Ratings based on 323 Verified Reviews

3.9 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Lacklustre experience

Posted Jan 14, 2017
So beyond the fact that the elevator situation is a nightmare, the whole experience was just ok. The hotel is ok and the pool area is ok. Heads up American travelers; the hotel only exchanges Canadian money. Bring pesos! If you don't tip housekeeping EVERY DAY, they only do a very basic clean in your room. Those who tipped got towel animals daily and liquor bottles refilled. One day our door had been left open for hours after cleaning! I grabbed for a fresh towel one afternoon and it was already dirty and wet, folded neatly on the rack! The hotel is open to local guests as well, and we had a family move in on a pool chair amidst several others with our stuff and towels on them. As soon as our back were turned, we were swimming, they stole our hats and a bag with the kids snorkel gear! The beach is crowded with venders who aggressively follow you asking if you want to buy! The reservation system for dinners other than the buffet makes it impossible to get a table unless you stand in a huge line at 7 am. However, the food is good and the staff is mostly very nice. So it wasn't all bad.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 10, 2017
The three RUI hotel's I have stayed in are a distance away from metropolitan areas. It makes great for some quite time.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ak

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: there is a big variety of food,.
Cons: the elevators, it took at least 10-15 minutes every time you wanted to go up or down, and they were always full.
its a nice hotel but only if you are a party animal and enjoy having children everywhere, We went for peace and quiet, there is alot of noise everywhere, ih the resteruants, at the pool, in the hallways, in the elevator. I would have liked if they would have a swimming pool where no kids are allowed, a jacuzzi vclose by, not inside a building where you have to make an appointment to go to, and the music was on so loud every night till 2am, so I wouldn't recommend to someone that wants peace and quiet. the kids were jumping in both pools, they do have one pool where children are not allowed, pool bar, but it is next to one that allow children.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norristown, United States of America

Beautiful resort

Posted Nov 19, 2016
Pros: It was a beautiful hotel with great balconies facing the ocean and the gorgeous sunsets every evening!
Cons: As many have noted, they need more elevators, which they are in the process of building. The longest we ever waited for an elevator was about 5 min.
Location: This hotel is situated towards the end of the beach strip. There is a restaurant about 15 minutes walking distance, which I highly recommend.
We stayed at the Riu November 5 through November 12. We had a wonderful experience! We were a party of 8. When we checked in, 6 people in our party were booked on the 10th floor, while my husband and I were booked on the 7th. After asking to be moved to the 10th, we were happily accommodated. The staff could not have been more pleasant and helpful for the entire stay. The food was wonderful - our favorite specialty restaurant was the Asian. The Mexican was good, but there were not as many choices as with the Asian. The Italian did not have that much actual Italian food, but what they had was very good. We all also enjoyed the 2 buffets. We always left a couple of American dollars at the tables after we ate and we could not have been treated better. Not that you have to, of course, but they really appreciate it. Our room was always clean and well taken care of. There were always available chairs at the beach and around the pools. There was a bit of a bee problem around the bars, but there wasn't much the bartenders could do about that. They seemed to take them in stride!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sydney, Australia

Best hotel experience in mazatlan

Posted Nov 13, 2016
Overall great hotel facilities, friendly staff specially Leo and Luis from sports bar they went the extra mile a true asset to the company, food was great even when they can use a bit more of variety, simply enjoyable one thing I have to say there is not enough elevators and is almost impossible to get on at some times specially after pool closes on our last day my daughter and myself had to carry our luggage downstairs from 4th floor after a 30 min wait, but this was everyday walking is not a problem for us but this is for old people and disabled you will wait for a while also taxi rates are way over priced from hotel use UBER or a bus both are as safe as the taxis outside waiting to tip you off apart from that great hotel
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from US

nwver again

Posted Nov 11, 2016
Pros: All inclusive
Cons: Management has no customer service
Location: Long taxi rides to everything
Elevators are a huge issue. Manager would not even speak to me on issues. Normal staff was great. Meeting people not staying at the hotel is an issues. We will never stay again with this hotel.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Amazing Staff

Posted Oct 24, 2016
Location: There was not much to do around the hotel. You can get a taxi at a decent rate but I would negotiate before you get in or it may be expensive.
The staff was amazing and the resort was beautiful! The food was not that good and it was the same thing every day. The elevators were a challenge to get and you could wait 10 minutes or more for one to stop. Also, the other guests were very rude about not letting you get off before they got on the elevators.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Fernando Valley

Posted Oct 4, 2016
Pros: fun and safe
Cons: elevators
elevators take to long if they work. the staff was great spoke English and helped a lot. nice bars and the pools were good to. just to many people going to the restroom in them. bathrooms needed to be closer to the pools so people don't have to go in the pools.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice looking hotel. Terrible service

Posted Sep 26, 2016
Hotel has the potential to be one of the best in the area. Unfortunately the staff and upkeep of the property are way below expectation. The quality of the food left a lot to be desired and the reception service has to be one of worst I have ever experienced.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from seattle

Bad experience

Posted Sep 16, 2016
We had reservation for double room, but got single bed. When ask reception manager she refused to offer a different room with two beds. We had spa credit in our reservation, same thing it was denied by reception manager. We had to call expedia and spend our entire first day evening on the phone to resolve check in issues. This was terrible. Hotel was overbooked. You have to spend up to 15 ~ 20 min at the elevators. Lunch time food was terrible, same things every day with low variety. Show time for kinds was canceled multiple times and in other cases was extremely short. Beds in the room are very uncomfortable. During breakfast time it feels like a cafeteria at the train station, no service whatsoever, no available tables, you have to wait long time to get sited. At the end we got sick with stomach infection and spend 2 days with the fever and diarrhea.