Ratings based on 98 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from london

Close to sea

Posted Aug 6, 2017
The room doesn't look like the photo in the websit, the hotel over rating for 4 star
5 out of 5
by allen

Great experience at Mahara

Posted Jan 18, 2017 on Hotels
The hotel staff went all out in helpfulness and courtesy. When there. Were no taxis working to get us to the bus station one of thestaff drove us herself. They helped us plan our transportation with the bus schedule The food in the restaurant was outstanding even though there were only a handful of guests offseason. For breakfast they provided free room service with food fit for a king,s banquet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Definitely Recommend!

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Pros: Located not too far from a fantastic little beach with a bar. Short walk to the town centre. Quite, clean room with a big balcony. What's not to like!
Cons: All good as far as we're concerned. I wish I was back there now!
Location: Great little town centre nearby with cheap but good cuisine. I would recommend the cruise to Favignana and Levanzo which departs from Marsala.
Fantastic, friendly staff. Clean rooms Great breakfasts and facilities. Can't fault anything about our stay. Just wish it was for longer. We'll definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, Canada

FANTASTIC

Posted Aug 7, 2015
We had a fantastic breakfast in the courtyard. The staff was friendly when we arrived and told us about breakfast the next morning, but the experience was better than expected. The food selection was enormous and the courtyard amazing. The location is close to the beach. We also met the owner Antonio and he gave us an explanation of the history of the location. He was so passionate. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel.
3 out of 5
by Susan from bucks

In need of refurbishment.

Posted Jul 14, 2015 on Hotels
The hotel is big and impersonal. Apart from one receptionist called Mary we felt as if we were invisible. The breakfast staff were helpful.
5 out of 5
by Andy W from Halifax

Huge beds

Posted Oct 22, 2014 on Hotels
Really friendly, comfortable hotel. Would definitely stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sukh from London, UK

Great hotel for everyone!

Posted Aug 14, 2013
Pros: The room layout and space, the pool and everything
Location: Located next to the sea/beach, restaurants, ice cream shops and the centre
The hotel is great, literally across the road from an amazing beach and sea. Restaurants and the best ice cream places can be found along the main road where the hotel is located (perfect for those with a sweet tooth like me). Inside the hotel and room is super clean and all the staff are really nice and very helpful. The room was clean and comfortable at all times. The view was amazing from the room. The pool is nice and big with enough room to swim. I cannot express in words how much of a great time I had here! I will 100% be back!
1 out of 5
by petermc72 from glasgow

utter disgrace

Posted Jul 17, 2013 on Hotels
We arrived on monday 8th July to an average room which was supposed to be superior. On the 2nd day there was a power failure rendering the hotel without running water, sanitation, lights, air conditioning or electricity at the socket outlets. We were advised this would be restored on various ocassions which proved to be incorrect. The power was off for almost 48hrs with no assistance from hotel staff ie providing candles, bottled water etc. As soon as we found another hotel me, my wife and 2 young children left immediately.
3 out of 5
by Paul

Posted Oct 7, 2012 on Hotels
It is in a convenient location about a 10 minute walk from the city center. It is on the waterfront, but about 1 km from the beach. The waterfront is littered with trash and smells badly in some places. The staff is efficient, but not everyone is very helpful. They speak limited English. The lobby is nice, but the hallway where my room was located needed to be refurbished and smelled a bit odd. The room was plain, but clean and a nice size by the standards of many European hotels. I did not try the restaurant. It is an adequate hotel, but is nothing special.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Stephanie from New York

Very nice

Posted Jul 27, 2012
Cons: Pool towels cost 5 euro each to rent :( we air dried!
Location: Close to the beach, but not actually on a beach that you can go to. You need to walk a few minutes to get there.
We just stayed in the Mahara while visiting family in Mazara and it was very nice. Clean room, free wi-fi, large shower, nice pool and a pleasant staff. It's definitely not a four star, but I read reviews before staying there so that's what I excepted, but it was still a great place for the price and I would stay again!