Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Cali

It was okay

Posted Aug 10, 2016
If you're looking for something budget friendly this would be the place. However, be prepared. From my experience, (I just got back recently) this is mainly a Mexican resort. What I mean is, not very many foreigners come here, not a lot of staff speak English, the TV is mostly Spanish, etc. Also, the food gets tiring. It's always the same food. They have restaurants you have to make reservations for but you have to be at the front desk at 7AM to reserve. Which is ridiculous by the way. But yeah, be prepared. Also, the free alcohol is low quality. I think they only served Tecate for beer and low shelf half alcohol...
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Instalaciones limpias y playa preciosa

Posted Aug 5, 2016
El personal del Hotel Riu Emerald Bay Mazatlán te recibe con un trato amable en unas extensas instalaciones limpias y confortables. Sus restaurantes de comida te impresionan por la gran variedad de alimentos para todos los gustos. Realmente drisfrutas las areas de albercas y sobre todo lo hermoso de su playa.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Pros: el lobby
Cons: elevadores, es complicadísimo subir o bajar pro la saturación de los elevadores. Son muy pequeños y pocos
Location: solo hay un parque acuatico
la comida es muy buena, lugar super agradable, muy buenos los restaurantes de especuialidades
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Riu mazatlan

Posted Jul 18, 2016
Un hotel muy bonito, lo unico malo fue la calidad de muchos de los huéspedes.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Corona, CA

Not good for couples, or if one wants to sleep.

Posted Jun 14, 2016
Pros: Good food. On the beach with all rooms facing the ocean. Beautiful building, lobby and gym.
Cons: Family room needs bigger beds, not cots for the 4th person! Add 5 more elevators! Cleanliness MUST be stepped way up! Needs Noise control in halls.
Location: Beautiful property. Several transportation choices: taxi, public bus, pulmonias, aurugas. Not much to do nearby. I went off season early in June.
Couldn't sleep. Every guest that went by hallway shouted and let kids scream and run. You could hear EVERY sound bouncing off the hallway and into your room since it is made of concrete from floor to ceiling. I had read about elevators being an issue. I didn't think it would be a problem until we were there. They took very long to get there and when they did, we often had to skip them since they were usually crowded. They were adding one more elevator during our stay but they need to add about five more to make any difference. We had to take the stairs at least twice from the 11th floor!! Breakfast time and check out time were the worst times to get an elevator! Bed sheers were NEVER changed during our week long visit!! We had to ask for toilet paper as it was not replaced by cleaning staff. We asked the evening before and had to call again the next morning to finally get it! We also had to ask that the room be swept as it got sand and hair all day over by the third day since they hadn't been sweeping. They only quickly mopped over it, mostly to dry up any moisture. The only thing done every day was that beds were made (using the same linens) and trash was emptied.we also had to ask for towels including the floor mat. Mirrors and furniture glass top were never cleaned. I am not so sure toilet and tub were cleaned either!! Lobby tables were often dirty too. Shower did drain, but very slowly.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

nada recomendable

Posted May 31, 2016 on Hotels
Muy mala experiencia con los elevadores, tardas mínimo 30 minutos en espera, el día de mi salida tardo 30 minutos el elevador en llegar a mi piso y nadie contesto en recepción para ayudarnos con el equipaje ya que estábamos en 11vo piso razon por la que perdimos el vuelo con todas estas demoras, muy mal servicio, la televisión estaba rota y muy pequeña, es todo incluido pero es imposible reservar en los restaurantes que tienen, solo tomen cerveza ya que el alcohol que tienen en las habitaciones así como el que usan para las bebidas es de muy mala calidad.
4 out of 5
by RICARDO ARMANDO

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 28, 2016 on Hotels
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Texas

Nice hotel with beautiful view of the ocean.

Posted May 24, 2016
Pros: The staff
Cons: Housekeeping. Towels are like sandpaper and the maids barely make your bed and leave.
Overall had a 6 day pleasant stay. Food was ok. Entertainment was ok. Might be too loud for people staying in the lower floors but it's a vacation resort so it's something anyone would expect. The front desk and restaurant staff were very very cordial and respectful. It was very crowded with people on bus tours that come from nearby cities. Restaurant was very crowded but was always able to get a table. Overall a pleasant private place to stay without Timeshare salespeople hounding you. Also a little far from the city but very accessible by bus. $10 pesos vs. $120 pesos for a cab. One more thing: Take your own toiletries. Al they offer is hand soap and wall dispensing shampoo that is real bad.
5 out of 5
by Adan Israel

This traveler left a rating score only Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by Maryam from Monterrey N.L. Mexico.

Posted May 23, 2016 on Hotels
Excelente servicio, gran atención al cliente por parte de las sritas. Gabriela y Martha en recepcion, podrían mejorar los alimentos ofreciendo productos del mar.