Ratings based on 665 Verified Reviews

4.0 out of 5
80% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit, Michigan

Relaxing location.

Posted Mar 23, 2017
Been staying at the Riu resorts for 10 years and this location seems to be a little less kept up even though it was built about 7 years ago. It had decent accommodations for my mom who uses a wheelchair. The staff was great. Only the newest elevator behind the check in desk seem to have air conditioning and it leaked from the ceiling. Our room reeked of mold when we arrived. One of the bed's boxspring had excessive black mold on it and so did the grout on the bathroom walls next to the toilet and in the shower. The larger bed was a bit hard.The room didn't have a makeup mirror which all the previous Riu resorts I've been to did. I alerted the front desk of the mold on the bed but it never got addressed. We were there for only 5 days so I didn't press the issue, we just stayed out of the room until bedtime. Eventhough I know it's a tropical climate I'd never experienced anything like that at any of the other Riu resorts throughout the Caribbean. Overall my stay was good. Not all things are created equal.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from kansas

Over advertised.

Posted Mar 21, 2017
Rooms were uncomfortable. Food was not good overall. There were some good things but mostly everything seemed to have come out of a frozen box. Beach was nice except for the merchants swarming it to get you to buy anything from necklaces to marijuana.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Isolated hotel in front of the beach.

Posted Mar 20, 2017
Pros: I liked the location and the beach. The staff were nice, helpful and friendly and the hotel was kept very clean. Service was good and even better if y
Cons: The rooms towels were brown and not soft, so better towels in the room would be nice. The beach towels were nicer than the room towels. There is a lot
Location: There is a small renovated area in the Historical Center which is pleasant top walk around, There are some volunteer guides that can help you.
Had a relaxing time taking long walks on the very long beach. The hotel is isolated and a little far from the city, which I think is nice Went in the water everyday, it was not too cold. There were waves everyday, so I did not really swim, just splashed in the waves. Did not use the hotel pools, but they looked good. I went there with my parents, who are very big all inclusive fans and also like Riu Hotels. They have been to 5 Riu Hotels in Mexico and think that the one in Mazatlan was their least favorite. They liked the Riu Palace Cabo San Lucas and Riu Yucatan the best. This was my first all inclusive holiday and probably my last.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota, US

First time at a RIU, excellent

Posted Mar 16, 2017
We enjoyed our stay for a week in mid-March. Friendly staff, clean, lots of options for food and booze and a great beach. I would say it's not a spring break whoop it up place but still fun with activities and a disco. Would recommend it!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from central america

front desk does not take American money

Posted Mar 9, 2017
Pros: on the beach and the food
Cons: take American money and American express card
Location: many tours, hotel a little far from airport
staff is the best and food great. all the people had a great time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Beautiful resort on the water away from Mazatlan.

Posted Mar 9, 2017
This resort is very picturesque. All rooms have an ocean view which is awesome. Our beds were not super comfy and the tv are small but the room was clean. We did not have a problem with the elevators but some people complained they were slow. We found the food to be bland. The nightly entertainment was not great. Too many dancing shows. Luis in the Sports Bar was fantastic.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Really nice

Posted Mar 5, 2017
Great place , good food choices , nice pool bar, great staff
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice accommodations and a nice beach.

Posted Mar 2, 2017
Pros: Nice Beach, the peddlers are kept off the property, the staff work hard for you. This is a good place to bring children.
Cons: The food needs some work. It is either overcooked, lacking flavor or too salty. There needs to be options for wine.
Location: It is a nice walk up the beach to a couple of little strip malls for massages and shopping. The Looney Bean coffee shop became a daily highlight.
Room: The rooms are pretty nice, well kept. I personally prefer a softer bed and one without a plastic mattress protector. Bring your own shampoo and soaps. Food and alcohol: This is a very large place and the food is prepared as such, well before meal time and not hot and fresh. There is a lot to choose from, but finding something good is difficult. The alcohol is all rail quality, and there is NO wine list other than red or white. Servers/Bartenders: These folks work hard, and do a nice job. This place is a little ways from town, but there are some great places to go find food in town. Zeb's Thai food was a welcome treat, and Zassini Japanese for Sushi. Also a Sam's Club for wine.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from wisconsin

50th birthday

Posted Feb 3, 2017
We celebrated my husband's 50th birthday everything went well they even made a birthday cake for my husband and sing him happy birthday the pools awesome the drinks were good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from L.A, california

Very nice hotel

Posted Jan 17, 2017
The only down side was for being a 5 star hotel does not have cable for guest, WiFi sucks!, after the buffet closes they open the sport bar with very little options to eat and if you don't like your options at the sport bar you have to wait 2hrs for Italian to open and they do not offer food to your room, you have to get it yourself. Other than that for what I paid, not bad..