Ratings based on 765 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
83% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Southern California

Too many hidden fees and tricks.

Posted Dec 6, 2016
The hotel in its self is ok in general, but be careful when dining at their restaurants. We paid the admission fee to one of them, which was way over priced, and the host did a bad, and I mean horrible job at telling us that we only had 5 minutes to eat. They rushed us and we didn't finish our food. The food sucked by the way. Upset about the situation, we decided to order local pizza and the hotel charged us for the local call. At that point, we made a decision not to eat at any of their restaurants. To further add to insult, they made a big deal about us brining food or drinks from outside the hotel. The overall experience was horrible. The rooms were clean and had a great view, but I won't recommend this place.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Cons: pillows were a little hard, but if that is the only complaint that I can make, it is not really even worth mentioning
Absolutely magnificent - we will definitely be returning.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing pool area

Posted Nov 12, 2016
Location: Eat lots of seafood it is so fresh!
I had a great staying here with my family. Their pool area is huge and they do a really good job cleaning it everyday. The great part is that the beach is so close to you, literally right behind the hotel, in its backyard.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2016 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Dear Karla, Thanks for your positives comments in regards your recent visit to our beautiful port of Mazatlán. I'm so happy to read how enjoyed your stay with us. Please feel free to conatc us if we can help you in next future. My best, German Fayad General Manager.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

Great place to visit with your family!

Posted Nov 9, 2016
Location: Location is perfect. It's right on the hotel row with many money exchange stores, markets and restaurants.
I booked this hotel without the all inclusive option and was really happy with everything! There are multiple restaurants with great food and reasonable prices. The staff was extremely friendly and the fact that there were four pools was pretty awesome. My family members who were staying at different hotels only wanted to spend their time with me. Pros: Amazing pools, clean rooms, breathtaking balcony views from ocean view rooms & friendly staff Cons: The rooms in the Castilla tower that are on the corner of the building get extremely hot regardless of whether you have the air conditioning at the lowest temperature. Try and request a room in the middle of the building to ensure it stays cool
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from MONTERREY

Posted Oct 25, 2016
Buen servicio, esta muy agradable y las albercas están geniales para los niños.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 7, 2016 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Estimada Viridiana, Me alegra saber que disfrutó de nuestros servicios en su reciente visita. Esperamos tenerla de nuevo con nosotros en un futuro no distante y proporcionarle el mismo nivel de servicio. Gracias por su confianza. Sinceramente, German Fayad Gerente General
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel Agradable

Posted Sep 6, 2016
Hotel agradable, recomendado al 100, personal muy atento
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Sep 6, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

HOTEL RECOMENDABLE !!!!!

Posted Aug 30, 2016 on Hotels
EL HOTEL SE ENCUENTRA EN UNA MUY BUENA UBICACION... LO UNICO DE LA HABITACION FUE EL BAÑO MUY PEQUEÑO.. PERO NADA QUE NO SE PUEDA TOLERAR.. POR LO GENERAL MUY BIEN..NOS ENCANTARON LAS ALBERCAS.. ADEMAS QUE ESTABAN MUY BIEN VIGILADAS POR LOS SALVAVIDAS...
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Nice hotel, not so nice staff

Posted Aug 18, 2016
Pros: amenities
Cons: housekeeping staff
Location: everything is close!
I know this hotel since I was little. I really love it and find it really comfortable. but this last time the cleaning staff was rude and unproductive.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 20, 2016 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Dear Tathyana, Wow! More like an eulogy! What splendid reading...very pleased that you enjoyed all that we and the area have to offer and you really love the hotel . we have worked hard to appreciate our guests and visiting El Cid El Castilla should be like returning home. Is surprising and very disappointing your experience with our maid service. I Personally take care to thoroughly investigate the situation. An apologies for the inconvenience. Again, thank you very much for your kind words and your loyalty. We appreciate it and the pleasure is all ours. We look forward to seeing you again! Kind regards, German Fayad Gerente General.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from DTLA, CA

Not at all what it claims to be, horrible!

Posted Aug 9, 2016
This place is overbooked and understaffed. NOT ALL INCLUSVE as it claims. Poorly staffed, including lifeguard. One day person pooped in pool, area evacuated without signs. Guests had to be ones to keep people out of water. One hotel maid per room, our rooms often cleaned late in day. Kitchen in La Portella is digfusting and staff do not follow hygiene guidelines. Rooms have not been updated, other than TV all of from 1980. Two small elevators not enough and scorching hot. Don't do it!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 27, 2016 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Dear Ms. Cm, I am very concerned by your recent experience at our resort. We value our guest feedback which is important to our continual improvement efforts and rest assured that I have personally discussed your feedback in detail with the management team so they will take immediately actions of these issues. Our team members, specialists on their respective area, are specifically assigned to deal with high season occupancy, and regularly I personally take specific areas to supervise everything is working properly. I would also like to inform you that we are working on food and beverage quality, continually improving our food handling procedures reviewed by an external certification company “Crystal” to keep always high standards of quality of service. Thank s for letting us know and bring our attention to these issues. In regards to pool hygiene we feel very sorry for the inconvenience this may have to you and your family, unfortunately is out of our control. Every guest is much than welcome to our home El CID Resort and we make a big effort to let them know our policies and procedures of quality to ensure they follow the rules. Thanks for your trust and we look forward to have a second chance to host you and let you know what El CID has to offer. Sincerely, German Fayad General Manager