Ratings based on 165 Verified Reviews

3.8 out of 5
78% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.7 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from California

Not as nice as the photos may lead you to believe.

Posted Mar 19, 2017
Pros: The bell boy and valet staff were very nice. The front landscaping looked great. Location was nice, but so are nicer hotels.
Cons: Staff training on customer service Electrical system in gym and cleanliness of gym equipment Have towels for pool after 7:00pm And customer service
Location: Shopping is great, Gus Gus is across the street and is a wonderful place to eat with excellent ambience.
there were some good things about this hotel such as location and proximity to beach. If you use the gym, everything was dated and rusty. The facilities definitely showed their age. My room was recently updated, but all other rooms on floor, my family had three other rooms were not renovated and dated. The staff were ok, but not interested in making you feel welcome. They would say hi but only if you said hi first. Unlike Cancun where you were treated like a king/queen and asked if there's anything else's they could do. They don't accept American Express. I paid for the breakfast to be included in the room rate for all my family members, and upon checking they said my 15 YO daughter was free so the adjustment was made, this was nice, until it came time to eat breakfast the next morning. The restaurant staff were rude and was not aware of this policy, and made us go back to registration to get them to sign or have us pay, which turned into a 20 or 30 minute explanation and waiting for approvals. The restaurant person went to the registration desk and made us feel like we were lying to them. In the end they approved my daughters breakfast. What a mess. They had no towels for pool use after 7:00pm and when you asked for an extra towel, they never brought it. The gym equipment was all rusty, fans didn't work. The good, the bell boy and valet driver were awesome and very nice. If only the rest of the staff were like them.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel with pool on beach in golden zone

Posted Mar 15, 2017
Stayed march 2017 for 10 d. Had a one bedroom suite with two queen beds and two baths with kitchenette. Clean and worked well for family of three. Beds were comfortable. Had great view. Kitchen was adequate for breakfast and lunch. Only had two burner stove top so dinner prep was limited. Saved us $ having the kitchen. Short ride to Mega (like Walmart ) for shopping. Pool needed updating but was fine for swimming. Waterslide was great. Beach was right there! Drinks were cheap at the bar. Food in restaurants Was good. Not high end but very comfortable esp for the price and would stay again
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, Beachfront, close to bars, restaurants

Posted Feb 6, 2017
Pros: Clean, good location!
Fun, great fishing with Lucky Dog Sport fishing!!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles,CA

noisy hotel, rooms needs updated

Posted Jan 12, 2017
Pros: The personel are very friendly and caring
Cons: The rooms. We paid for a Junior Suite and, it looked more like a Standard room. The design of the balcony is horrible.
Location: The location is fantastic, your have stores, restaurants, banks, pharmacies nearby.
While in Los Angeles, CA , expedia called the hotel to confirm our breakfast buffet was included. Royal Villas did not comply. I was raised in Mazatlán, a beautiful city, wonderful food and friendly people; unfortunately, some Hotels need to be more updated to compete with cities like Los Cabos or Cancun.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Dec 15, 2016 on Hotels
The staff were helpful & friendly The hotel itself was very however the room had a strong musty odor which the staff or time could diminish The views from the rooms especially the south exposure was spectacular at sunset. We'd stay again but I would inspect the room first
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Broomfield, Colorado

Room

Posted Dec 5, 2016
Pros: Like the beach and it is near to restaurants, shopping , etc
Cons: n/a
Location: n/a
The 1st room was not acceptable so they gave us an upgrade which was nice.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

had to leave

Posted Jun 30, 2016
Pros: it was clean
we stayed 1 night of our 5 day stay. checked out and into the El Cid. the noise at the hotel was unbeliveable. they apoligised but that doesn't help. and it was package deal so i lost my money.
4 out of 5
by James

Posted Mar 16, 2016 on Hotels
Great relaxing stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Canada

Great place to stay

Posted Mar 15, 2016
The resort is situated well in the Gold Zone with easy access to restaurants and activities. The staff is friendly and welcoming. The beds are comfortable and the rooms have good view of the ocean. I recommend this resort highly.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great ocean view rooms

Posted Feb 22, 2016
Beds are very comfortable, which is nice as many mattresses in Mexico are very hard. Towels are nice and fluffy large. A pretty nice place to stay. Large pool with free water aerobics each day and some free crafts also.