also very good.
Cons: Nothing really
Location: It was a little way out of Ballina, but that meant it was quiet and away from the hustle and bustle of town.
Lovely large hotel, very comfortable king sized bed. There was a slight mix-up about our booking for eight of us for dinner, but it was quite quickly sorted out! and the food was very nice. We wished we were staying longer than one night.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by Natalie, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind review. We are delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us. Hopefully we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back to Great National Hotel Ballina in the near future. Kind Regards, Natalie