Ratings based on 286 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Washington

Pretty sure ALL rooms have beach view - NICE!

Posted May 26, 2017
Pros: The pools, some of the bartenders/staff (Ignacio was AMAZING), the views, the beach, the buffet food is above average. Restaurants are pretty good.
Cons: The dress code - men can't wear sleeveless shirts in ANY of the restaurants, including the buffet. A couple restaurants not part of all-inclusive.
Location: Right on the beach and there's a decent amount of shops nearby. Take a pulmonia to the boardwalk and more shopping, or walk but it's a little far.
Stayed here for a week (Sat-Sat) with friends. My friends own timeshare there and were pretty irritated that I paid the same on Expedia for my All Inclusive Room for two than they had to pay as members for their all-inclusive bracelets! :) The place has it's pros and cons, but overall is a very nice resort whether you're travelling with friends, looking for a romantic getaway, or going on a family vacation. I would definitely not bother buying a timeshare, but their sales pitch (should you CHOOSE to attend it - it's NOT required) is definitely worth it. VERY low pressure if you're up front about not being interested. All I had to do was say I got a better deal on Expedia and we were done. LOL The pools here are great - HUGE, all over the resort, kids areas, shallow pools, deep pools, diving spots, slides, swim-up bars... there's a quiet pool too, but that's only for "members" (luckily we were WITH members). The beach was also great, and is right off the pool area. Wait staff patrol the beach too, so you can get drinks and bar food without leaving your cabana!! DO, however, expect to be constantly approached by locals selling things on the beach. The drinks aren't as good as they were at El Cid in Cancun, but if you get a margarita on the rocks, they're better than the blended ones. I wasn't able to find any vendors nearby that I felt weren't "touristy". Was hoping to find local honey, coffee, hand-made stuff... but most of it looked to be made in China.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Michigan

Pros and Cons

Posted Apr 10, 2017
Pros: We loved the people. Everyone was so kind.
Cons: New beds and pillows. Bars where people can sit and mingle.
Location: We did the tequila tour and loved it. Our tour guide, Ulysses with Pronto Travel, was fabulous.
This was our 4th Mexican All-Inclusive vacation, and out first time at the El Cid El Morro. Pros-Wonderful people! Great staff. If Ana asks you to do the timeshare presentation, do it. We did this for the perks and it was interesting. We didn't purchase and did not feel overly pressured as a result. Ana was fabulous and became our go-to person whenever we needed anything. We had a very bad experience with a timeshare presentation on a visit to Puerto Vallarta and vowed to never do one again. Ana promised it wouldn't be high pressure, and it wasn't. The room was spacious and very clean. The food was good (typical all-inclusive fare) with lots of variety. The hotel itself was very clean. The pool and beach were clean, and we always found chairs. The staff is attentive. We only hung out at the adult pool. It is not heated, so we didn't swim. Our 18 year old daughter met kids her own age and had fun hanging out with them. There are lots of interesting places to walk to. There is a great Italian restaurant across the street. Taxis are cheap and easy to hail. We felt safe at all times (we do not speak any Spanish.) Cons-The night life is limited. We did not attend the shows. The beds and pillows are very hard. They did add a pad for us, but it was still miserably hard. There is a disco near the hotel which has loud music playing all night. Take an iPad with a white noise reduction app to help with this. One night a very loud band of musicians played on the beach until 1:00 am.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 11, 2017 by German Fayad / General Manager, Hotel Management
Dear Syllie, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments by Expedia regarding your recent vacations at el Cid Moro. It is through guest reviews such as yours that we can assess the standards of our service, and therefore make changes, so as to meet and exceed your expectations. It is very good to hear that you enjoyed our facilities and that the staff was kind and helpful to your needs. Please be assured that we addressed the issues you mentioned with the staff involved so we can make the improvements necessaries. We are thankful for the opportunity to continue to improve every day. I would hope that you would reconsider coming back to stay with us when your plans might bring you to Mazatlan again in the future. Kind Regards,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Twin Cities, MN

Great location!

