Ratings based on 313 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
Expedia Verified Reviews
They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Orange, TX

Selling sub-standard rooms

Posted Dec 21, 2015
Pros: Quaint
Cons: Not really - it's old and already they tried to improve it.
Location: Older part of town, run down area, have to travel over 30 miles to do anything interesting.
I had three choices of rooms when I registered - 1) Standard 2) Deluxe 3) Executive. When I got to the hotel they gave me a standard room and told me tough luck that was all I was getting. Needless to say I'm not a happy camper and would never stay there again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 28, 2015 by Mhilario, Hotel Management
Hello Dave, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review regarding your recent stay. I am sad to hear that your arrival experience did not meet your-or- our expectations. We pride ourselves on Customer Service and I am sorry that we fell short of this goal. I will share your feedback with the team in an effort to improve our service. Thank you once again for your time.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Oscar from Houston

Good hotel for business

Posted Nov 7, 2015 on Hotels
Great couple of days. Classic building but did not have the old building smell. Very nice very clean.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from San Antonio, TX

Treated like a 3rd Class Citizen

Posted Oct 22, 2015
Pros: The bed was the only decent thing about this hotel.
Cons: EVERYTHING. The entire hotel needs to be SHUT DOWN and remodeled. It is ridiculous that they don't provide a breakfast with their stay also.
Shocked about a few things. First off, at the condition of the hotel. 3rd floor has a sewage leak somewhere. Smelled wretched in both hallway, in the room, and on the 3rd floor of the parking garage( which ceilings were insanely low, like 6'8 clearance). As we bring our 1 year old with us, we assumed that we would be able to utilize the INPUT function on the TV. The hotel had disabled this feature, presumably to be able to get you to rent their insanely overpriced movies. The bathroom wasn't built large enough to accommodate the door, as it caught on the edge of the toilet seat. I was told at the front desk that they weren't sure if we "qualified" for the breakfast buffet- even though we paid for a Executive Suite, which is the same size as most standard hotel rooms. Both Expedia and Marriott hotel websites state that complimentary breakfast comes with the Executive Suite stay. The hotel refused to comply with that. We only could get one buffet on Sunday am, as apparently the room only got 1 complimentary buffet per day- even if there are 2 guests in the room. I didn't receive any points with Marriott for my stay because again, "my stay didn't qualify", even though I paid AT THE HOTEL, not on Expedia.com for the stay. I find this beyond ridiculous, as I stay in hotels 80 nights a year, and have never been treated like this. I have cancelled all 11 of my stays from 2015 and 2016 w/ Marriott in Texas, and will NEVER AGAIN give my personal OR MY company's money to Marriott.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 29, 2015 by Mhilario, Hotel Management
Dear R, Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review of your recent stay with us. Please accept our sincere apologies for your stay being anything less than great. We do strive to provide a service that is of the highest quality and I'm sad to hear we fell short of yours and our expectations. I will share your feedback with the team to better improve our service. Thank you once again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tony

Awesome vacation!

Posted Oct 14, 2015 on CheapTickets
We will be back awesome stay! Loved the room and hotel the staff was friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Roslyn from Bayview

Tranquil getaway!

Posted Oct 4, 2015 on Hotels
This is a wonderful getaway! Doesn't feel like you are in the middle of town! I will be back!
Comment from Hotel Management
Dec 12, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your delightful review. We love it when our guest feel like that are on vacation or even a staycation for that matter! Glad to know your enjoyed your stay. We look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from dallas tx

It was an older building smelled musty

Posted Sep 28, 2015
Probably will not revisit , great continental breakfast was👍great good coffee , lobby bathroom floor not level near drain and had a lot of black build up around it could use a good scrub. Thank you
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2015 by mhilario, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay. I will be sharing your feedback with our housekeeping department so that we can get it taken care of. We do hope that you allow us another opportunity to have you stay with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from TORREON, COAHUILA MEXICO

HOTEL BIEN UBICADO EN MCALLEN PARA COMPRAS

Posted Sep 14, 2015
Pros: TODAS LAS INSTALACIONES EL ESTADO DE CONSERVACIÓN A PESAR DE LOS AÑOS DEL HOTEL
Cons: COMENTARIO EN ESTANCIA DEL HOTEL
Location: COMO EL VIAJE FUE DE COMPRAS PRACTICO PARA SALIR A LOS DIFERENTES PUNTOS DE COMPRAS DE MCALLEN
EL HOTEL LO CONSERVAN EN MAGNIFICAS CONDICIONES MUY COMODO SUS HABITACIONES COMODAS PERO REDUCIDAS DE ESPACIO SORE TODO EN LAS DE CAMA KING LA PERSONA DONDE NO SE TIENE BURO ESTA MUY CHICO EL ESPACIO PARA ENTRAR Y SALIR, SE PODRIA SEPAR MAS LA CAMA HACIA EL LADO DEL BURO. EN TODO LO DEMAS DE GUSTO.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 4, 2015 by mhilario, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review of your recent stay with us. We appreciate your feedback and will be sharing it with the rest of the team. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Cindy from Harlingen

Posted Sep 10, 2015 on Hotels
Great stay at a great price. Room was clean and bed was super comfy. Plenty of covered paring. We would definitely stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Hi! We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review. We have several guest who stay with us who are also from the surrounding areas, because our property is like a mini vacation spot. Great people, great atmosphere and as you experienced the great and comfortable rooms. Thank you again and we look forward to your next visit with us!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Tomas

Posted Sep 8, 2015 on Hotels
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 14, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Hello! Thank you for leaving a wonderful review about our property. We value and appreciate the feedback that we receive from our guest. It was great having you stay with us and look forward to seeing you again!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

McAllen historic hotel

Posted Aug 27, 2015 on Hotels
Good place to stay in McAllen
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to leave a review! Our hotel is a wonderful place to stay, we are centrally located near shopping, and great dinning. We hope that on your return trip back to McAllen you choose to stay with us again!
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2015 by Michelle, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We were happy to know you had a great stay! We look forward to seeing you again!