Ratings based on 312 Verified Reviews

3.3 out of 5
64% of guests recommend
3.5 Room cleanliness
3.6 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Disappointed

Posted Jan 13, 2017
Great view and location but I was very disappointed with the staff. Check in took forever. Take with you a print out of your reservation if you can, they will ask you for it. Internet signal was very weak and they would not let us check in until they got the email. The room had a great view but there was a problem with the pipes and it smelled. The toilet smelled like urine even though it was clean. Staff open the balcony door as soon as you leave the room to dissipate the smell. Didn't like that at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Nice hotel with really small elevators with no a/c

Posted Jan 9, 2017
Everything was good, the only thing I saw was it had small elevators that had so a/c in them and it was to humid inside them. Overall it was a good vacation.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Don't reserve online

Posted Dec 25, 2016
When we got there they key to room it not cleaned and not what we reserved online we told them they say they don't have honor what was online
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Comfortable Authentic Mexican Experience!

Posted Dec 18, 2016
Pros: The Location, the cleanlyness, helpful staff, nice restaurant, super beach access and pool, the room was spacious with lots of hot water & nice shower
Cons: Would have liked a more quiet room. The is a little too much family activity for us to consider this location more long term than one night.
Location: The property is located on one of the best swim-able beaches in the area and offeres lots of local shopping within walking distance, for all ages.
We chose Oceano Palace Beach Hotel as a one night transition from our flight out of the USA to our reserved Condo. It worked out perfectly as a clean comfortable place to stay for the night, as we arrived in Mazatlan very late (checking in after midnight). The Oceano saved the room for us on a "Late Check In" basis, quickly checked us in and we were in comfortable slumber until morning. This is a wonderful place to experience authentic Mexican hospitality at a very affordable price. We are pleased to report that everything mechanical worked in our room such as hot water and plumbing; that we have found to be an issue in other Mexican Hotels. The setting is festive, scenic, resort-ish and upbeat! We chose a mountain view room which was a little noisy on a late Friday night with many of the local Establishments partying into the wee hours although the sound was muffled enough to allow us to sleep right through the celebrations. The Oceano Palace has a wonderful restaurant in the pool area overlooking the beach. The beach access is superb with a very inviting swim-able beach. The establishment is VERY suited offering a fun family atmosphere; providing something for every age from child to adult. The pool is fantastic for young growing families. If you venture off the property on foot, you will enjoy lots of souvenir shopping close by. We will absolutely return and expect you will enjoy a stay at the Oceano Palace Beach Hotel as well. Enjoy!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice location, friendly staff

Posted Dec 14, 2016
Pros: location
Cons: include all dining in the all inclusive fare.
Location: everything
Everything was good, just a little noisy with med to loud music playing at the pool all the time. The only complaint is for an all inclusive fare, it doesn't include the three restaurants on site, or the full menu with items only 10 peso's more than the allowed items. This was not so cool. ***when you arrive at the airport, DO NOT STOP UNTIL YOU GET OUTSIDE!!! The promotion timeshare hawkers will waste all your time, and not leave you alone. Blast right past them to the taxi's!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Nice hotel ON the beach

Posted Nov 21, 2016
Wonderful friendly helpful staff. Great food and attentive service.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from ca

POOR TO NO WIFI, ROCK HARD BED BUT GREAT AC!

Posted May 19, 2016
Pros: spacious rooms and fabulous ac! very quiet
Cons: the wifi! check- in should be easier, too
we booked this hotel based on a package it came with since i travel a lot for business. when we arrived, we could see that the hotel is very big. it has a nice lobby, and check in was a little difficult, because they wanted a printout of the order, which we did not have. they allowed me to email it to them and would not initiate check in within out. after 5 minutes, we were checked in. they also gave us a remote control for the tv. before i could say anything, we were approached by another lady who wanted to give us a free breakfast if we went to a time share info meeting the following day. when we got to our room, the phone rang to ask us if we reconsidered our decision about the free breakfast. the room was spacious and clean, but the wifi sucked! the signal was very weak and was coming in and out, even when in the lobby. that is unacceptable. i was there on business, and had to use my own phone internet to conduct any business. when i told the front desk about their shoddy internet, they told me there no no other complaints, but i noticed many people sitting in the lobby on their phones or laptops. another issue was the safe. it did not work! i called the front desk and they sent maintenance over, but all they did was give me a key, which could have been the master, which could have worked on any and all their safes. not very comforting. for better wifi i would stay at playa mazatlan next time, because their wifi even works on the beach.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Posted May 10, 2016
I love the location The only problem is room 311 the sink smells so bad from the drain The guard at night needs to learn how to be polite and professional when you come in I was bringing my daughter and before i even register her at the front desk he embarrassed me thinking that she was a hooker and followed us to the front desk waited and so on very unprofessional So sad
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from san diego california

Nice hotel infeont of the beach

Posted Apr 27, 2016
It was a great view, personal was nice, very clean and safe place. food was great(breakfast
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Washington

Located on the beach with a nice view

Posted Apr 23, 2016
Pros: The staff and the view.
Cons: Just about everything related to maintenance.
While I wasn't expecting much, was hoping for better. This hotel is in serious need of maintenance. The view of the ocean from the room was nice and the staff very helpful. The pictures on the website do not tell the true story.