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Pros: Location, beach, pool, easy walk to other local eateries and shops
Cons: Continue updates with Decor. Pool chairs, need more and better comfort. Managers all look mad, need to smile. They don't appear happy to help customer
Location: Many shops and restaurants near by. Easy to get transportation right out front or ask bellmen. Ride in the open air Pulmonia or Red Truck.
Property is very large. Great pool options! Nice variety of areas for food and drinks. Easy walking to other eating options and shops. While some things have been updated there is still some work to be done. We were in a one bedroom luxury suite and when we needed assistance with opening the pull out sofa bed they were very fast to arrive and all with a smile. We find it strange that men can not dine in any of the restaurants in a nice designer tank with nice shorts, but women can dine in their bathing suits with no sundress or anything. Very strang! While they didn't want to loose a sale, the server went running out to the activities desk to get a tshirt for him to put in over his tank. All while we were seated next to two women in spaghetti strap swim tops, one lady was very large and we were all very taken back by this.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2017 by German Fayad Gerente General, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, First of all I would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments regarding your recent stay with us at El Cid Moro. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay and that all our staff was kind and helpful to your needs. Your comments are very important to us to continue improving our services to provide the best guest experiences. Please be assured that we do all we can to address the issues you mentioned. I hope we can continue being your choice the next time you return to Mazatlan. Sincerely,
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 28, 2016 on Hotels
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

The hotel need maintenance!

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: The servirse is good! And the location is good too!
Cons: It Is very noisy, the WIFI is so expensive! The all included is not all included you have to pay the room service and some plates you have to pay for!
Location: Is very good!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 18, 2016 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Dear Alejandro, I'm sorry to read that you have a bad impression of El CID Resort. Im glad to see that you trust in us and letting us know about your experience. Internet is still a chargeable service in most internationally managed hotels in Mazatlan and our current rates are in line with other hotels in Mazatlan and Mexico. The internet line is however high-speed, we have an on-site technician and a 24-hour help desk to overcome any internet related issues. Is a shame that you did not enjoyed our variety of restaurants and dishes such us Alcazar, El Patio, La Cascada, La Pergola and more activities that the all inclusive have. Please let me know if we can discus this personally. I would love to hear more details and see how can we change your mind of this first impression. My best, German Fayad General Manager.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from North Carolina

Everything was as we expected it to be.

Posted Oct 20, 2016
this is our sixth time staying at El Cid. We enjoyed our stay. The staff is always friendly and bilingual. The food is great. The room was comfortable and cool. The beach is always the best part of our stay. The pool and wait staff, wow! A frozen drink and a pool umbrella are a combination made to enjoy with the right company.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 24, 2016 by German Fayad, Hotel Management
Dear Kevin, Thank you for taking the time to write this review…we, in the service Industry appreciate your amazing pictures and your feedback and we all send our appreciation to you for validating what we work hard for, day in and day out. I have shared your review with all the staff working in El Cid Moro. We believe you will see more remarkable improvement on your next visit. Sincerely welcome you back soon, and wish you can relax, recharge and revitalize yourself at the El Cid Moro Beach Hotel. My best, German Fayad General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Can't wait to go back

Posted Oct 5, 2016 on Orbitz
Pros: Great service by staff both on and off the beach...
Cons: Limited seating at some of the restaurants
A/C wasn't working in our original room, so they upgraded us immediately... wonderful staff
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 27, 2016
Had a wonderful time at this resort. Everyone was extremely nice. Tomas the pool/bar attendant is wonderful! Will be back soon hopefully!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel close to all the shops

Posted Jul 17, 2016 on Orbitz
Nice hotel close to all the shops would recommend to everybody. Great place to bring your family service is very excellent. Will go back again to this hotel and stay even longer.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

El Cid

Posted Apr 5, 2016
Our floor was not remodeled, old furniture and out dated. Hard double beds. They did opt to move us from the outdated suite to a remodeled one the next day, but lacked the view of the '80s room. So we stayed out dated