Ratings based on 41 Verified Reviews

3.0 out of 5
59% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.4 Service & staff
3.1 Room comfort
2.9 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Winnipeg, MB

Very nice, older hotel.

Posted Jan 5, 2017
Pros: Beautiful location by the beach. Beautiful view of the ocean and sunset.
Cons: A retractable clothesline on the balcony would be nice.
Location: Near stores, restaurants and friends houses.
Awesome staff. Check in and check out were easy.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle WA

Relaxing. Close to Golden Zone

Posted Dec 6, 2016
Pros: The waiter service at the restaurant was excellent. He was friendly and was helpful with our language difficulty. Food was delicious.
Cons: Wish there was an English speaking television station. Need better lighting in room for reading. The patio door was very difficult to close and open
Location: Great location. We enjoy the restaurants in the Golden Zone. Margaritas is our favorite restaurant, but love Panchos (on the ocean ), Fat Fish
Your hotel was a good place to enjoy the wonderful weather Beautiful pool and beach facilities.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel located right on the ocean/beach

Posted Feb 27, 2016
Troubling issues, the beach has washed away so the last step down to the sandy beach was about three feet. Also, the weekends Mexican travelers took over the pool over and weren't very considerate of others using the facility. Our very last day of the trip we had no water in our hotel room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Rock Island IL

Clean and on the beach

Posted Mar 5, 2009
For the most part the hotel was OK. It did not have ammenities that we are normally accustomed to. No hair dryer, no alarm clock, only two channels on the T.V. in English. Not many of the staff spoke much English and the menu in the restaurant was in Spanish only. The pool was beautiful albiet very cold and the view from the room was wonderful. It was nice to have a hotel right on the beach but the general neigborhood was not the cleanest.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Inexpensive yet comfortable

Posted Jan 25, 2009
We came down a few days early for a family trip near Christmas time. The rest of the family was staying in a resort further up the coast for the later part of the trip, and we decided to stay at a cheaper location for the first half. Hotel Quixote was in a very central location and had a great view of the ocean. For the price paid we were very happy with the amenities. While the pool is not heated its not too hard to slip into. The rooms had air conditioning and the hotel was fairly clean. Also the hotel was right int he golden zone so taxi rides were cheap to just about anywhere. The front desk was very helpful with everything we needed. We'd be happy to stay here again.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Portland, Oregon

Will stay at another hotel next time...

Posted Jan 7, 2009
This was my 4th trip to Mazatlan. I have stayed at Los Sabados twice and La Playa Mazatlan the last time. El Quijote is at the end of the a long chain of hotles and about a mile or so from the Golden Zone. We had a few problems with our room. First was that the beds were extremely uncomfortable. They also had the air conditioner control in the room next to ours. We had to call maintenance in order to get the helicopter sounding AC turned up or down. It had two functions...off or artic so we just had them turn it off after the second day. Just remember that two stars in Mexico means 2 stars! You really get what you pay for. I have learned my lesson. Nice restaurant and landscape though.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from san jacinto, ca.

it was worth it staying there

Posted Nov 6, 2007
was nice and very clean
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Riverside CA

Good family venue

Posted Mar 1, 2007
Great location on the beach. Loved having breakfast heuvos on the oceanfront patio. Friendly staff, especially in the restaurant. Children under 12 are not allowed in jacuzzi and the pool was colder than the ocean. Maybe a bit pricey and funkier than more upscale hotels. But suited our family party of 10 very well.
3 out of 5
by John from Mazatlan, Mexico

There are better for similar price

Posted Nov 30, 2006
Building in MZT, so numerous trips and different hotel each trip. Quijote is a room -- not much more. Oceanside a must; too much traffic noise on the other side. Presently being refurbished, but that means primarily painting. Free Internet access is good; restaurant is small, peaceful, and food is tasty. Mixed drinks are strong. Staff is extremely cordial, they do well with English, and are very competent. However, there are more comfortable facilities in Mazatlan.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

Mixed bag

Posted Apr 5, 2006
Older small hotel, great views and sunsets, staff very friendly, rooms clean but dated. Living area has the ocean view but backs to a major highway, traffic noise was really loud in the bedroom. Pool unheated. It was nice to have the small kitchen. Basically you get what you pay for. We had a good time but would consider a different hotel next time.