Ratings based on 607 Verified Reviews

4.4 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Indiana

Beautiful hotel! Experience was good but not great

Posted Mar 22, 2017
Pros: Pueblo Bonito could be a 5 star resort. The grounds are beautiful and the beach is very nice.The staff is excellent and they are very friendly.
Cons: There are too many people for what services are offered. The resort has added buildings but not increased the pool or restaurant capacity.
Location: Nothing is close by. Very secluded. The gym is nice. Before our trip we saw that yoga, stretching and other classes were offered but they cost extra.
The biggest problem at this resort and why it gets 3 stars is that it is severely lacking in pool chairs. We found out our first morning you cannot get a chair by the pool or beach. There are none available after 6:30am. As I write this review I am sitting by the pool at 6:45am. All the chairs are now reserved with towels. You have to play the chair game. I came down at 5:45am just so I had a chance to get chairs for my family to be by the pool. The majority of the chairs are also broken. This is a common point of conversation among guests. A broken chair is sill better than concrete though. I feel bad for all the people I now see at 7am wandering around with towels. Now some of them will be coming down earlier tomorrow. If you want a chair you have to get up earlier every day in order to get chairs. This is absolutely ridiculous. You are on vacation and cannot sleep in if you want any chance for your family to have a chair by the pool or beach. We were told that new chairs are coming soon. This will only solve the broken chair issue not the problem of not enough chairs for all the people. You may also feel some pressure at dinner time. There is a buffet on site as well as a traditional restaurant. A third option is a small bar but this has a very limited bar menu. ONLY 3 RESTAURANTS on site. The buffet is just not what I have come to expect. You will not starve but it is very small and limited on choices. It is also frustrating to have to wait for a table at a buffet.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful grounds and great restaurants.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
We loved this very pretty and spacious hotel. Nicely maintained and the pools are gorgeous.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnetonka, Minnesota

Wonderful resort

Posted Mar 19, 2017
10 days, all inclusive, in building 22, 4th floor with full balcony and ocean view. Rooms, properties and grounds all in great condition. My wife and daughter spent all day on the beach. While swimming in the ocean is discouraged due to rocks and algae, my family loves to walk along the beach which is very nice, secluded and free of vendors. While the restaurant options are few on the property, we liked the food, especially fruits and vegetables, seafood and Mexican dishes. The Bistro is wonderful - and the staff, excellent. Jose, Alondra, Jesus, Vitor, Emilio all are commendable. The gym has everything you need. We took the city tour which takes you downtown, along the 16km boardwalk, cliff diving, the markets and finally the main square for dinner at Casa 46. The restaurant was very good with a patio view of the square. All very nice. Only caution: you will be pressured to tip the divers, and pressured to buy jewelry at a local jewelry store on the main square. If you don't like pressure, hire a cab to take you down town and the restaurant. PBEB is a great place, and we'll be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Mountain Home, Idaho

Great view, a little outdated & a loud wedding!

Posted Mar 17, 2017
Pros: We liked the food, the service, the view, lounge chairs on the patio, that the room had good amenities & excellent spa services.
Cons: Updating rooms, getting more & better pool lounge chairs and letting guests near the outdoor wedding venue know so there not surprised by the noise!
Location: We loved the city tour, enjoyed the sweet bread from the old Mazatlan but shopping is better up & across the street from the Pueblo Bonita Mazatlan.
We loved the view of the ocean from our room! The food was delicious and the waitiers were excellent! The room was quaint, in need of a scrubbing & updating but was completely functional. We really enjoyed having padded lounge chairs on the patio. The pools were nice but we refused to get up at 6:00am to get a lounge chair, which were few, mostly uncomfortable & unpadded! That's just not vacationing to us! We enjoyed the city tour and visiting the other Pueblo Bonita Resort which gave us a better feel for the city. We are ocean swimming people & we had no idea that the ocean here; though beautiful, wasn't really swimable & definitely not for snorkeling. Our last night before we had to leave we wanted to go to bed early because we had to get up early & because we had a long day ahead of us. The outdoor wedding had loud music & fireworks right across from our room. There was no notice that there was going to be a wedding. The manager told my husband that it would end by 11:00pm & that they'd turn down the music but it got louder and a second set of loud fireworks went off at 11:30pm. My husband was furious & hated being lied to! The wedding finally ended at 12am.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful resort

Posted Feb 23, 2017
We were there for 10 days on a all-inclusive package and had a wonderful time. We found the staff exceptionally helpful and friendly, with those interacting with guests the most having excellent communication skills in English as well as Spanish. The resort's 2 main restaurants provided the best food and service that we have experienced in an inclusive package. The only issue we had were twice when we ordered cheeseburgers from an outside grill, a bar, or room service, some of the patties were raw inside (but had been ordered as "medium" or "medium well"). We were impressed with the constant work being done to maintain the buildings and grounds, which gave the feel of walking through a botanical garden with many palms, bougainvillea, hibiscus, plumeria, and other beautifully landscaped trees, shrubs and plants. We were enchanted with the flamingos, swans and iguanas we found on our daily walks. The junior suite we had 1311 was very nice but could use an update with a comfortable chair, and better venting system in the bathroom and humidity control in the room (we smelled "dampness" every time we entered the room). The beds were very comfortable. We found out that other rooms of the same size had lounge chairs on their patios. We had two small metal chairs, which were surprisingly not too uncomfortable, but nowhere in the room was there a chair which would allow us to put up our feet. We met wonderful happy people, most of which were timeshare owners that have be
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from A

Just Gorgeous

Posted Feb 23, 2017
This resort is so beautiful! We enjoyed the all inclusive option, it was so relaxing to not worry about anything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from BC

Posted Jan 19, 2017
Great staff and location and food and facilities. Amazing gym and spa.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great all-inclusive vacation!

Posted Dec 29, 2016
Pros: staff!
Cons: beds
We had a fantastic honeymoon at Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay. Jose Luis (pool-side server) was absolutely amazing; he took care of us our first day in and we continued to go to see him every day that he works. The staff is brilliantly helpful and upbeat. The views were gorgeous and food options were decent for all-inclusive. The bed was a little hard - could use updating. Would definitely recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver

Perfect

Posted Dec 18, 2016
We love this place. This is our second time to Pueblo Bonito Emerald Bay and we can hardly wait for our third trip. There is nothing these people won't do for you they are so friendly and welcoming the food is great the pools are crystal clear. the hot tub that's lovely the grounds are amazingly beautiful and so well maintained the rooms are spacious and clean. As I mentioned there is really nothing negative to say we just loved it and can't wait to go back. Extra Shout out 2 Claudio at the Cordeliare restaurant and all the wait staff they're phenomenal.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from canada

Very nice hotel great staff great amenities

Posted Dec 3, 2016
Pros: Everything
Cons: Checking counter
Location: Too far from outside activities although a free shuttle was available
Checking was utter chaos, the lobby at the checking was so noisy you could not ask questions or get answers you merely nodded your head & hoped you were right