Ratings based on 62 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.1 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

noisy hotel, rooms needs updated

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The personel are very friendly and caring
Cons: The rooms. We paid for a Junior Suite and, it looked more like a Standard room. The design of the balcony is horrible.
Location: The location is fantastic, your have stores, restaurants, banks, pharmacies nearby.
While in Los Angeles, CA , expedia called the hotel to confirm our breakfast buffet was included. Royal Villas did not comply. I was raised in Mazatlán, a beautiful city, wonderful food and friendly people; unfortunately, some Hotels need to be more updated to compete with cities like Los Cabos or Cancun.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broomfield, Colorado

Room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Like the beach and it is near to restaurants, shopping , etc
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
The 1st room was not acceptable so they gave us an upgrade which was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

had to leave

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: it was clean
we stayed 1 night of our 5 day stay. checked out and into the El Cid. the noise at the hotel was unbeliveable. they apoligised but that doesn't help. and it was package deal so i lost my money.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 15, 2016
The resort is situated well in the Gold Zone with easy access to restaurants and activities. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have good view of the ocean. I recommend this resort highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Beds are very comfortable, which is nice as many mattresses in Mexico are very hard. Towels are nice and fluffy large. A pretty nice place to stay. Large pool with free water aerobics each day and some free crafts also.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Service slow

Posted Dec 29, 2015
Nice hotel right on beach, but Pool service was slow.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

It would of been nice if...

Posted Jun 1, 2015
Pros: The pool area. Cheap bar drinks.
Cons: Consideration for guests
Location: Lots of amazing restaurants and bars. Great cafe's and lounges.
The hotel aesthetics are overall pleasing. They have very limited dining options and they only have one bar that closes rather early. The staff are pretty pleasant and are for the most part engaging. The rooms and hallways seem that they are in need of some remodeling. Unfortunately for me they decided to begin the remodeling process at 7 am in the room right next to mine during my vacation. When I was awoken at 7 am on a Monday morning I immediately called the front desk and inquired about the loud noises. The person from the front desk stated that that they would investigate what the noise was...they already knew but played dumb. The power tools stopped for about an hour but the hammering continued. Then at around 9 am the power tools began again...for two days straight this continued. When I complained with the front desk they were unable to refund me anything, the only thing they offered was a late check out...no thanks. The hotel would of been nice if they were a bit more considerate to their hotel guest.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Port Coquitlam, BC

GREAT PLACE CENTRAL LOCATION

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: the way the staff was very encouraging when I tried to speak some Spanish.
The Royal Villa was a great place for my 1st visit to Mexico. Centrally located, helpful staff, great surroundings. Pool was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Minnesota

Nice place to stay for families

Posted Apr 8, 2015
Pros: location, big rooms with fridge and microwave, pull out bed
Cons: Fix patio door - get rid of smell in room.
Location: Location was good. Near shopping and restaurants in Golden Zone. We only stayed one night but there was a concierge who was willing to help.
This was a nice place to stay. There were several things I liked and a few I didn't. Location, pool, and mini kitchen were nice. Beds were comfortable. What I didn't like was the room had a noticeable smell to it. The pull out couch had a big wet stain, and the patio door was very difficult to open. The room had a balcony but it was shared with several other rooms. The staff around the pool was very attentive and found us chairs in the shade. They don't really have their own beach so there are no palapas or chairs to sit on while on the beach. Christian was very helpful in finding rooms for our family members (from Mexico) who came to visit us. He was willing to work with them and find 3 extra rooms next to each other.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from phoenix, az

Horrible service.

Posted Mar 27, 2015
It took 2 hours to get checked in they were trying to make me pay more than what I had to pay. Expedia said they would get me my 2 rooms together got there one room was on floor 10 and the other on 4. One night the lights went out and the generator didn't work so the hotel was out of electricity for hours.