Ratings based on 50 Verified Reviews

4.6 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

The Very Best. Hands Down

Posted Nov 29, 2016
Pros: Location, service, room decor.
Cons: In room coffee machine. Addition of a mini fridge.
Location: Malecon, El Faro, Machado, Old Town, Central Mazatlan, all the nice restaurants, Cathedral Immaculate Conception
Spent six nights at the Casa Lucila Boutique Hotel and the experience was top notch. The location is absolutely ideal, being away from the touristy Golden Zone. It's at the very south end of the Malecon, but about 100 yards or so off of the busy main drag that runs along it. Walking distance from El Faro, the Merchado, the best restaurants, and the beach. The property only has 8 rooms and we stayed in room #4, The Esther. The whole property appears to be newly remodeled. Everything is modern, beautiful and well maintained. Our room was very spacious. Had a walk out to a shared balcony with three other rooms that overlook the ocean on the 2nd floor. The service could not have been better. At the restaurant downstairs, we had dinner there once, drinks on multiple occasions, and breakfast every morning. Our usual waitress' service was exemplary. On our next trip to Mazatlan, I can't imagine staying anyplace else.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great location, first class facility.

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Enjoyed our short stay at this hotel. Everything was first class. Our only regret was we got the room on the first floor which is almost like a basement room, all the other rooms were with ocean views. Make sure you do not get the room alma, as this is not good value compared to the other rooms.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 23, 2016 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest Jim, Thank you for sharing your thoughts on our hotel. We definitely wish everyone could stay in one of our ocean view rooms. Honestly, we agree the only benefit to staying in the Alma room is if you are planning on having four people to the room. Other than that, it's always better to have a view of the ocean. I appreciate your honesty as it's good for potential guests to see other people's true experiences. Best, Sophia
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

One in a new and fun line of boutique hotels.

Posted Oct 27, 2015
Pros: Condition, location, tremendous views.
Cons: Need better wifi -- wifi connectivity is intermittent.
Mexico is now bringing on line a lot of boutique hotels fashioned out of old colonial properties. This one has a tremendous view, great restaurant and good staff. It is away from the main tourist beaches but near malecon with great seafood and bars close by.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 21, 2016 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest Anonymous, Thanks for the lovely review! We agree that our views are really fantastic. If you stayed in the Marina room, that room is awful with Wi-Fi. We have tried many ways to expand the Wi-Fi into that room (separated from the rest of the hotel with 4 feet of concrete) and we've had little success. We've improved our communication with guests by alerting them that there is no Wi-Fi available in the Marina room with the hopes that it helps manage expectations for their trip. Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us! Sophia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Camarillo, CA

Great hotel, beautiful view, great amenities

Posted Jun 2, 2015
Restaurant food and service was excellent! The staff was helpful friendly and above par. Pool, spa, and rooms couldn't have been more perfect. Highly recommend to anyone for a affordable luxury boutique hotel. The shrimp tacos are to die for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 17, 2015 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Hi Jenny, Thank you so much for the great review! We always appreciate honest feedback from our guests and when they are glowing, well, we glow too. We too love our shrimp tacos! Next time try the fish tacos, they are delicious! Hope to see you soon, Sophia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Experience at the Casa Lucila was over the top!

Posted May 16, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Nothing
Location: Excellent restaurants
From the appearance to the very personable staff it is a gem in Mazatlan.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 18, 2015 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest friend, thank you so much for your great review! We appreciate the "over the top" comment as that's always refreshing to hear! We look forward to seeing you back in Mazatlan again soon. Best, Sophia
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I felt ripped off

Posted May 16, 2015
The room I was given would make a great dungeon. No natural ventilation due to one tiny window facing the back yard. Dark, damp and claustrophobic. I immediately requested a different room after the first night, but the reception clerk just smiled. I got Expedia to call the hotel, but they were told that no manager was available. Because I didn't want this to ruin my holidays, I took a different hotel. To this day, Case Lucia has not refunded the nights I didn't stay there. Be aware that there is no beach close to the hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 20, 2016 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest Arne, I'm sad to hear that you felt the Alma room would make a great dungeon. I would like to explain that we do have a hotel policy of 7 day cancellation fee which is probably why you have not seen any refund. During the time that you wished to change rooms, there were no available rooms for the duration of your stay which is unfortunately why we could not make the arrangements. I hope that you enjoyed the rest of your vacation at the other hotel and am sorry that you were disappointed with the room itself. I appreciate your honesty and thank you for sharing this so others will know that the Alma Room does not have an ocean view. Many thanks, Sophia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver, CO

Great modern hotel in old town Mazatlan.

