Ratings based on 343 Verified Reviews

4.3 out of 5
86% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The gem of McAllen

Posted Dec 24, 2016
We stayed on a weekend night, Sat to Sunday as an in town getaway. The staff was excellent, attentive and accommodating, they really made the experience. The rooms are good, a bit dated, but adequately sized and comfortable. Walls are a bit thin...had some noisy neighbirs but a call to the front desk took care of it. Highly recommended if visiting McAllen, central to everything worth doing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Antonio

Culture and history tastefully done

Posted Dec 22, 2016
Peaceful, yet in the middle of things. Has an intimate feeling, with attention to details.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from US

Posted Nov 20, 2016
Very beautiful hotel... The staff was nice and the bed was comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from New York, NY

Excellent staff.

Posted Nov 2, 2016
The hotel is in a beautiful old mission. The staff is outstanding, especially in the bar. The food is delicious in the restaurant. The interior of the hotel could use an update. The carpet, furniture, drapery, etc. are worn. The ceilings are in need of repair and the walls need to be repainted. The room had nice amenities and Aveda products.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 2, 2016 on Hotels
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2016 on Hotels
Family Reunion
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historical Favorite. Pool under construction!

Posted Oct 10, 2016 on Hotels
Wish I had known that pool area was under major renovation and pool lounging area was not accessible due to construction This property is one of my favorites. I look forward to staying again in a couple of weeks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Ok

Posted Oct 8, 2016 on Hotels
It was ok, over priced in my opinion, the pool is under long term reconstruction. Room is very small and faced garage
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 30, 2016 on Hotels
Hotel is performing major renovations. I would avoid until Feb 2017
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Texas

The stay was worth the price.

Posted Sep 7, 2016
The staff was friendly! The pool area was beautiful. The hotel was really clean and a beautiful historic hotel. The entrance court yard has this beautiful tree in front.