Ratings based on 70 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from montreal

Very Nice hôtel and golf courses

Posted Dec 31, 2016
Pros: Not too big and not too small
Cons: Food was ok but not excellent
Location: Great beach, very quiet Great golf course
Close to be a very large beach Great location, very quiet compared to downtown
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tepic

Excellent facilities but lack of entertainment

Posted Aug 21, 2016
I love the gardens, the beach but I wanted more options for dinner or having a night cap
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful! Just a bit of an outdoor bug problem

Posted Aug 1, 2016
Perfect private beach. Great staff, clean room, yummy restaurant. The only "but" we have to make is that there were so many beetles & zacadas everywhere! Not only in the common areas but also surrounding our room doors! It was like playing frogger trying to get into our room! Other than that it was a phenomenal time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Riverside, CA

Worth the extra cost

Posted Sep 30, 2015
Pros: Facilities, staff, services, atmosphere.
Cons: The food in the restaurants was ok, but not as fantastic as the rest of the resort.
I stayed in numerous hotels in the Mazatlan area while working in Sinaloa. The rooms ranged from $50-$120 per night depending on the hotel. While Estrella Del Mar was the most expensive, it provided the best service and had the nicest facilities barn none. The room was beautiful and clean. The bathroom was very spacious and felt luxurious. The hotel is designed so that each room is quiet but still centrally located to other amenities (beach, pool, front desk, restaurants, etc.). The free services provided were very appreciated. In addition, the internet was much better than at the other hotels I stayed at in the Mazatlan area. The staff was very professional and kind. This hotel provides much more of a isolated resort feel, and should be booked by people purposefully trying to get away from city center of Mazatlan. It's a small drive to the city, but you will have a very different experience staying at Estrella del Mar than in the city. I would reccommend this hotel for families or couples who want the calm of a resort, the services of a top notch hotel, with occasional access to Mazatlan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Modesto, CA

Paradise

Posted May 12, 2015
Pros: The staff!
Cons: The food was horrible.
Location: Town is 30 minutes away so there really are 3 things to do, play golf and just relax and re-chrge the batteries.
This is a very unique property. It's remote and very quiet. It's a beautiful setting. I have been going there for 10 years. The golf course is in the best shape it's ever been in. It looks like they have really sunk some money into the course just in the last 12 months. There is no traffic, no noise, no beach vendors, just piece and quiet. The staff is extremely accomodating. They don't seem to know how to say no to anything. The new hotel is very nice and extremely well maitained. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed. They have new shuttle vans for the airport and trips into Mazatlan. They need major work in the kitchen. The food was horrible. They have a new Food & Beverage Manager. I couldn't tell if he hadn't been there long enough to fix the problem or if he was the culprit. I stayed there a year ago and the food was great. Not the case anymore. The chef could over cook anything and did regularly. He over cooked the Tuna, the Ribeye and the Chicken. He got the Caprese Salad just right.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago

Perfect hotel for relaxing.

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Away from everything and everyone. About half hour from town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Seattle, WA

Hidden Gem

Posted Feb 28, 2015
Pros: The rooms were very nice. Comfortable beds. Bathrooms are beautiful. Food was great.
Cons: Better pool side service. Most of the time I had to walk into the restaurant to order food and drinks.
Location: Located near airport. Very secluded location and beach. Golf course onsite. Only two restaurants, hotel and club house. $30 ride to Mazatlan.
We recently stayed at Estrella Del Mar for one night. The resort is very nice and well maintained. The beach is beautiful and secluded so you have the whole thing to yourself. The food was delicious. The pool was very nice overlooking the beach. Make sure you check out the turtle rescue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from St. Louis, MO.

A satisfying experience.

Posted Sep 16, 2014
Pros: When it comes to customer service, the staff is second to none. The hotel and the over 800 acres of resort is beautiful and is a rich experience.
Cons: The hotel is far from other activities in Mazatlan. The resort should have places to shop on its property. And they need more than one restaurant.
Location: There isn't much to do near by the resort but you can get a shuttle into New Mazatlan (40 mins away) and go boating, snorkeling, horseback riding, etc
Pros: From the moment we arrived at the resort, we loved it. I can't say enough about the staff and their customer service skills.The resort is stunning from every view. The beach runs for miles and all of the expected luxuries are readily accessible. The resort is huge and remotely located on over 800 acres and access protected be a security gate. It's like being in a gated community which put us in an extra relaxed state. Though there was only one restaurant - we can't complain about the food - it's well prepared and sizable portions. The rooms are very nicely designed and our ocean view from the balcony was breath taking. The room's restroom was large with double sinks, a private toilet, a stand-up shower and separate tub. Our room had a mini-frig, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, a valuables safe, cable TV and good wi-fi reception. The pools, spa & salon were also nice. Cons: As I mentioned the resort is over 800 acres but there is only one restaurant and no shopping - that includes a souvenir shop. The hotel provided us a shuttle into the city to shop but the city isn't close by and they don't wait for you - they return for you. None of the boat tours pick-up from the the resort beach so you also need to get a shuttle to the city to take advantage of those things. While the cleaning staff were excellent, there were insects in the sinks regularly. We weren't sure if that was a pest control issue or a Mazatlan issue but they didn't keep us from enjoying our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

Amazing, beautiful & peaceful location

Posted Aug 12, 2014
A truly beautiful beach location. Lovely pools & restaurant has a great menu. Wait staff are very nice & helpful. Things to think about - room location for wifi service & some ocean view rooms can barely see the sea re. lay of the land. Only disappointing thing was they authorised my creditcard card for $5000 peso for just a night stay & I need to wait for this to be reversed - not helpful when you are still on holiday for another 10 days (now short $500US ) Especially when I had confirmation at checkin that this would not happen :o(
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by k from oregon

Expedia did not comply with my request

Posted Sep 16, 2013
I paid $50 extra to have 2 adults in the room a total of 4 adults but they only gave us 1 king bed. very disappointed!