Posted May 3, 2015
Pros: Everything.
Cons: A little more privacy on the balconies.
Location: Very, very close to all the old town activities without the noise and crowds. We walked to everything.
A very comfortable and quiet hotel across from the ocean. A short walk to the plaza and great restaurants. Great views from our balcony and all the public rooms and restaurant. Very,very,very pleasant and relaxing. Staff was attentive, friendly and helpful. Some staff members had marginal English skills and were not very helpful with booking excursions. The infinity pool was spectacular. Again, great views from everywhere. The Casa Lucilia definetly exceeded our expectations. Would enthusiastically recommend to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 7, 2015 by sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest friend, Thank you so much for your great review and we appreciate all feedback. We will definitely try and make sure that our staff can better assist you and other guests with booking excursions better. We look forward to seeing you back here again! Many thanks, Sophia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis, MN

Lovely restored hotel with ocean views

Posted Jan 9, 2015
Pros: Location, overall decorating and environment, ocean views, service.
Cons: Wi-fi did not work well in the room (thick walls, maybe?) but worked fine in the main courtyard.
Location: Lots of restaurants and art galleries within walking distance. Also walking distance to lovely historical buildings, main outdoor square with concerts
This small boutique hotel is beautifully restored, so it's kind of a combination of old world charm with modern conveniences. Staff was excellent, with everyone going out of there way to make our stay perfect. We ate breakfast at the restaurant on the main floor twice and the food was excellent (homemade pastries!). Our room had a beautiful view of the ocean and the boardwalk. I would definitely recommend this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 19, 2015 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest Susie, Thank you for the wonderful review! Thank you for trying our Botes de Panes, we think they are pretty delicious as well. We hope that you are able to come back again soon. It's much warmer in Mazatlan than Minnesota! Many thanks again! Sophia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Erick from Los Angeles

Shedding the Stresses of Reality

Posted Jun 2, 2014
Pros: The location.
Cons: A better parking space.
Location: It's super close to the historical place of Mazatlan "Plazuela Machado", very cool area and pedestrian friendly.
Nice boutique hotel, great staff and excellent restaurant food!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2014 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest Erick, thank you for the short and sweet review! We especially love the subject line. We hope all your stresses were relieved during your stay here at Casa Lucila! Many thanks, Sophia
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Andrew from Greater Sudbury, ON, Canada

Quiet, luxurious perfection

Posted Mar 18, 2013
Pros: Luxury, quiet and proximity to central old-town with ocean-front sunset views.
Cons: Having to leave. Steep steps up to front door may be difficult for those with limited mobility
Location: Warm, sunny climate (in March), sunset ocean view and surrounded by Mexican life as opposed to tourist-only, loud mega-hotel.
As a professional couple in our mid-40's, our ideal winter vacation spot is quiet, luxurious, close to local culture and fine dining in a warm climate with ocean view. This can be difficult to find, let-alone at a reasonable price during Ontario's public school March Break. Casa Lucilla fits all of those requirements perfectly. We spent 4 nights in the sublime 'Lupita' room on the top (3rd) floor of this fantastic property in mid-March. The hotel is a successful blend of European luxury with colonial Mexican architecture that simply soothes the soul. The location in Olas Altas, across the steet from the ocean, steps from the most charming parts of 'Centro' - Mazatlan's old town is perfect for both contemplating the vastness of the Pacific ocean as the sun slowly sets directly in front of you and wandering the maze of narrow steets lined with galleries, shops and restaurants that reminded us of a mix between Santa Fe and Lisbon. The hotel staff were all friendly, most speaking excellent English and the on-site restaurant is one of Maztlan's finest with a superb staff as well. The bed was extremely comfortable, the room lighting was very flexible and the access to the open patio with infinity plunge pool was wonderful.
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 23, 2014 by Sophia, Hotel Management
Dearest Andrew, Wow. All we can say is wow. What a wonderful review! We have tried to figure out the best way to sum up what we'd like to offer our guests and you have summed it up perfectly! Thank you so much for appreciating our boutique property and giving us such great feedback. Many, many, many (times infinity) thanks! Sophia