Ratings based on 530 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from near Seattle, WA

Huge and All-Inclusive, for better or worse.

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Pros: The people! All staff were friendly and helpful. The design and maintenance of the building and the pool gardens. The swim-up bar is fun!
Cons: I'm guessing they can't add to the 6 elevators. Get rid of the plastic mattress covers. Make WiFi free and dependable throughout.
Location: A 40-minute taxi ride to Mazatlan downtown. Plan to pay the M$180 or just stay put - not the worst thing that could happen!
I can never eat "All You Can Eat" and certainly not drink "All You Can Drink" but the Riu Emerald Bay is a good place to try. The facilities are well maintained and clean. The staff of over 600 people are constantly serving, cleaning and keeping things together. The people were wonderful; always friendly and helpful. We always had choices among the plentiful poolside loungers, in sun or shade. The only downside was when the wind got a bit frisky for a couple of days. After an initial period of pigging out on the massive buffet dining, we tried to rein it in a bit and find the foods we particularly enjoyed. We found the food marginally better in the two smaller reservation-required restaurants than in the two main buffet halls. On the huge buffet tables I found it hard to read the identifying cards, which often seemed to have no connection to the food below. This huge resort, with what must be almost 1,000 rooms on 22 floors, is a 40 minute taxi ride from the city of Mazatlan, and so self-contained that we found little reason other than curiosity to venture outside the compound.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excelente Hotel, Excelente Comida!!

Posted Feb 7, 2016
Bonitas instalaciones, buena atención, excelente comida y un buen Ambiente. Lo Recomiendo Ampliamente!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Mejora en el bufette

Posted Feb 3, 2016
Falta mucha variedad de mariscos, mucha comida sabe a refrigerada (postres, fruta)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wedding

Posted Jan 30, 2016
Pros: Location, staff, service, price-value.
Location: Mazatlan has a great downtown, worth the visit.
I attended a wedding The week of January 18-25. The resort was outstanding. The wedding was perfectly executed by the resort staff. The food and service was outstanding throughout the resort. Activities were great. I want to commend Margarita Sanchez , our wedding planner, for a fantastic job. She is a true hospitality professional and a delightful person to work with.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Bismarck ND

Beautiful hotel

Posted Jan 28, 2016
Pros: N/A
Cons: N/A
Location: We took bus downtown to flea markets. We did not leave the resort too often
The Riu was great! So fancy, clean. Rooms were very nice even had a bar in the room which was stocked each day. Beautiful ocean view from the room. Beach was well kept and had plenty of chairs. Food was very good and so many different varieties to choose from. Will definitely stay there again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hotel muy agradable

Posted Jan 16, 2016
Hotel muy agradable muy bonita vista y todo estaba excelente la comida las habitaciones y el personal
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Flawless vacation stay.

Posted Jan 8, 2016
Pros: Everything.
Cons: Bathroom plumbing.
Location: Trip to the lighthouse is worth the 30-minute walk up the hill and is free. The market was fun but very crowded. Buses are cheap and take you anywhere
There was absolutely nothing wrong with the hotel or service. Although the Jacuzzi stopped working in the middle of the session (by appointments and adults only) and sauna's highest temperature was only 60F,I felt there is no need to have sauna if the weather outside was more than perfect. Fitness center could use little more machines, but to be honest, the work out you would do there, the equipment is just fine. The staff was impressive. The servers were willing to do anything to keep you happy, the bartenders were extremely friendly and knew what kind of drink you would enjoy the most. The entertainment was super fun! Every night there was a performance, starting for kids, continuing for families and ended up with a night club for the ones who were able to stay up past midnight. The food selection in two buffet restaurants was unbelievable. Asian restaurant was superb compare to the Mexican one, which was more than disappointing. We had a better carne asada taco by the market in downtown area than the one in the resort. The Beach grill during lunch time is a MUST! Food there was out of this world. It is always nice to tip whoever makes your stay satisfying. Even the cooks and cleaning ladies.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Everybody gets to have ocean view

Posted Jan 1, 2016
Need more restaurants and more different food. It would be nice if they have a dress code restaurant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Portland, OR

All rooms have a clear sea view ...

Posted Dec 31, 2015
Pros: See my experience review.
Cons: See my experience review.
This is a very luxurious hotel where almost everything is free – food, drink, lobby excess to internet, 3 big pools, and everything else you may need. The floor in the bedroom was gritty, there was no coffee-maker in the room. I had to descend 18 floors and wait till breakfast time to secure some brew. There is paid-for internet excess in your room, running at about US$20 per 2 or 3 days. The experience to Mazatlan, Mexico was an eye-opener to me, probably because I am still somewhat naive in the recognition of tourist fleecing. Be careful at the airport where you can very easily be hood-winked by a smooth-talking salesman trying to coerce you into 'time-share' interest . . .
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Decent experience

Posted Dec 7, 2015
Loved the look of the hotel and didn't mind that it was a tad out of the way. The staff was nice and the property was beautiful. Wasn't too thrilled with the buffet food- same day after day, and our liquor cabinet never got refilled, despite a 'bottles will be refilled every 2 days' sign right on it.