Ratings based on 689 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

for the price I expected more.

Posted Jun 28, 2017
Nice facilities. Pool area and beach are great! Service is ok as people were nice but no service at the pool you need to walk and get your own things. Food always de same. Lots of people and elevators were very full at all times! I have a stroller and have to wait around 20 minutes! It was crazy not enough elevators. Restaurants always full it was imposible to get a rsvp for dinner. All restaurants are buffet even the ones for dinner time with rsvp. Lunch time have very little options. Breakfast and dinner were ok. It is a nice hotel but for the price I paid I expected a lot more.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Beautiful Resort

Posted Jun 3, 2017
The resort was beautiful, close to the beach, clean, pools were warm, friendly staff, great shows, and food. The only thing was that it was hard to make reservations at thier two restaurants, and a lot of times the elevators would skip you, so you would have to wait a while for one to finally come back to you.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted May 8, 2017
The resort was very nice, right on the beach. The only real negative was the food on the resort was not that impressive, the food in town was great!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minneapolis,

Nice hotel right on the beach

Posted Apr 3, 2017
Pros: The food was good and the service was great. Great pool and beach.
Cons: New beds and adding elevators.
Location: We didn't leave the resort.
The hotel and staff were great, would highly recommend this hotel to anyone. The only 'con's' of the hotel were uncomfortable beds and not enough elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Relaxing location.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Been staying at the Riu resorts for 10 years and this location seems to be a little less kept up even though it was built about 7 years ago. It had decent accommodations for my mom who uses a wheelchair. The staff was great. Only the newest elevator behind the check in desk seem to have air conditioning and it leaked from the ceiling. Our room reeked of mold when we arrived. One of the bed's boxspring had excessive black mold on it and so did the grout on the bathroom walls next to the toilet and in the shower. The larger bed was a bit hard.The room didn't have a makeup mirror which all the previous Riu resorts I've been to did. I alerted the front desk of the mold on the bed but it never got addressed. We were there for only 5 days so I didn't press the issue, we just stayed out of the room until bedtime. Eventhough I know it's a tropical climate I'd never experienced anything like that at any of the other Riu resorts throughout the Caribbean. Overall my stay was good. Not all things are created equal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas

Over advertised.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Rooms were uncomfortable. Food was not good overall. There were some good things but mostly everything seemed to have come out of a frozen box. Beach was nice except for the merchants swarming it to get you to buy anything from necklaces to marijuana.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated hotel in front of the beach.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I liked the location and the beach. The staff were nice, helpful and friendly and the hotel was kept very clean. Service was good and even better if y
Cons: The rooms towels were brown and not soft, so better towels in the room would be nice. The beach towels were nicer than the room towels. There is a lot
Location: There is a small renovated area in the Historical Center which is pleasant top walk around, There are some volunteer guides that can help you.
Had a relaxing time taking long walks on the very long beach. The hotel is isolated and a little far from the city, which I think is nice Went in the water everyday, it was not too cold. There were waves everyday, so I did not really swim, just splashed in the waves. Did not use the hotel pools, but they looked good. I went there with my parents, who are very big all inclusive fans and also like Riu Hotels. They have been to 5 Riu Hotels in Mexico and think that the one in Mazatlan was their least favorite. They liked the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas and Riu Yucatan the best. This was my first all inclusive holiday and probably my last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, US

First time at a RIU, excellent

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We enjoyed our stay for a week in mid-March. Friendly staff, clean, lots of options for food and booze and a great beach. I would say it's not a spring break whoop it up place but still fun with activities and a disco. Would recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central america

front desk does not take American money

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: on the beach and the food
Cons: take American money and American express card
Location: many tours, hotel a little far from airport
staff is the best and food great. all the people had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful resort on the water away from Mazatlan.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
This resort is very picturesque. All rooms have an ocean view which is awesome. Our beds were not super comfy and the tv are small but the room was clean. We did not have a problem with the elevators but some people complained they were slow. We found the food to be bland. The nightly entertainment was not great. Too many dancing shows. Luis in the Sports Bar was fantastic.